We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pushy Managers”
Review of Piney River Ranch

Piney River Ranch
Ranked #14 of 74 things to do in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mountain ranch offering summer activities - hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, restaurant, lodging. Opened June 21st through September annually.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pushy Managers”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Charging $20 per rod to fish an alpine lake is a rip especially when alpine lakes are a dime a dozen in the mountains! Also, we were only allowed to park close in (despite having a handicap person with us) if we promised to buy food, drink, or apparel from their shop. It's a beautiful area, but would only go there to hike. The Aussie lady was rude and very pushy about how she was there to make money. It wasn't that way in the summer of 2012!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    34
    9
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning, perfect wedding venue!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had my wedding here and cannot reccomend it enough! The manager Monique is the consummate professional. Everything was easy and gorgeous. THe food was phenomenal, the staff was lovely, and the venue is the most gorgeous place in Colorado. Worth evewry last penny. I highly highly reccomend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Best Wedding Venue”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just had our wedding there and flew in family from Eat and West coast! What an amazing place to show people the mountains. Peaceful, beautiful, a real gem in Vail.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
“Unsurpassed Beauty and Privacy”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family enjoyed an amazing stay at Piney River Ranch. The rustic and primitive, yet well appointed yurt was our accommodation of choice. We'd love to come every year. The view is beyond words, the fishing is very fun, the quiet is priceless. Thank you for making our 24th anniversary very special.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Piney River Ranch is simply amazing. We recently had our wedding there, and the new GM, Monique Busold, is amazing! Extremely professional, helpful, and there to answer any questions we had - even though there is very limited service and reception. The day of couldn't have gone any better. We decided on a S'more pit, (highly recommend!) and the ranch hands were a huge help with that and all the heavy lifting and set up. (The little kids all left wanting to be cowboys when they grow up!) Monique gave us the perfect mountain wedding experience we wanted, and we are go grateful that she is now the GM of Piney River Ranch. If planning a wedding in the Vail Valley, Piney River Ranch is definitely a MUST! All of your guests will be in awe upon arrival, and the magic of the place will leave you feeling overjoyed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chardy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piney River Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Piney River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing