We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what people think of when they imagine life in the montains”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Piney River Ranch

Piney River Ranch
Ranked #15 of 74 things to do in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: CLOSED FOR THE SEASON. REOPENING JUNE 21ST 2017. Mountain ranch offering summer activities - hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, restaurant, lodging. Opened June 21st through September annually.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“what people think of when they imagine life in the montains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Not easy to get to, but worth the trip. A nice place to hang or do a number of activities. Nice that you can drive right up to where you want to be and be in wilderness for the most part

Helpful?
Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    34
    9
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The customer is never right here...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The scenery and setting is beautiful. The facilities and restaurant are adequate but nothing special. The service from the staff was great with the exception of the manager Andy Berst who should get out of a service-related business immediately. It is easy to have a great experience in a beautiful setting but the measure of a business isn't when things go right, it is how they are handled when things go wrong. Mr. Berst is smug, rude, arrogant, condescending, lacks empathy and common decency.

Three in our party went on a horseback ride which was supposed to be an hour but it was cut a half-hour short due to an afternoon storm. We asked if any refund, rain check or discount was available and Andy Berst rudely and aggressively stated that, "they don't have to give refunds and that it was the risk was on us because we came in the afternoon when storms happen more often." He reluctantly gave us $20 back but because of his negative, smug, and arrogant attitude he left us never wanting to return.

If you go to Piney River Ranch take some pictures and enjoy a hike but pack a lunch as I would not recommend supporting the businesses. I would never book an event (especially a wedding) or conference or stay in their cabins because, if you have a problem, Mr. Berst will most certainly make it worse. I personally do not recommend going there until they get a new manager

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Trail - not the ranch itself”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

down a dirt road for 10 miles - normal car can make this in @ 45 mins off I70.

bring lots of bug spray - mosquitos are bad.
trail intersects with an older trail in @ 5 places and you can easily get off course.

trail leads to the Piney river falls - little view and payoff.

skip this and go to BOOTH FALLS instead - easier drive and trail with much better payoff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pauleskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In need of a serious overhaul.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Piney has always been one of my favorite places to go until today. With family in town we decided we would go to piney to hike, canoe and stay over night in one of their teepees. The hike was great as always, the dock was closed so no canoe rental and the teepees were a complete joke. Broken cots in each teepee, two of the teepees might as well have been on the sewer plant as they were right next to the horse stables and the last teepee was 20 feet from the dust bowl parking lot. This is 4th of July week and the place looked like it was just opened after a long hard winter without any maintenance whatsoever. The staff was nice and helpful once you were able to find anyone but you really had to search to find anyone. Not sure what the story is but needless to say we left without staying the night and will not recommend to anyone for more than a day trip. Very disappointing!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ericjross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

really great hike up the mountain from Piney Lake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cratto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piney River Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Piney River Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing