We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was our 2nd stay at Mt. Elbert Lodge and we had a wonderful time. We highly recommend staying here. You're close to so many activities, whether in Leadville or Buena Vista, and Scott and Laura have made this destination one of a kind.
I knew from experience that we would be tired when we arrived, so I prepared spaghetti sauce in advance and had frozen it. Rather than drive back into town, all I had to do was warm it up, cook the pasta and warm up the garlic bread.
My daughter and a friend of hers came with us for a few days and now they are already talking about getting more people to come with us and renting The Barn next summer.
Who needs a fitness center when you have the Rockies at your door step?
Tony & Sally Hall

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafter8037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watkins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I have been staying at Mt. Elbert lodge every summer going on 41 years now. I am never disappointed. The accomodations are comfortable and attractive and it is in such a beautiful spot, nestled at the base of breathtaking mountains. Also so conveniently located in the heart of hiking and fishing country yet close enough to Leadville and Buena Vista. Scott and Laura are always helpful and pleasant and will go out of their way to help in any way. I hope to keep coming back for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TenordrummerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple City, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

If you are looking for a mountain get away that would service as a base for packpacking or fishing the cabins at Mt. Elbert Lodge will serve you well and at the end of the day it is very relaxing to sit on the porch and watch the wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chelly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed in the Elk cabin for a week. The cabin had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. We hiked during the day, or walked down to nearby Lake Creek, or just sat and watched the hummingbirds. There is no nearby nightlife, which suited us just fine. Although our "cabin" (really the former residence of the owners) was close to the main road, but there was not much traffic, especially at night, and so the proximity to the highway was not a problem. The owners were very helpful with information about the area, and Scott even put up a curtain rod and curtain in my sister's room when the sun was too bright in the morning. The closest decent grocery store is ~ 30 minutes drive to Leadville, but there are museums and historical houses to tour, and so we combined grocery shopping with sightseeing.

This is not a place for people who would like to have lots of available commercial entertainment, but for hikers, photographers, fishermen, kayakers, cyclists, birders, outdoorsmen of all types, it is great.

We hope to return next year (maybe even later this year) with more family (our grown children and grandchildren).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkbagby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2009

While our last stay WAS last August, we have stayed here every year for the past 10 years -- it's that good! Fancy? No. Luxurious? No. But it's clean and quiet; it has gorgeous surroundings, it has what you need in the cabins to be sufficient, and it's the best value on the market! You won't find a better value. Our boys, now 10 and 11, love
the genuine log cabins and so do we.
It fulfills everything on our wish list except for the location. But you can't have it both ways.
It is a piece of heaven in the woods, with beautiful nature all around. That means that when you need to shop, ride horses, or do other attractions of the area, you will be making, most likely, a 30-40 minute trip there. The towns of Buena Vista, Leadville, and Aspen are near.

You can't go wrong unless what you really want is a hotel in a town.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoGal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed at this beautiful bed & breakfast for one evening while traveling through the Colorado rockies. My only regret is that I didn't have more time to spend here. The lodge was at one time a stagecoach stopover, so it is quite old with a lot of history.

The setting is absolutely gorgeous! It sits along route 85 which takes you over Independence Pass and eventually into Aspen. This scenic route has to be my absolute favorite in all of Colorado!

My bedroom had a balcony facing the creek and the mountain ridge, I could hear the babbling creek all night long. I took a stroll along the creek bed and was amazed at the spectacular mountains which surround this place!

You can choose to stay in the main house (which includes breakfast) or rent a cottage (no breakfast) or rent a camping space (no breakfast). I opted for the bed & breakfast.

Breakfast was excellent and quite filling! You are given two options when you sign in. You can pick the "hiker's breakfast" where you get up as early as you like and help yourself to coffee, tea, oatmeal & fruit, or wait till 8 AM for a full served breakfast.

You are deep in the Rockies here and it is very secluded! A true Rocky Mountain paradise!

  • Liked — the location!!
  • Disliked — not enough time to spend here!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at the Tall Pine cabin for 6 nights in July. The cabin was rustic and a little run down but quite confortable. Staff were very friendly and provided lots of information for trips and hikes in the area. We were a little disappointed that the cabin was very close to the main road. The road is not very busy but we were expecting to be a little bit more remote.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nette76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
21.8 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
14.7 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 9 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
23.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
13.7 mi away
Super 8 Leadville CO
Super 8 Leadville CO
#5 of 9 in Leadville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Property: Mount Elbert Lodge
Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251
Location: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes
Mount Elbert Lodge Twin Lakes, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing