We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Mt. Elbert Lodge many times over the last 15 years. It is truly a special place to unwind and unplug (literally...no cell, wireless or TV). We always stay at the Beaver Lodge cabin which is closest to the river. Scott and Laura are wonderful hosts. Note that this isn't luxury lodging. Our cabin shows a little wear and tear, but that's part of the charm. It's great any time of year, but especially when Independence Pass is closed and there's hardly any traffic. (You can hardly hear the traffic anytime). There's great hiking nearby. This visit we started up the La Plata trail which is just 5 miles up the highway. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Beaver Lodge cabin has the best location, in my opinion. Or "The Barn" if you have a big g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcalderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    24
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
60
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Mount Elbert Lodge the night before our climb of Mount Elbert. I had selected the Lodge after a Google search for reasonably priced locations in the area. We stayed in the B&B portion since we were staying for just one night. We selected a room with it's own bath. I was pleased with the bed and pillows (always a challenge when traveling!) and the room was very clean. Fortunately for us, we were the only guest in the B&B that night (the cabins appeared to be full however), so we had the whole "house" to ourselves. It was so nice to be in a "home" after traveling and backpacking for a week. We missed out on the famous scones since we left at the crack of dawn to hike Elbert, but there was plenty of food left for us for a "hiker's breakfast" (cereal, bagels, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice). There was even microwave pop-corn available! The view from the Lodge was excellent and we were able to take a quick training hike using the trail directly across the road. Reading through the journal left for guests, it was clear that many families rented out the whole Lodge year after year and that there have been many happy memories made at the location. I would certainly recommend staying here for any hikers looking to tackle Elbert having experienced a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cipsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I loved our stay at this lodge! Our group of four had a full day of hiking Mount Elbert and had a great time. We got a lot of fun photos. Weren't used to the elevation so we didn't make it all the way up but still had fun trying!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICKASHA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the Waterwheel cabin. We loved the sound of the creek behind the cabin, and enjoyed morning coffee there, and we also enjoyed the fire pit one evening making smores.

This cabin does not have TV, but we were there for a get away and it very peaceful and a very beautiful area.

We will go back.

Room Tip: The waterwheel is a smaller cabin, wooden floors. You are surrounded by aspens and wildflowers. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandtrap41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Loved staying in Cinnamon Bear Cabin, which is located across the street from the main lodge area. There was nobody in the attached cabin, so we had a lot of privacy. The view from the cabin windows is fantastic! We made use of the fire pit and the charcoal grill (bring your own charcoal/lighter fluid) The only improvement I would make to the cabin would be a loveseat or small couch...I missed being able to snuggle! We felt the hot tub was too out-in-the-open and situated too far from our cabin. The lodge itself is in a great location, halfway between Leadville & Buena Vista. I recommend this lodge and would consider going back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My girlfriend from Australia and I just wanted to get away for the weekend while she was in Colorado visiting. We rented the Cinnamon Bear cabin and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is a very cozy space with two bedrooms. The location of Mount Elbert Lodge is just incredible as it is along the Collegiate Peaks between Leadville and Buena Vista, CO. I have also personally stayed in the 1 bedroom Prospector Cabin when I needed some solitude. You just can't beat the scenery and the quiet and the accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Perfect during late September when the Aspens are shimmering gold and early snow changes the scenery and melts away within the same afternoon. This lodge is in a beautiful neck of the woods, easy to find, yet also remote. Book it if you like creekside acces, valley sunrises, nearby (across the road) hiking trails, sitting by the woodstove, cooking in your grandma's kitchen (OK, maybe not yours, but it sure looks like a granny's kitchen) or hottubbing under the stars. Do not book if you don't like creaky old houses, building your own fire in the stove or well-loved but mis-matched furniture. We enjoyed the lodge with eight family members and it was quite comfortable. An impressive embroidery collection upstairs, and downstairs has the cutest corner-window breakfast nook I've ever enjoyed my coffee in. (Bring your own coffee.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySWMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
22.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
424 reviews
14.7 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
267 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
The Gant
The Gant
#3 of 34 in Aspen
896 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
146 reviews
13.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Property: Mount Elbert Lodge
Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251
Location: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes
Mount Elbert Lodge Twin Lakes, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing