We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mount elbert lodge”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
CHICKASHA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“mount elbert lodge”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in the Waterwheel cabin. We loved the sound of the creek behind the cabin, and enjoyed morning coffee there, and we also enjoyed the fire pit one evening making smores.

This cabin does not have TV, but we were there for a get away and it very peaceful and a very beautiful area.

We will go back.

Room Tip: The waterwheel is a smaller cabin, wooden floors. You are surrounded by aspens and wildflowers. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandtrap41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
62
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Loved staying in Cinnamon Bear Cabin, which is located across the street from the main lodge area. There was nobody in the attached cabin, so we had a lot of privacy. The view from the cabin windows is fantastic! We made use of the fire pit and the charcoal grill (bring your own charcoal/lighter fluid) The only improvement I would make to the cabin would be a loveseat or small couch...I missed being able to snuggle! We felt the hot tub was too out-in-the-open and situated too far from our cabin. The lodge itself is in a great location, halfway between Leadville & Buena Vista. I recommend this lodge and would consider going back again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My girlfriend from Australia and I just wanted to get away for the weekend while she was in Colorado visiting. We rented the Cinnamon Bear cabin and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It is a very cozy space with two bedrooms. The location of Mount Elbert Lodge is just incredible as it is along the Collegiate Peaks between Leadville and Buena Vista, CO. I have also personally stayed in the 1 bedroom Prospector Cabin when I needed some solitude. You just can't beat the scenery and the quiet and the accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Perfect during late September when the Aspens are shimmering gold and early snow changes the scenery and melts away within the same afternoon. This lodge is in a beautiful neck of the woods, easy to find, yet also remote. Book it if you like creekside acces, valley sunrises, nearby (across the road) hiking trails, sitting by the woodstove, cooking in your grandma's kitchen (OK, maybe not yours, but it sure looks like a granny's kitchen) or hottubbing under the stars. Do not book if you don't like creaky old houses, building your own fire in the stove or well-loved but mis-matched furniture. We enjoyed the lodge with eight family members and it was quite comfortable. An impressive embroidery collection upstairs, and downstairs has the cutest corner-window breakfast nook I've ever enjoyed my coffee in. (Bring your own coffee.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennySWMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just enjoyed a second stay at Mount Elbert Lodge, this time in the quiet solitude of winter. If you're looking for a simple, peaceful Rocky Mountain retreat that's well away from ski crowds, traffic and noise of any kind, this is your place. Accommodations range from classic log cabins to newer ones, plus the main lodge, which rents either on a per-room B&B basis, or as an entire lodge for a small group, which is what my four friends and I enjoyed this past weekend. The 19th-century log lodge building is a relaxed, eclectic mix of old-school furnishings that evoke its historic roots, including iron and wicker beds with patchwork quilts, a charming collection of vintage cross-stitch samplers, a big oval-shaped wooden dining table and a wood stove in the living room. Nothing is too cute or sentimental, though, and it's plenty casual and comfortable for families with kids. Three of the five B&B rooms have en-suite bathrooms, while the other two share a bath down the hall.

The best thing about Mount Elbert Lodge, however, is its setting. Bordering Lake Creek within an aspen forest, the property enjoys views of soaring peaks on either side of the valley and a big, starry night sky overhead. The hot tub was a most inviting spot to watch the pink sunset. In winter, Hwy. 82, the short-cut route over Independence Pass to Aspen, is closed about six miles up the road from the lodge. This means a dead-end location with virtually no traffic. We drove up to the closure gate and snowshoed through fresh powder several miles farther up the road to where it begins to switchback up the steep side of a mountain. For hardy snowshoers or skiers with enough time, you can make it all the way to the summit of the pass for extraordinary views.

A final plus is the lodge's friendly owners who have called this place home for 18 years. Scott was a very helpful resource for planning outdoor activities during our stay.

Room Tip: The Mount Massive room in the main B&B lodge enjoys a corner location with views out the east- a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Beatiful 5 bedroom house!! Each room was had awesome beds, everyone slept great. Roomy with 2 jet bathtubs and 1 deep large tub in addition to a shower. SWEET

Room Tip: The Massive Mountain room, excellent for a dreamy couple bed & breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Great hospitality, very inviting if you are looking for a cabin in the woods. Scott was very nice, and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
14.7 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
272 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
445 reviews
22.2 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
152 reviews
13.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
301 reviews
23.2 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Property: Mount Elbert Lodge
Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251
Location: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes
Mount Elbert Lodge Twin Lakes, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing