We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just where we wanted to be!”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

As things had quickly cooled down in Colorado after weeks in the 90s, we decided that camping near Leadville after Labor Day might not be such a good idea. So we checked availability and found that our favorite cabin for this time of year was open for just two nights during the next several weeks and we decided to take advantage of their "book today, stay tonight" special which gave us 20% of the regular rate. We enjoyed our morning coffee and evening wine next to a campfire along the creek for two days--kind of like a camping trip with a bed and a roof to keep us dry during rain storms. It really couldn't have been more perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnbeth42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

As usual the accomodations were wonderfully clean and equipped. The staff was more than friendly and the setting at the base of Mount Elbert is truly "heaven in the backcountry."

Room Tip: Reserve early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMindala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Nestled at the base of several mountains, the Barn and Beaver Lodge sit right on a gravel bar beside the creek. We love to relax and take in the breath-taking scenery. It is our favorite vacation destination. We actually spend time reconnecting with each other as there are no phones or televisions. Nothing fancy here, just comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: We love the cabins for solitude and privacy. Haven't stayed at the B&B yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dohanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Wonderful little place...very cozy and very friendly couple that runs the place. We were served a delicious breakfast and had a wonderful, quiet room. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easthj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We came up to watch the USA Pro Cycling event and since we ride this valley and Independance Pass once a year we knew this would be a great location. We were very satisfied with the comfortable room. The amenities included a very nice hot tub under the stars and plenty of good food for breakfast - (we stayed in the main house B&B). We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our family spent 3 nights at Mt. Elbert lodge in August 2011. The cabins are clean and nice, with fully equipped kitchinettes (appliances, cooking and serving dishes). The owners, Lauren and Scott, were very friendly and knowledgeable of hiking trails and points of attraction in the area. Our only regret was that we were not able to extend our stay beyond our original reservation: they seem to be always fully booked, often many weeks in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likesT0Travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Mt. Elbert Lodge has drawn us back for the last 17 years. The Beaver Lodge Cabin has come to be our summer getaway. Love the views, sitting by the steam and star watching at night by a campfire. Our children have grown up with Scott & Laura's and they always provide the best setting for a wonderful get away to enjoy the best scenic views of anywhere we've been in Colorado. Thanks Scott & Laura for all you do to keep Mt. Elbert the place we always want to come back to! Can't wait for next years visit!

Room Tip: Book early for Summer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJantsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9766
Location: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range: $55 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes
Mount Elbert Lodge Twin Lakes, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing