We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape from the Ordinary...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Twin Lakes B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Escape from the Ordinary...”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Ores and Mine is uniquely wonderful place, situated in the shadows of the nations highest peaks and overlooking Colorado's largest glacial lakes -- truly God's country. The rooms are cozy, rustic, and very well appointed with high quality bed linens and towels. You feel as comfortable as you are in your are in your own mountain home. Donna's breakfasts are delicious, the table is pleasantly set and the service and conversation very special. The common areas are equally impressive and the property is very nice. Filled with wonderful details tidbits of high country history and niblets of Baby Doe Taylor and the history of early americana. I was able to go out and day hike and explore the area. I will definitely be staying here during my return visits to Leadville. Ore's and Mine is welcomed relief from all things urban and hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monee, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I will be coming to Colorado again this year since my son lives in the Denver area and a must on our list is staying at Ores and Mine Bed and Breakfast.. This will be our third year and we have not been disappointed. John and Donna make you feel like family from the time they open the door to greet you.

Each room at the inn is unique and each has its own story. The beds are comfortable and nothing beats getting a good night’s rest in the mountains. And then you get to wake up and have a fantastic breakfast.

A fun thing to do is to read some of the pamphlets and magazines scattered throughout the inn that will give you are good insight as to the history and happenings in the area. And if you want more local info and good stories just ask John and Donna.

The gathering area is huge with a bar, pool table, and juke box. But why would you want to stay inside when you can sit on the deck and enjoy a view of the lake and the mountains. If climbing is your thing Mt. Elbert is close by as are many other 14ers. Just ask John and Donna for some tips if you are not sure of what to do. This is a perfect location for all outdoor activities be it hiking, biking, rafting, or climbing. Or if you want to just sight see take a drive in the mountains or visit Aspen, Leadville, or Buena Vista.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. John and Donna will help you pick one if you are not sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina N.M.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We got Married atTwin Lakes In 2011 and stayed there. We just returned a 2nd time for my sister and her husbands' ann. in 2013 and will return as often as possible !
John and Donna treated and called us family . And we truly fealt at home in their cozy and rustic B&B . The rms. are all very comfortable . All around the inside and outside have stories to tell , and John and Donna can tell many fasinating stories about the building and Leadville .
And What A View !!!!!! We will return as often as we can ......
Troy and Denise Green

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tndgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I usually go to the Caribbean for our anniversaries, (we got married on St. Lucia in 2007). Sunny, beautiful beaches, 80-85 degrees. Wonderful place to be this time of year. We found out my husband has a heart problem. So due to medical and financial reasons, we chose to go some where else. The place we picked was Ores and Mine B&B in Twin Lakes, Co. We had a very relaxing and wonderful time there. Donna & John are the best. They make everyone feel like family. My sister & brother-in-law got married there in June of 2011. So they came & spent a couple of days there with us. We stayed 5-2-13 thru 5-4-13. Highly recommend ORES & MINE B&B.

Room Tip: upstairs looking out at the lake. has windows that you can look out and see the stars in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishes3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April 2013. It was without a doubt the best B&B we have ever been to. Donna and John (owners) and their very well behaved dog welcomed us into their family from the minute we walked in. The next surprise was how huge the inn is on the inside! And then we learned most of it was bult by John himself! Not only is the inn itself beautiful but waking up to the panoramic mountain and lake view was both breathtaking and relaxing. Our room was incredibly comfortable and our breakfast every morning was HUGE...no small continental here. Donna and John are also incredibly knowledgable about the area towns. They are also very warm people and unpretentious. The history is fascinating. This was without a doubt one of our best vacations. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: The Matchless is wonderful for both views and convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this place, nestled in a very quiet and beautiful area of Colorado.
Donna, the keeper called us "family" and we did feel that we were. John, her husband was very nice and we had some interesting conversations. Their beautifully rustic place is filled with wonderful antiques and collectibles and there is a story behind each item! The best part to my wife and I was the nearby, crystal clear, still water lake... we renewed our vows to each other there and just sat and soaked in the beauty of the sunset.
I would love to return there someday!
Jerry and Kristy Wilson

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellomrwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a phenomenal experience. There is a sign outside John and Donna's door that says "come as strangers, leave as family" and this sums up the stay in a nutshell. John and Donna are sincerely some of the friendliest and most inviting people you will meet. We stayed in the Doris and the room had its own fireplace that controlled the temperature of the room so it was nice and toasty in the cold of the winter. The whole place is packed full of history and unique artifacts and such. We hiked up Mount Elbert and they were very helpful with giving up pointers and advice for the climb. We plan to go back in the summer or fall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
11.2 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
266 reviews
19.1 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
422 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
296 reviews
19.9 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
177 reviews
19.2 mi away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6285 County Road 10, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Lakes
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ores And Mine Bed & Breakfast Twin Lakes, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing