We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wholesome Mom and Pop Motel - excellent downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trail's End Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Motel
Save
You added Trail's End Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wholesome Mom and Pop Motel - excellent downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had had this motel recommended to us based on location
The Motel is rustic, - sort of log cabin like, with seats outside each unit.
There's also a deck with Picnic table seating and we were offered use of their grill

The Motel Minders were excellent Hosts, nothing was too much trouble

A Shell Station across the road for snacks, an excellent Liquor store 100 yards away and the Trinidad Diner, also 100 yards away for brekkie (yum and cheap)

Easy stroll to restaurants and bars

Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Ringo Restaurant was tops, very close
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
12
20
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The whole town is amazing. We stopped for lunch on our way to NM and decided to change our plans so we could stay here on our way back north. We stayed at Trail's End. It's a great value in walking distance of town - which you should do. This website: http://www.folsomvillage.com/ResourceMaterial/TheHistoricBuildingsOfCentralTrinidad/index.html offers history of the town's buildings and photos of buildings from early 1900 and update from 1970s. Back to the motel - it's value prices and relatively clean. Very comfortable. Nice deck to sit on in better weather. Grills available. It would be good for families.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MN262Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
210 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Particularly since I was traveling solo, the room was fine size, but I could see for more then that, pretty tight. If you want basic and reasonable, it's fine and I'd still prefer this over chains that offer "amenities" and charge it too. Host did have to come and plug in the fridge. To me, those things should be set up and ready to roll. It was clean. I liked all the wood in their lobby. I was a bit cautious traveling here alone. A great thrift store across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were driving from Durango to Dodge City and went via Trinidad. What an interesting town. We wished we could have spent more time there. Trails End Motel was cheap, the room was clean as was the bathroom but the room was quite small and there were no coffee making facilities which we have had in most other motels we have stayed in. For one night it is a good option. There is a great diner about 50 yards from the motel which served great cheap food. It is a nice walk from the motel into the main part of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MST52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The owners Jim and Renee were excellent to work with. I housed my crew for some fieldwork and this place was perfect. The rooms are updated, contain fridges, and we each had a queen sized bed to sleep in. They also have a grill, so we were able to save a lot of money by cooking our own dinner instead of going out every night. They were very accommodating and are just good people. The location was perfect, because it is within walking distance to the downtown restaurants, shops, and museums. The rooms were clean and perfect for what we needed. Anytime I need to do work in Trinidad, I'll stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArchaeologistChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this family-owned and reasonably priced hotel over somewhere like the Holiday Inn, where they charge more but offer little more than name recognition. Okay, and the rooms are nicer and bigger at a chain hotel, but if you're staying for just a night, this place is fine. It's right down the street from Rino's Italian restaurant, another decent place to visit in Trinidad. I would certainly not stay at the Trails End if you're traveling alone; the area is pretty sketchy and I'm not sure what kind of security there is. For an inexpensive, clean, and very comfortable night's sleep, though, this place fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvctulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way north and found the price very affordable. The room was small, but clean, and looks as though it's been recently renovated. There were several drawbacks, however. The gal working the ofc didn't know the wifi key and it took about 20 min. for her to figure it out. There are lots of electrical cords plugged into just a few outlets and I'm glad we didn't have small children with us because it would have been easy to trip over them. Also, the motel ofc doesn't open until 10am and that's where the ice machine is located. It is conveniently located to Main St.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nettielou04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
2.5 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#3 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
2.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 10 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
20.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Motel

Property: Trail's End Motel
Address: 616 East Main Street, Trinidad, CO 81082
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Trail`s End Hotel Trinidad
Trails End Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing