We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BED BUGS, Filthy Place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Lakewood, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BED BUGS, Filthy Place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We booked 6 rooms for a family event. Several of us arived a day earlier than others checking into 3 rooms. All 3 rooms had BED BUGS. The manager refused to aknowledge the bed bugs. My cousin took pictures of the bed bugs on the bed. All of the rooms were cancelled. The following day, My aunt and uncle tried to check in and were told all rooms were cancelled because the some people complained about bugs. He told them, "We don't have bugs", just as my cousins were walking in the lobby door to show them were we got other rooms. My cousin showed my aunt and uncle the pictures he took of the bed bugs. We couldn't get out of there quick enough.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandals68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Travel 17 miles south to Raton and stay in a Motel 6 for 10 bucks less a night. Much nicer, all the moulding is installed, the hot and cold is not reversed in the shower, and the light switches work. Don't let them give you room #156, nasty. I'll never stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

Austin, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

I stayed here in summer of '08 after making reservations prior to my trip. I wish I would have waited to see what else was in the area. The motel was fairly cheap, but pretty run down. The window wouldn't latch shut so I had to place a folding chair in the window frame for security. Given that there are a couple brand new hotels at the same exit, I suspect they are going to have to remodel or drop their rates to survive for the long haul. There were only seemed to be a couple other guest that night.

Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank egkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El-Moro
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Spend the two night due to snow and enjoyed the stay.
Friendly staff and Clean rooms. Rate was good for the area, all others seem higher priced.
Breakfast bar, Coffee, Toast, Oatmeal, Orange Juice butter, jelly, and cinnamon sugar for toast and oatmeal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El-MoroBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

We needed a motel in Trinidad at the last minute and every place else was booked up. We weren't expecting too much as long as it was clean and quiet. And that's what it was, quiet and fairly clean. The towels are small, the shower controls needed adjustment every time we used it. They do not supply shampoo, it's for sale in the front office. The continental breakfast was bread and jelly, coffee (no cream). The cost seemed a bit much for what we got, but I think we would stay there again in a pinch.

  • Liked — Fairly quiet
  • Disliked — Price and lack of amenities
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2006

We needed a clean place to stay fairly late at night and this got the job done. Town was crowded and we'd already tried another place with a locked front door. This hotel was quiet and clean. I think it was a bit pricey for what we got--$68 for truly bare bones (though clean). The shower stall was a funky shape which required thoughtful body placement. I don't think I've ever been given smaller towels. Our room had 2 double beds and they were a bit soft for our tastes, but so what? My own bed is the only one I really love. The hotel room was in an interior corridor in an odd location, but it made it really quiet, which was a plus. They offered a very Continental breakfast (toast, juice, coffee) but we went to the local McDonald's instead because certain people can't face the day without a toy.

  • Liked — quiet
  • Disliked — Shower configuration and dinky towels
  • Tips/Secrets — If you just need a clean place to sleep while passing through, it's okay.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Incredible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

When we arrived the evening of July 3, 2006 the electricity had been off for about an hour.
The lady at the desk told us that it was possible it would come back on in an hour since it had been off, come back on, and gone off again.

The town was full of tourists and we didn't think that we could get a room for the night that we could afford if we didn't take this one. Also, we had stayed here several times before and been satisfied. Not to mention the fact that we had driven all day just to get to this motel and were tired and hungry.

We showered in the dark and woke up in the morning still without electricity. We went to the desk to ask for, at least, a partial refund. But were turned down. I, Mr. Presswood, will be back in the fall and would like very much to have a discount on my room.

We were unable to use many of your amenities, including the continental breakfast that was offered with the room, and feel that a refund is called for, either for the room on July 3, or for the room that will be used in the fall.

Thanks you,


____________________
James Presswood

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.5 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#5 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
17.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
2.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 9800 Santa Fe Trail Drive, Trinidad, CO 81082 (Formerly Budget Summit Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn in Trinidad, Colorado is an economy motel with a great view of the Spanish Peaks and Sangre de Cristo mountain range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Summit Hotel
Summit Trinidad
Trinidad Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing