We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarabino Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tarabino Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had never been to Trinidad, CO before and didn't know what to expect. What we found was a wonderful well preserved mining town at 6,000 ft. elevation. But the most special part of our stay was finding the Tarabino Inn. Kevin and Theresa were wonderful hosts and from the minute we minute we arrived we felt like we were home. We had the Walnut Suite. Big rooms, huge bathroom, great bed and wonderful views from the upstairs windows. For those looking for a tranquil and interesting time away in a historic town and a Victorian B&B, this is it. We'll stay there anytime we are in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the Walnut Suite. Large rooms, good view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igo4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Our family loved this B & B. The Victorian house is gorgeous inside and out. If you want to feel like "you're away from it all," this is the place to visit. The house makes you feel as though you take a step back in time.

We stayed in the Walnut Suite, which was way more than we expected. The house and room was very clean. Our host, Kevin, was wonderful. He made us feel right at home. Our son loved that he played guitar and he (our 4-yr-old son) told us that we have to come back just to hear him play guitar.

The breakfast was delicious. First morning was an egg fritatta (I think), regardless of the technical name--it was amazing!!! The second morning was blueberry pancakes. Later in the evening, we were treated to these amazing chocolate treats and refreshing iced tea.

We really enjoyed our time at the Tarabino Inn and we will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisin_Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the Tarabino Inn during a passing through trip to visit family. Unfortunately in Trinidad there aren't a lot of choices for accommodation -- you either get budget hotels or 1 or 2 B&Bs. We chose the Tarabino partially because we had limited options, but also because there were good reviews of it on TripAdvisor. When we arrived my parents wanted to check out the property (they own a small motorhome nearby) and Theresa was exceptionally gracious, giving us a tour of the whole house and extending her afternoon snacks to all four of us (even though just two of us were staying). The late Victorian property is decorated beautifully and is absolutely huge. Our room, the Chestnut Suite, was enormous, with a separate sitting room in addition to a large, high bed (which was very comfortable). Our private bathroom was gorgeous, with a clawfoot tub and organic shampoos. We were very lucky to be the only guests of the B&B that night, so we slept great. Theresa's breakfast the next morning was unbelievably good (and very generous portions). We enjoyed English Muffins with Spanish tortillas and fruit. We were so impressed with the interior of the house that I had to take photos of all the antique furniture. Theresa has done a great job -- when we visit our family again we'll be sure to stay there. A great little gem in the middle of Southern Colorado.

Room Tip: The Chestnut Suite is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommefranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I spent one evening at this property and found it to be a great place to stay. The host was very helpful with her suggestions. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was huge. They even had a stainless steel pole to assist you in getting out of the gorgeous tub. The breakfast was great and we would definitely stay here again if we are in Trinidad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mcalester, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I think we'll stay at the Tarabino Inn every September. Great time to see Southern Colorado and Theresa is a great host. I loved our room and her goodies in the evening were great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bountiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here in Trinidad after attending a "Boots and Roots" concert at the top of La Veta Pass - one of the Rio Grande Scenic Railway's summer concerts. The drive from La Veta is only about an hour. The house is wonderfully restored in the historic section of Trinidad, situated on one of the brick streets. We were with a daughter and granddaughter and had the two gable rooms, sharing the bath. The bath is very large and lovely with a wonderful clawfoot tub.Those rooms are very convenient for family members traveling together. The hosts, Teresa and Kevin are sociable and helpful. Tea and cookies were waiting on the dining room table when we checked in. Breakfast was delicious cornmeal pancakes, bacon, juice and fresh fruit and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

On our drive home to Dallas, TX from Denver, CO my husband and I decided to breakup our drive with a stay in Trinidad, CO. We could not have been more pleased to find the Tarabino Inn. The owners have out done themselves to provide warmth and comfort in this historic Trinidad home. They have brought the original home to life with just enough touches of antique furniture and accessories while including the most comfortable beds. Another fantastic characteristic is the amount of local art available for view and purchase adorning each room's walls. But the best part is owner Teresa's hot breakfast served between 8 AM and 9 AM each morning. Make time for it. In fact make time for Trinidad so you can stay at the Tarabino Inn more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LDPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 10 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarabino Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarabino Inn

Property: Tarabino Inn
Address: 310 E Second St, Trinidad, CO 81082-3019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the ambiance of this historic Bed and Breakfast located in beautiful Trinidad, Colorado. Splendid antiques blended with modern conveniences pamper your senses and your soul. Tarabino Inn combines the elegance and way of life of the Victorian era with the comforting hospitality and atmosphere rarely encountered in today's world. Indulge in the old world warmth of antique furnishings, rich natural woodwork, persian rugs, and much more. Your hosts, Kevin & Teresa, would be pleased to welcome you into their home, and their hospitality is guaranteed to make your visit a special and relaxing time. Whether you are escaping for just a weekend's rest, a longer vacation, or even a business trip, make the choice that will make memories. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing