We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bittersweet stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Trinidad, Colorado is a small historic mining town nestled in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, at the base of Raton Pass. While it may be historic, the vast majority of travelers seeking lodging here are on their way to some place else. Trinidad has been a resting place on the Santa Fe Trail since the 1850’s.

LOCATION: The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is conveniently located just off Interstate 25 at Exit 11. At this exit, you’ll find a Wendy’s fast food restaurant and Wal-mart. That’s about it.

SAFETY: This isn’t the ‘hood. Property was well-lit in the front, a bit dark in the rear. Try to park on the front side if possible. Inside, you’ll find a typical Holiday Inn, with key card access to rooms.

STAFF: This is where this property shines. Everyone you come in contact with, from the front desk to the restaurant, is friendly, attentive and professional.

PROPERTY: Fresh, clean and safe. General areas are well-kept and inviting. Not sure when it was built but it appears relatively new, as of this review.

ROOMS: Also fresh, clean and safe. Although well-appointed and inviting, they are less than perfectly quiet. Sound insulation is lacking. You can easily hear conversations in adjoining rooms, along with sniffles, belches, etc. Beds are reasonably comfortable, but not great. The soft and hard pillow collection is appreciated. Temperature control was a pain. Apparently the room heats past the set the temp because we experienced both the heat and the a/c throughout the night. Perhaps this isn’t how the system is designed to operate.

RESTAURANT: feels more like a lounge than a restaurant. It was Friday night and the bar was full of revelers. Typical, but reasonably behaved. Restaurant seating is mostly tables, along with three booths along one wall. Food was above average served by wonderfully attentive employees. On this dinner visit, there were two large groups with swarms of out-of-control children running and jumping throughout the restaurant. Parents were too busy drinking to care. Our server was wonderful and apologetic. At least I think she apologized. We couldn’t hear each other.

OVERALL: Staff are universally wonderful and should be commended for their attention to the details. Hotel leadership should be well-pleased with their excellent team of ambassadors. If we were to return to this property (Colorado natives), it would be because of the staff. Having said that, we’re on the fence about returning.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the backside to avoid noise from Interstate traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanceWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear RomanceWriter,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 223 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Newer hotel right off of I25. My family and I stayed in a double Queen suite. The room was very updated and clean. It had a nice kitchenette with a sink, fridge and microwave, and even "real" plates, cups, and silverware, which was a nice touch. The beds were very comfy and the hotel was not noisy at all. Although there was a restaurant adjacent to the lobby, we did not eat at the hotel nor did we use the indoor pool or fitness room. We will definitely stay at the HI if we are ever in Trinidad again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan A, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear abclem,
Thank you taking the time to give a review of your stay at the Trinidad Holiday Inn & Suites. We very excited to hear that everything was luxurious and comfortable as if you were in your own home. I am sorry that you weren't able to partake in the restaurant, indoor pool/spa, and/or fitness room; but glad we could offer these amenities to you and any guest of the hotel.
Sincerely,

Nathan A.
Guest Experience Champion
Trinidad Holiday Inn & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

New, clean, friendly,comfy beds, Walmart was nearby. We had nice views of the mountains. Check-in was easy.there was no complimentary breakfast which we like when traveling with our kids but they do offer breakfast off the menu. We would return here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleeper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel S, Guest Experience Champion at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Like all Holiday Inn & Suites, Holiday Inn Express, and Holiday Inn Express & Suites; we are a full service hotel. Holiday Inn Express and Holiday Inn Express & Suites have a complimentary breakfast. Here at the Trinidad Holiday Inn & Suites, we are full amenities offering a restaurant on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My family and I stayed overnight here back in October 2010 on our way to Denver. Trinidad is a very small town so I was surprised to come across the Holiday Inn and I think it was fairly new at that time. It was clean, rooms were very comfortable and staff was pleasant. If you're in the area, I recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Trinidad Holiday Inn. Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Second stay at this hotel. The staff is courteous and the rooms clean. Mountain view room also gives you a look at I 25 and motel across the street. Good breakfast in the restaurant. Location is convenient. You can take the frontage road to downtown, without having to get back on the interstate.

Room Tip: Non mountain views, east side, may have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your recent stay at the Trinidad Holiday Inn. There are several choices for accommodations in the Trinidad area; we are honored to have met your expectations, and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel was a normal HI. What made it special was their staff. From the check in, restaurant, and check out, everyone made our stay easier. When we arrived I asked for a front room and she changed our room immediately. The waitress, at breakfast, was so cheerful it was a great way to start the day. When we checked out, Nathan, checked the weather and let us Southerners know there was snow on the Pass. We appreciated everyone's kindness very much.

Room Tip: Front rooms have view of the mountains. No traffic at night, so no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for the positive feedback after your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad. Our staff takes pride in offering customer service that goes above and beyond guest expectations, and we are honored that you chose our hotel for your stay in Trinidad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This holiday inn is one of the nicest we have ever seen. The rooms were quiet, very clean, bedding and matress wonderful! After a long day of driving this was a welcome stop. we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thanks for the great compliments! We try to exceed our guests expectations and are very glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#3 of 10 in Trinidad
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
18.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 10 in Trinidad
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad

Address: 3130 Santa Fe Trl, Trinidad, CO 81082-3760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: $121 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel & Suites in Beautiful Trinidad, Colorado Ideally situated in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Trinidad State Junior College and historic, downtown Trinidad, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad offers deluxe accommodations near popular Trinidad attractions and leading southern Colorado businesses. While lodging in Trinidad, Colorado, hotel guests enjoy visiting the Trinidad History Museum and the historic El Corazon de Trinidad downtown district. Outdoor recreation at Trinidad Lake State Park, the Trinidad Riverwalk and Cougar Canyon Golf Course, designed by Jack Nicklaus, can also be found less than eight miles away. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable Trinidad, CO accommodations near Halliburton, Coca-Cola, Maverick and Comcast. Over 1,700 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access are also available to meet our guests' professional needs. During your stay, we hope you will visit our Trinidad Peaks Restaurant. In the evening, be sure to join us during happy hour in our full-service Trinidad Peaks Lounge. An indoor, heated pool and whirlpool, and a well-equipped fitness center are also provided for your enjoyment. Gorgeous views of the Sangre de Cristos are free. As you plan your trip to southern Colorado, we invite you to explore our excellent Trinidad, CO hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Trinidad
Holiday Inn Trinidad
Trinidad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing