We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop along a long path!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great stop along a long path!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Upon check-in I was greeted with a smile and a very friendly desk clerk. The hotel itself was beautiful as well as our room. The bed was comfortable. I was dissapointed in the coffee bar. I'm used to the Marriott coffee bar that has hot water, regular coffee and decaf coffee. There were no tea bags or flavored cream. I won't decrease my rating for this, but I would have liked to have a flavored cream for my morning coffee.
There is a hotel restaurant that we didn't try because two people staying in the hotel indicated it took 1 1/2 hours to get their food. We walked next door to the Wendy's. There is also a Mexican restaurant and a Shell gas station next door. Beyond that, there is nothing. If I need another stop-over in Trinidad, I will stay here without hesitation.

Room Tip: There is very little parking out front. Most of it is to the side and behind the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamivice2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    78
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
73
72
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We escaped from the windy camping conditions Memorial Day weekend at this Holiday inn. We arrived at the hotel, wind-blown, hungry, tired & irritable. Roman greeted us with a smile and checked us in to our room very quickly. The room was a welcome change from being wind blown and sand blasted. After settling in we decided to call down to the restaurant for food, it being 10 minutes to their closing time, they informed us that the kitchen would be closing soon. We placed our order and it was brought up to our room, with a smile. Yes a smile, not an irritated here's your ^@%! food, but a smile. I was floored. Next morning we went to the restaurant where Randi, (poor girl) wiped up not one be THREE spills, again with a smile. This place is overflowing with customer service. An animal we all thought long extinct. I will stay here again, should my travels take me through Trinidad Co again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybrook
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is clean, pretty, bartender was nice, room gorgeous. Desk manager Pamela needs to work alone in the world. I have never met a person as rude as her. I'm a member of pretty much all of the hotel frequent traveler programs, when I check into hotels I'm usually treated very kindly. This was not the case when I checked into this hotel. I felt as if I was bothering when i checked in, I asked if an upgrade was available and was rudely refused. To top it off, the way she spoke to her employees was deplorable. I left after one night, when the next morning she seemed to be gossiping about my friends and I to another woman while we used the guest computer to print out tickets. The hotel was nice, management was not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Ryan D,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and for taking time to leave us a review. I am pleased you liked the room accommodations you received. I would like to apologize for the way you were treated by the management. We take our guest comments seriously and strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very nice accomodations with people that have an excellent attitude and are focused on the customer.

I had stopped staying at Holiday Inns when Best Western started their motorcycle program, it just made Best Western more economical. However, after this visit I will be checking into more Holiday Inn's when the pricing is right and finally will be using my Priority Club membership again.

Restaurant is Open til 10 PM important for the long days in the wind.... you can check in and still have dinner.

Room Tip: 3 floor rooms have no people walking around abive you so you can sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The hotel was clean and in good shape. We were traveling with pets, as we were moving and they allow pets (with a small fee) which was a huge help for us. The room was very large and hotel was quiet and easy to get to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon
Level Contributor
363 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Relatively new property, in good shape...Friendly staff, located just off interstate. Nice room, clean, well kept,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Snowpiste,

Thank your for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27705907
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestSlope,CO
Level Contributor
166 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We arrived late and left early, so we didn't have a chance to use the pool or fitness center or eat at the restaurant; therefore I can't comment on those amenities. This hotel, at this time, does not include breakfast, but internet and parking are free. The hotel lobby, hallways and our room/bathroom were very clean and spacious. The bed was a little firmer than I prefer, but was clean and comfortable. There was a nice flat screen TV. I usually feel that Holiday Inns are a little bit pricey in comparison to others, but I bid on Priceline and got this stay for less than $100, which I felt was a reasonable value for a hotel with good reviews here on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is on the east side of the Interstate at exit 11. If you use On-Star, do not trust your On-Star directions in this instance (and possibly other mapping software). We used the correct address on Santa Fe Trail, but On-Star took us to the wrong exit & to the eastern city limits of Trinidad, out in the boonies with no hotel or anything else in sight, but insisted we were at our destination even after I called them back! We were on Santa Fe Trail, but at the wrong end! We knew the Holiday Inn was right off Interstate 25 since we have driven by it before, so we turned around and made our way back to find it ourselves after the desk clerk accidentally told us another incorrect exit number to take and we ended up at a not-so-friendly-looking convenience store. Our scavenger hunt, of course, has no bearing on which hotel you choose, but I am hoping to save another visitor some time and trouble by mentioning this! As for the hotel, we would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank misspWestSlope_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 10 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
17.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Address: 3130 Santa Fe Trl, Trinidad, CO 81082-3760
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Hotel & Suites in Beautiful Trinidad, Colorado Ideally situated in the foothills of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Trinidad State Junior College and historic, downtown Trinidad, the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad offers deluxe accommodations near popular Trinidad attractions and leading southern Colorado businesses. While lodging in Trinidad, Colorado, hotel guests enjoy visiting the Trinidad History Museum and the historic El Corazon de Trinidad downtown district. Outdoor recreation at Trinidad Lake State Park, the Trinidad Riverwalk and Cougar Canyon Golf Course, designed by Jack Nicklaus, can also be found less than eight miles away. Business travelers appreciate our comfortable Trinidad, CO accommodations near Halliburton, Coca-Cola, Maverick and Comcast. Over 1,700 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access are also available to meet our guests' professional needs. During your stay, we hope you will visit our Trinidad Peaks Restaurant. In the evening, be sure to join us during happy hour in our full-service Trinidad Peaks Lounge. An indoor, heated pool and whirlpool, and a well-equipped fitness center are also provided for your enjoyment. Gorgeous views of the Sangre de Cristos are free. As you plan your trip to southern Colorado, we invite you to explore our excellent Trinidad, CO hotel rates and make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Trinidad
Holiday Inn Trinidad
Trinidad Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing