We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sur[rising good Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Towaoc
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ute Mountain Casino Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Towaoc
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We looked for a Hotel between Monument Valley and Mesa Verde, but all was booked out. Finally I found a 2 queen bed room for 2 adults for 79 $ per night. As we arrived, we were totally surprised. A wonderful Hotel , rooms clean and big, pool and gym included. Breakfast is additional but they have a very good Restaurant which sells a big menu for a good price. Also this restaurant have every night Buffet which is not expensive but mouth washing delicious. Especially the sea food and Prime Rib Buffet on Friday nights. With diverse fish and lobster. Do not miss both when you are in this area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hellen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 189 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

I may be prejudiced by having paid $160+ the night before at a "luxury" hotel which was trading on past glory, but I would be happy to stay at Ute Mountain Casino Hotel even if their rates were on the high side. As it was, with my military discount, I only paid $49 for a night. The room was large, comfortable, and attractive. We had a great night's sleep. People were nice and the restaurant, which you reach by going through the casino (standard design) served huge portions at a very reasonable price. The meatloaf, which came in slabs, was delicious, and our server was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donovanb765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel and casino was very nice. Rooms were big, clean and very comfortable. I was on a very long motorcycle trip of the west. They let me park my motorcycle near the entrance of casino so it would be protected from the elements. Food at restaurant was very good and huge portions. Try the Indian Taco, it will feed two people.

Room Tip: Very close to Mesa Verde National Park and the Four Corners Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped here because everywhere else for a huge radius was booked. We're glad we did.

The rooms are large, nicely decorated and furnished and very clean. We liked the check in procedure and everyone was very friendly and helpful. There were a lot of extras given at registration, but we did not use these.
The price and value were exceptional. For the area, the room rate was 2/3 that of other hotels. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and easy to use. The soaps and shampoos were really great! Not the usual little perfumy things. The security at this one was exceptional and the extras were excellent. There was a fridge and microwave.
The downside was the smoke filled lobby (we're non smokers) and the air conditioning unit on the floor was noisy.
Neither of these things detracted enough to take away the excellent rating. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nabenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We found this hotel/casino by mistake, and are glad we did. The room was large, clean and nicely
decorated. It also was very quiet (no slamming doors or people talking loud in the hallways. I was
pleasantly surprised by the "freebies" offered to me when I joined the slot club, and the hostess
noticed that my birthday was in 2 days. Would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tusitala10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to right off the highway. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Along with nice amenities in the bathroom. The Casino has a smoke free side and a smoking side. This was nice along with their alcohol policy on premises makes this a nice place to stay. On the bad side the hotel pool was closed so we were unable to take advantage of that amenity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenaZSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

After coming east from Four Corners on a blistering hot June day, we were looking for a place to stop for the night and came upon the casino hotel. Previous experiences stopping at Native American casinos in the southwest for a quick meal had been enjoyable so we decided to give the Ute Mountain Casino Hotel a try in an area not exactly overflowing with accommodation choices. Without much difficulty or fanfare, we were checked in and given a $10 free play credit for the casino and a nice room on the third floor that was lacking a refrigerator or microwave and had an in-room safe which was usable only upon paying an additional fee which we opted not to do. Kuchu's restaurant downstairs adjacent to a large, very smoky-filled casino offered some rather tasty selections at a very reasonable price and upon paying the check, found we were eligible for a senior discount. We ate several meals there during our stay. Despite some other comments listed here regarding rude personnel, we found everyone to be very responsive and polite. The strictly enforced ban of alcohol on the premises caused us no problems but it would be so very much healthier and more esthetically pleasing if they instituted a similar ban on smoking since the lobby/casino/restaurant areas literally reek with clouds of smoke. And that leads me to what I found personally disconcerting at this hotel casino. The predominantly Native-American patrons were literally smoking themselves into early graves and seemed to be addicted to the gaming options. We stayed for two days and I began to recognize the same Native-Americans spending literally hours in front of these gaming machines gambling away their money. Two Native-American employees told me that the Ute tribe owns the casino but tribe members do not receive a stipend based on casino earnings. I don't know if this is true, but if so, then the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe is basically making profits off the addictive gambling habits of its own people. That, coupled with the excessive smoking and obesity of many tribe members there (with their children parked in the lobby with cell phones and hand-held electronic devices to amuse themselves while parents gambled) left me feeling very sad for this tribe. Although our stay was pleasant enough for our own purposes (the slots didn't seem to pay off, however!) I would not likely care to return to again watch our first Americans engaging in such self-defeating and addictive behaviors.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter and less smoky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towaoc
12.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
11.9 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
328 reviews
11.6 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
11.2 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,841 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ute Mountain Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ute Mountain Casino Hotel

Address: 3 Weeminuchie Dr, Towaoc, CO 81334
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Towaoc
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Towaoc
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's first Tribal gaming facility and largest Casino in the Four Corners. Located 20 minutes from the entrance to Mesa Verde National Park and nestled in the shadow of the legendary Sleeping Ute Mountain, the Ute Mountain Casino, Hotel and Resort offers Southwestern hospitality, friendly faces, good food and gaming excitement! The Hotel has 90 rooms including mini and large suites, swimming pool and workout facility. Live Table games from Blackjack Craps and Roulette as well as all the latest and greatest Slots. There is also a large Bingo Hall and Kuchu's restaurant on premises. RV Park and full-service 24-hour Travel Center including fuel/diesel and a convenience store are located right next door. Groups welcome!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ute Mountain Hotel Towaoc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing