We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Jomtien Beach
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Furama Jomtien (that's how this was called when we visited), has excellent rooms with a view.
The rooms are spacious enough even though the balcony was quite small.
The pool is good and the happy hour deals are great. If you talk nicely and tip the barman, you can get happy hour deals anytime of the day ;-)

The breakfast buffet is good with a huge range of options. A few more healthy options wouldn't hurt though. We did not try the menu options as there were a plenty of street vendors selling a wide range of exotic dishes around.

The massages were very expensive and you don't get much. We found some nice massage parlours just outside of the hotel that provided an excellent service for a much cheaper price.

I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YohanDeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 732 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

OK, happy travelers, here's a quiz for you: how do you build a hotel and give EVERY room an ocean view?

The answer is, only build half a hotel!

And that's exactly what the D-Varee chain has done at Jomtien, and it works great. The hotel is a massive, modern, 38-story concrete edifice that glistens in the Thai sunlight. I'd give it a solid 3-star rating; it's not the Ritz Carlton but for a family hotel it does great.

Built in the shape of a crescent, curving away from the ocean, every room actually does have an ocean view. From the ocean-side, it looks like a giant white ear of corn, because every room as it's own private curving balcony. It's when you step off the elevator that you are surprised -- because instead of a long hallway to your room, it's another balcony. Hanging off the back of the hotel, 30+ stories in the air. It was such a surprise it took my breath away.

Lets get down to some of the details:

First, Jomtien Beach is NOT Pattaya Beach. Pattaya Beach is crowded, tacky, dirty and squalid. Jomtien Beach is a place Disney would go... relatively clean, uncrowded, and much more family-oriented. If you're looking for sordid night life, this is NOT the hotel for you.

This also means you're in for a drive. The Pattaya Bus Station is 2 hours southeast of Bangkok (Emakai station). Jomtien Beach is about 30 minutes south of the Pattaya station, by taxi. If you're driving to a hotel in Pattaya, you can ride on a jitney with 10 of your friends, but it will take a while to get to your hotel. I paid 300 baht for the ride, private car to Jomtien, each way, so I guess that's the going rate.

The hotel is set back from the street, and there's a handsome pavilion to walk you back from the ocean to the hotel. In the front of the hotel (street side) on this pavilion is a handsome bar with live music at night. There's also an eye-popping swimming pool. And it's also where breakfast is served. You'll like it!

There also is ANOTHER swimming pool, on the 5th floor. It's even nicer than the first-floor pool, and less crowded. I spent some significant time with the bartender there and we did well. Happy hour is from 1-3 pm, buy-one, get-one-free beer. Does it get any better than that?

The neighborhood is fine. Relatively clean, well-served with jitney busses (20 baht for a ride up the beach), and numerous restaurants and pubs. Take care on the sidewalks -- like most of Thailand, smooth sideways are rare. Signs and menus are in English, Thai and Russian. In fact, you're going to think your in Little Moscow, because all the voices you hear will be Russian, and maybe a smattering of Chinese. As an English-speaker, I was clearly the odd man out.

Checking in was a snap; service was fast and efficient. The room is fine but nothing great; moderately large, with a great balcony, an OK bathroom, and a luggage rack. The flat-screen TV has 70 channels, so you'll definitely have something to watch. The big thrill is hanging out on the balcony. Bring some wine or a beer... it's that much fun.

Now there are a few problems. The hot water is provided by "instant-on" water heaters, and it never gets really hot. There maybe a way to crawl under the sink and adjust this, but I never bothered. It was OK.

The hotel does not have free WIFI. What's up with that? It's the 21st century for heavens sake! Actually, their wifi is expensive... so look for coffee shops instead.

There are not enough elevators, and sometimes they cancel themselves and don't pick you up. We also had one that went down and started back up without ever taking us to the lobby. So we rode around a bit... more amusing than annoying.

The breakfast buffet is huge, but not terribly varied. It's just a great way to feed about a zillion people every morning. It's in two rooms and outside... I always sat outside and fed the birds. You won't go hungry but the coffee sucks.

Overall, this hotel was an unexpected delight. I paid US$70 a night, breakfast included, and would go back anytime. It was that nice.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can... the view is worth the elevator ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I been there 2trips in this hotel. First time, I was in the old room on 30th floor and horrible atmosphere. The Bath room was bad, I can't open the door while I was in the room, lot of smell!
2nd time, I staying here and they charging expensive wifi but other hotel is free! Remember that if your room was upgraded by them, you will not have complimentary water in your room. You need to give a signature for get in pool area. Many instructions here, there are so annoyed.

Only one thing I impressed is staff, they are great!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpcheap P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked an Excutive sea-view Suite,but was given a deluxe room. After twenty minutes or so of chatting with customer service (because they were insisting that the online booking made a mistake) Anyways, they finally switched us into a better room.
The first room had old worn furniture, peeling wallpaper and had a lot if human hair everywhere. The second room was a low floor suite but much better than the first.

Annoyances:
40 minutes for room service to deliver ice. Both pools close really early (7:30) and rooms smell slightly sewerish.

Bonus's:
Location, views, two pools and lobby has nice interior design. Also close to a great Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olsonleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

me and my love stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel overlooked the beach.
The hotel lobby is very nice.The room was very clean and comfortable - with very good air con. A balcony with a nice view was also good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warannat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you want to stay in Jomtien, you can't do too much better. That said, I was disappointed. For a hotel trying desperately to pass itself off as a four star, they are much more like a three star instead. The hotel is nice and certainly has all the amenities of a four star hotel. From a nice restaurant, two wonderful pools, nice gym, a great spa, and a view that can't be beat. However the rooms left a lot to desire. They were surprisingly sparse of furniture and what was there is old and worn out. Except for the two very small draws in the night stands and the one on the desk, there wasn't anyone in the entire room. I guess they expect you to live out of your suitcase. The closet had few hangers, the bed was hard, the bathroom worn and not well kept, and when the wind picks up it comes right through the sliding glass doors. I was surprised by the lack of quality of the building up close. There were gaps in the flooring, mold on the shower curtain, there was no way to keep water from getting on the floor while taking a shower, the towels were thin and worn out, and the furniture was circa 1980s. All that said, the hotel has been rebranded. I would assume they are getting ready to do a renovation. If so, this could easily be turned into a quality four star hotel. They have everything else there to make one happy.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view, but the upper ones have an outstanding one at that. Try to eat brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Jomtien Beach is quieter that Pattaya however a quick cab ride gets you into the livelier parts of Pattaya. Nice uncrowded beach literally accross the road and the hotel provide a security guard to see you accross the road even though its not that busy - nice touch. Food in the restaurant is good and the coffee shop with 1 hour free wifi is great.
This is a first class hotel we were originally on the 13th floor which we felt was too risky for our adventurous 2 year old. The hotel changed us to a garden room on the second floor which was perfect. Ok we lost the view but we had peace of mind and it was very pleasant to sit out and the patio was spacious. Good selection at breakfast. The pools were not at all crowded even though the hotel was fully booked!
This was definatly the case as we tried to book for more nights and couldn't, that proves this hotel is good value for money.
Would use again and recommend

Room Tip: If you are concerned like us with small children who may venture too far on the balcony. Ask for on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jomtien Beach
1.5 mi away
Nirvana Boutique Suites
Nirvana Boutique Suites
#5 of 20 in Jomtien Beach
243 reviews
1.5 mi away
D@Sea Hotel
D@Sea Hotel
#12 of 20 in Jomtien Beach
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
W1A Jomtien
W1A Jomtien
#6 of 20 in Jomtien Beach
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Citrus Parc Pattaya Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.2 mi away
Welcome Jomtien Beach Hotel
Welcome Jomtien Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Jomtien Beach
128 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 465 in Pattaya
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya

Address: 457 Moo 12, Soi 13-14, Jomtien Beach Road, Jomtien Beach, Pattaya 20150, Thailand (Formerly Furama Jomtien Beach)
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya > Jomtien Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jomtien Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jomtien Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jomtien Beach
Price Range: $39 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya is an elegant 4-star hotel with magnificent 38 storey located right on the beautiful beach, on the eastern shore of the Bay of Siam. This elegant hotel features 500 expansive guestrooms that are decorated with a blend of traditional and contemporary Thai themes for a luxurious yet cosy feel. Every residence is complemented by one or more spacious balconies facing the ocean, allowing you to relax in privacy, enjoying spectacular view of the beach and the bay of Siam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Jomtien Beach Hotel Nong Prue
Nusa Playa Hotel
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing