We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some advantages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Telluride Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Telluride Lodge to your Saves list
Telluride Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   747 West Pacific Street, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
TN, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“some advantages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked a condo a Telluride Lodge for a week in the summer as part of science conference held in Telluride. After booking I was distressed to find the Trip Advisor reviews were not that great. Having spent a week in one of their 3 BR condos I have to say it was overall a great choice. The condos are right at the edge of this small town and had good (and free) parking. You can walk everywhere in town. If you want to go up on the the Mountain Village, the free gondala is a 10 minute walk away. The condo was very clean and had a decent kitchen. We visited one of the other condos and found it to be set up somewhat differently, but found it also was clean and with a good kitchen. We had lots of space. While there were no great views from any of the windows, we found this to be a good place to base our visit to T. Moreover, there is a decent grocery store adjacent to the condos. The grocery had a deli and there is also a deli in the small office building also adjacent. So one can walk uptown if you want fine dining or just pick up groceries or a sandwich next door if you want something simpler. Nothing to complain about here except that the free Wi-Fi worked fine for me, but my roommate (also with a PC) had a harder time maintaining a connection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
san antonio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The reviews already written are accurate--this is a large condo complex owned by various owners and so each unit is different. We stayed over spring break, which is a very busy time in Telluride. We wanted a location near the lifts, so this seemed good. Also, we got a very good price from Silver Star Luxury Properties. We were able to see pictures of the unit (411) before we rented, and it was exactly as pictured. Very clean, modern, comfortable. Our unit was a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom with loft, but ended up really working more as a 3/2.5. Our teenaged son stayed in the loft which had a TV and full-size bed.

The configuration of our unit was three-story split-level, and from the upper floors, the views were great.

Here are some tips that weren't publicized when I booked, but were very nice amenities:
1. Unit 411 came with two spa bathrobes for each bedroom. If I had known that, I would not have packed my own!
2. Each bedroom has a humidifier available
3. Each bathroom has a full-sized blow dryer
4. The unit has a washer and dryer
5. As others have said, it is a two-minute indoor walk to Clark's grocery, and that is very handy
6. Kleenex, shampoo, lotion, paper towels, and dishwashing soap are all provided
7. There is a ski closet assigned to each unit. Ours also had sleds in it.

Here are a couple of drawbacks that you might want to consider:
1. Parking is very difficult, and not covered or assigned. There is enough, but you might be quite far from your condo. We arrived late Saturday night, and had to hike across the whole complex from our car to our condo. Fortunately, there are breezeways you can pull under for loading and unloading, but it's hard to figure that out at midnight. Snow was bout a foot deep when we were unloading, so it was really a chore. The weather warmed up, but if it had stayed cold or snowed more, the cars would have stayed buried. Later, we moved the car closer to the unit, but really didn't need it our entire stay. It appears that many other condo complexes have the same problem. I think it's just part of Telluride--it's a rugged town and that's part of the charm.
2. The condo provides lots of staples (see #6 above), but no sugar, coffee filters, or laundry detergent. You might want to bring your own, but again, the grocery store is close
3. There is maid service at no additional charge, but no "do not disturb" sign. The maids came before 9:00 am our first day. The property rental people said they come between 10:00 and 4:00, and it varies from day to day. If you turn them away early in the morning, they do not come back later
4. The walls are thin, but people generally were very considerate, and honored the quiet hours from 10:00 pm to 8:00 am.

Overall, we were very, very happy.

Room Tip: Ask for photos! It seems from reading other reviews that the split levels have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macfamilysanantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

#305 is tired. Soiled and dirty furniture, bad odor when you enter, mildew in shower grout. The room they call small bedroom as you enter is no more than a utility room (maybe 6 x 6 ft) with a twin bed, no closet. The water heater is right by the bed. Way over priced for what they offer. Also, wi-fi only works 15% of the time. Would not use Telluride Lodge again. Terrible value, misled.

Room Tip: They are misleading in their descriptions, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lginotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalTourist81423, Manager at Telluride Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thanks for your review of Unit #305. I appreciate your honest assessment. And in fact, this unit is scheduled for a facelift in Spring 2014 -- paint, furniture, floors, window coverings. In the meantime, we have priced it as one of our best values in town.
With a fresh deep-cleaning complete Nov. 2013, and needed maintenance done, it should work well for the family needing to stretch the budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Telluride hotels

denver
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently stayed in unit 525 at Telluride Lodge and I was very disappointed with the accomodations. For the price it may have been a decent value, but the lodging was way below my expectations. I would have to recommend spending an additional $30 to $50 a night and avoiding this place.

First, the deck looked about ready to cave in and was sagging in several spots. To make matters worse there was not a single piece of deck furniture. no chair no table.

Second, the walls and floors are thin. The unit above us was in use, and we heard almost everything going on in their unit.

The units were built in the late 70s and nothing has been updated. I was expecting a bed with a sleeper sofa. We had the 1 bed, but the sofa was a small futon that wouldn't even fit 2 kids. The kitchen amenties were barely adequate.

Lastly, the location is on the far side from the Gondola and heart of Telluride. I knew this going in, but upon reflection it was more of a nuisance than I thought.

The management company was fine, no complaints with them. I suppose there is a reason these are priced this low. Again, we were only in unit 525 and did not ask to be moved. I don't know if all units are as poor as this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turtle722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocalTourist81423, Manager at Telluride Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of unit #525. Being a studio, it's good for 2 people who want a full kitchen at their disposal. It is true that the units are not well sound-proofed (except the ones most recently remodeled.)
The Deck was replaced in May 2013. The kitchen inventory (reviewed twice a year) is at a full compliment of utensils as of Nov. 2013. And the location is a 10-15 minute walk from the Gondola; the free in-town shuttle has a stop on both the north side and south side of this block, too.
This unit is one that still harkens back to the previous decades, and hasn't had a ton of changes made. Other condos in the complex will vary -- from fully original 1975 to over-the-top upscaled remodel. Each has its own personality. So hopefully, everyone will find one that fits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Basic lodging, some fancier lodging is available in Telluride, but reasonable price. You may get really lucky and have a condo that has a very attentive owner, you may get one that looks like the early 90's. However, the location is pretty good for a awl and easy access back to town. This would probably be a 5 star in the winter. Right on the mountain.

Room Tip: If you want main street action stay in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank larry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Telluride lodge feels like a cross between a condo and a hotel. A lot depends on the owners of the unit, but also on where it's situated. #420 is on the lower of two levels, with views of... the other condos. No real reason to open the shades. Maybe typical of 'premium' condo rentals, the surface fixtures are nice enough but the underlying construction is cheap -- if someone's staying in the unit above you, you'll easily keep track of their comings and goings. And getting up from a chair. And sitting back down. And turning on the tv... The carpets and furniture are clean but pretty worn.

The unit has 3 bedrooms, 2 of which are (or feel like they're) subterranean -- only the master bedroom is above sea-level. The living space is comfortable for 3-4 people, but would've been crowded for 6. The kitchen is well stocked with reasonable equipment, and cooking was not a problem. (Just don't look for a place to store any food other than on the countertops.)

Telluride Lodge is across the street from the base of Coonskin lift, which turns out to be not so convenient for getting up onto the mountain unless you're going to ski Coonskin lift all day. To get to The Plunge or any of the back bowls (or the Mountain Village blue runs), you'll want to take Oak Street lift or the gondola -- both about a 10 minute walk from TL. Coming home at the end of the day, even if you don't want to ski the snow-hungry black scree runs (Milk Run...), it's possible to take Telluride Trail all the way down to the base of Coonskin, though, so the walk home can be short (across one street). As a bonus, Telluride's grocery store is close, so the 10-minute walk into town for shopping or restaurants/bars is at least partially offset by a 2-minute (indoor) stroll to the grocery.

The rental agency for #420 (Elevation Rentals) has friendly people. But we made daily phone calls to them because of lack of info in the condo. No parking pass that was promised, wifi setup and passwords not as instructions suggested, no info on where to get the bus into town, no info on where to take the garbage, no spare garbage bags... Problems were fixed. But why were there problems to begin with?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ob3ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We made a day trip from Ouray over to Telluride, toured the town and rested for a few moments in the lodge. It is made for the winter scenes. Great marble floors and walls, and larger than life fireplaces made it both austere and warm.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
1.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.1 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#6 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountainside Inn
Mountainside Inn
#14 of 18 in Telluride
3.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.5 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telluride Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telluride Lodge

Address: 747 West Pacific Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Telluride Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the largest condominium complexes in Telluride, the Telluride Lodge sits on 5 acres of park-like setting with BBQ stations and plenty of grassy areas in the summer. For guests during the winter season – skiing and other activities are close by with lift 7 right across the street. Approximately one-third of the condos are available for Vacation Rental, in sizes from Studio to 3-bedroom. Each apartment has its own individual style, but all are based on a split-level floorplan. Every residence has a full kitchen and living room, wireless internet access, and parking on site (limit one car per unit). In fall 2011, the new hot tub - one outdoor, one indoor - and steam room reopened for residents' use. Just to the north of the complex is a grocery store and visitor center. Just to the south is the San Miguel River and Telluride Ski Area lift #7. And historic downtown Telluride is 5 short blocks away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Telluride Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telluride Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing