We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza ever”
Review of Brown Dog Pizza

Brown Dog Pizza
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We ordered here one night of our family vacation. Everyone loved it and I agreed, even though I am a vegetarian, 65 year old non-pizza buff. It was exceptional. There ingredients are fresh and the vegetarian options are great. They were out of spinach lasagna that night but the other options were good. We went through more pizza than I ever thought we would and I loved seeing my son and my son-in-law competing for the leftovers at breakfast.

Fairly expensive (as most telluride places are) but definitely worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    332
    69
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza joint!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

One of the co-owners played college football with Tom Brady, so prepare yourself with lots of sports memorabilia! It's very cool. The pizza is delicious. This year we tried the Detroit Style (deep dish), and it was awesome! I cannot believe we didn't try it earlier. The downside is the wait can be quite long, especially on big game days. There are TVs all over the restaurant, and folks tend to take a seat and camp out. We have had 2+ hour wait times during the holiday peak season... and it's COLD outside while you wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBBCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
“Cute sign, poor-to-just okay food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We ate here because of the raving review here, so felt I should post one, since we had a totally different experience. The place itself is very cute! The pizza is just okay- the local shops in my current small town both serve MUCH better pizza, so can't say its even close to "best pizza ever"! My son chose the very overpriced Tuscan ravioli, which looked like they used the same oil used for movie popcorn. He is very easy to please & didn't like it. I tasted it. I'm guessing very high fat,frozen food. We got brucetta & I have to say that was the worse ever! This was my entree. I took ONE bite & left the rest. Very cheap bread- like a hogie bun, split. Cherry tomatoes cut in half, with a sickening-thick oil drenched on them. Could see chuncks of garlic (like the canned type) but could not taste anything very flavorless. There was a tiny & I mean TINY drizzle, too small to even taste, of balsamic. I've had lots of brucetta- never one I didn't like- didn't think that was even possible! The wine which went w the brucetta was bad also. I bought 2 different reds, didn't like either one, but thought maybe if I blended them, could make it palatable - mmmm, no! Left 2 full glasses of wine on the table when we left also! Did the waitress notice the person tipping her had not touched her meal? No. We won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
181 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unusual Pizza but great!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had the 313 Detroit style pizza and we really enjoyed it. It has a kick to it due to the peppers used which made it extra yummy if you like spice. The place was packed but the service was great nevertheless!

Helpful?
Thank dmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great pizza!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We ordered from here first night here. Great pizza great beer, good atmosphere, worth stopping for if u like pizza. 2 large pizza cost me $60.

Helpful?
Thank southbound35w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing