We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious pizza and awesome atmosphere”
Review of Brown Dog Pizza

Brown Dog Pizza
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and awesome atmosphere”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Brown Dog's Detroit style pizza was awesome. That on top of a Palmyra pils while watching sports on one of their many TV's is a great time. You can definitely tell it is owned by a Michigan owner but he has great taste on his memorabilia. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Pr1cetag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    325
    68
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
198 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Detroit Style Pizza!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We just stopped in at the bar for a beer and shared a Detroit style pizza. Deep dish and crusty. Really delicious! Was one of the busiest places with locals too, which is a good sign!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLikeaLocalVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not just a Pizza place!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This place is the atmosphere and not so much the food! ( I know all the reviews say otherwise)

Not much of a fry person but the Garlic fries are superb!! I had fish and chips and it was okay (nothing wonderful) the atmosphere is what you come for. Typical Sports Bar. It was packed at 3:30 pm so, if that says anything.

The hall way to the bathroom is scary...the floor is basically an upside down bowl, and if you have vertigo...you need to hold on to the walls. Take of the carpet and the long hall way would be awesome for a skateboard. I know the building is from the late 1800s Mining days, but that floor has to be so sort of safety issue! Not sure I am running back to this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adraval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really Great Pizza”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We got to Telluride just in time to watch the Cowboys game and decided to go to Brown Dog Pizza to enjoy the local flavor. We had a regular pizza thin crust and it was very good. We decided to go back and tried the Detroit style thick crust Pizza. I prefer thin but the crust on this one was so light it was amazing. We ate there 3 times in a week. It was very good pizza. Great local bar/pizza place right on main street. Great pricing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and sports viewing”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved the pizza! We had a nice family meal and got to watch NFL football on the big screens. Great atmosphere!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank armgiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing