We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!”
Review of Brown Dog Pizza

Brown Dog Pizza
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were there over spring break and crowds were crazy. This was our second time to go to Brown Dog's so we knew it would be worth it. We waited over an hour and a half! The hostess was kind of grumpy - I would be too if I was dealing with the massive crowd in the tiny pizza joint. We walked around the quaint town while we waited - definitely working up an appetite! Once seated, our party of 11 wasn't disappointed at all. We had a darling waitress that provided excellent service. We started with the artichoke and arugula salad - WOW - don't miss this. It was fabulous. We enjoyed thin crust and regular crust pizzas. All were delicious but our favorites were the buffalo chicken, bar-b-q chicken and the supreme. The ingredients are so fresh and the crust is perfect. If you are in Telluride - don't miss this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    331
    69
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Detroit style Pizza...do the 313!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Crowded and dark but full of Michigan keepsakes. Lots to look at for kids and adults alike. Pizza is served sicilian style in rectangular pans. Our table's hands down fav. was the award winning 313. Arugula, shaved parm. and some kind of thinly sliced pepperoni-pork goodness. Very resonable and leftovers to bring back to the condo!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BraGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Loved the Detroit style Pizza. I had never tried anthing like it and would be back again. Go for an early dinner as this place gets crowded.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matrix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stop after snowmobiling all day”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were tired and hungry and the yummy vege pizza and wine hit the spot. The place was packed with people and line was out the door. Get here before 6 pm or expect a wait

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimporterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Detroit style double pepperoni was so good, we had to go back two nights later to have another. Actually all three different pizzas we had there were fantastic! Make sure to get there early as there was a long wait. Second night we just ordered carry out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Dog Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Brown Dog Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing