We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little museum”

Telluride Historical Museum
Ranked #5 of 58 things to do in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Costa Mesa, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great little museum”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

really well done, nice displays, interesting history. We saw it in june 2014 while on vacation. You'll need no more than 1 hour to view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Domino92626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    33
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pryor, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I highly recommend visiting this awesome museum. It's big enough to explore but small enough to keep your interest. I really enjoyed learning about the women that came out with their husbands in their adventures of finding their fortunes. I also liked learning the history of the building itself. We visited this on the last day and I wish I would have visited it on the first. I saw the town completely differently after visiting it. There is so much history in Telluride and I was in awe of it all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We walked to the museum from our rental one afternoon while staying in Telluride for a ski vacation. The museum, a renovated hospital from mining days, is definitely worth a visit at a nominal fee of $5.00. The room displays are well thought out and include very interesting facts and history about the area, the Utes, the mines, and Telluride. We love hidden gems like this museum, so well taken care of by locals who appreciate where they live and the history that surrounds them. I especially enjoyed listening to a recording of a young miner's wife, who lived at the camp with her husband for several years, and how she coped. We enjoy reading all the information and spent about 2 hours inside and outside. If you simply look at the pictures and displays and don't read everything, you can go through the entire museum in far less time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Learn the origin of the term "Basket Case"”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This little museum was a real delight on one of our off-ski days. The staff was friendly and very excited about their role at the museum. We learned about the town's mining history and what life was like during that time. There were a number of fun facts like how the terms "basket case" and "red light district" came into use! Definitely worth the time. Easy to get to from anywhere in town or Mountain Village.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AMEarlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
“A Great Bit of History”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great museum highlighting mining, skiing, electricity and early life in the Telluride area. You will very easily spend a couple of hours inside, and another hour at the outside exhibits. There is a $5 charge with discounts for seniors and children. Well worth the admission charge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ralph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telluride Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Telluride Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing