We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon treat”
Review of Smak Bar - CLOSED

Smak Bar
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Description: Open for lunch and dinner, Smak Bar is as original as its name. Sleek and sophisticated, always comfortable and inviting, we feature the Village's most appetizing shared bites and complete meals. Signature cocktails by the outdoor fire pit, gluten free and vegan dishes offer an enhanced dining experience for the entire family. The best spot on the plaza in Mountain Village for apres ski, family gatherings or a fun night out with that special someone.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

we had the pleasure of eating at the bar on our honeymoon visit. We got here late so we were kind of worried. Service .wouldnt be up to par. I couldn't have been more wrong. We had matt as our server.he was absolutely outstanding as was the food. The chef whose name was bud, bought us a dessert for honeymoon. This place is a can't miss on your visit to Telluride.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank puttersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Smak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Congratulations! Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your Smak experience. Come back for your one year anniversary! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

For our vacation finale dinner in Telluride, we chose the Smak based on its appealing outward appearance and menu featuring many GF entrees. Our waitress was extremely pleasant and accommodating. She ensured us that the restaurant took great pride in accommodating for food allergies. They absolutely did! Our teenage son, with celiac disease, devoured the steak and truffle fries then endulged in the GF strawberry /rhubarb cheesecake. He thought he had died and went to heaven. He even wondered if we could take some slices home! The rest of our family thoroughly enjoyed other entrees: fried chicken sandwich, kid's slider meal and the pork chop over snap pea stir fry was absolutely amazing! A wonderful experience we won't forget!

2  Thank Martina512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Smak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thanks so much for providing feedback on your experience! As a father of 3 celiacs, I know the feeling very well, and our culinary team takes a lot of pride in offering gluten free options. Please come back and join us again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

the bartenders are friendly and attentive, nice atmosphere, sit and enjoy, great bourbon choices as well as local draft beers

2  Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Smak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thansk again Fred! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is not a gourmet dining experience, but we had some good heavy food. Overall, we were hungry and it was good. From the reviews I thought it would be gourmet. YUCK. Be aware that the mac and cheese was made with processed cheese. So even the candied bacon add on didn't help with the texture for me.

Thank lkilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Smak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thanks so much for joining us at Smak Bar, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our setting around the firepit. We were dissappointed to hear that you found the food to be less than desirable. Our team takes lots of pride in using fresh and regional sourced ingredients for our menus. It is very important for us that patrons find pleasure in the quality of the food presented, as you can see from a majority of previous testimonies. Please let me know personally if you are back in the area and may want to give Smak a better chance. We will be certain to do a better job on the Smacaroni N Cheese which is actually made with quality fresh cheddar. Thanks again for providing feedback, and we hope you will give us another shot to exceed your expecations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

All fresh ingredients. Sit inside or outside in the mountain air.
Try the $15 trio for lunch or dinner:
crispy brie grilled cheese sandwich, choice of creamy tomato soup (YUM!) or salad..AND A glass of wine. What a deal and DELICIOUS!! For lunch they let me substitute a soft drink for the wine. Really nice people to chat with everywhere. A fun place.

Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd G, Director of Sales at Smak Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thanks so much for dinign at Smak and for taking the time to provide your experience. Please come back and join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smak Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing