We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner on 3 week trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allred's Restaurant

Allred's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Allred's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Top of the Gondola overlooking Telluride
Transit: Take the free Gondola to Station Saint Sophia, the midway point between Telluride and Mountain Village. Enjoy the spectacular views at 10,551 feet above sea level.
Description: Telluride's most unique dining experience is Allred's, where culinary excellence, an award winning wine list, exquisite views and impressive ambiance mesh to create a unique dining experience at 10,551 feet above sea level. Allred's Contemporary American cuisine is available nightly throughout the Summer and Winter seasons. Open for Dinner from 5:30pm to 9pm, and Happy Hour from 5pm to 10pm.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best dinner on 3 week trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our fun gondola experience did not overshadow this great restaurant at almost the top of mountain. Our reservation got us the prime corner table overlooking the surrounding mountains and the pretty little mountain town of Telluride. The greeting was warm and friendly as was the service. The even have a sommelier with the most beautiful eyes. My elk loin was one of the best things I have had on our 3 week road trip. My partner had the grilled pork chop which was equally great. A visit from the GM, Maurice demonstrated the commitment to quality and a great experience. This is a must when visiting Telluride. We had a blast getting launched out into pitch blackness and the drop into the almost silent void as the lights of the village appear below.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    110
    38
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in Telluride!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went here to celebrate my husband's birthday. The service was out of this world and the views were amazing. All of our appetizers and entrees were delicious. The parmesan truffle fries were divine and the lamb was one of the best lamb dishes any of us ever had. The desserts were another story. Aside from the sticky cake, the rest were nothing to rave about. Drinks were excellent as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adolphin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Food quality has gone downhill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Been here many times over the last 5 years. It is a must do while in Telluride. If you are short on time or money just visit the bar during happen hour, it's well worth it. The best view of the mountains. Tonight we went there again for dinner in the dining room. Immaculate service as always but my pork chop was dry and over cooked although I asked for pink in the middle. My husband's veal scaloppine was not as good as we remembered. The cream of corn soup and truffle fries were excellent. I hope this is an isolated incidence and the food will be better the next time we are there. Truly one of our favorite restaurants in Telluride. Wouldn't wanna stop going there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bar at Allred's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were going to skip dinner at Allred's due to the cost, but a local in town encouraged us to go to the bar for dinner - "best deal in town" she said. And no joke they have a very nice and reasonably price bar menu. The view from the restaurant and bar is unsurpassed and we enjoyed a pleasant meal and drinks watching the sun set on the mountains. Mr. Allred even chatted with us and kissed the hands of the ladies - very charming. You can also order off the dining room menu in the bar which my wife did and she raved about the veal scallopini - our salmon BLT and hamburger were very good as well. The bar area only has a few tables so get there early if you want to catch the sunset. Whatever your budget allocate some of it to Allred's when you visit Telluride.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buzzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning view and more...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent service, delicious meal and good wine. Back to the view... It ain't gonna get much better than this. Take the ( free)
gondola up to Allred's for a special occasion, or just to hear the excellent piano player and have a drink.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ERG0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allred's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Allred's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing