We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, but #28 is noisy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cimarron Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cimarron Lodge
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, but #28 is noisy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

First trip to Telluride mid-March 2011. Cimarron lodge is CLOSE to lift, ticket office, and rentals. Ski-in, ski-out...PERFECT. Nice, clean, but not fancy. If you are looking for mahogany and marble this is not for you. Hot tub was nice.

The only drawback to our unit (#28) was that is was right above a noisy bar, with loud music, singing, and partying. If you want quiet in the evenings, DON"T stay in #28.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank widad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you of your review of condo 28 at Cimarron Lodge. We agree with you on all points, please be aware the Cimarron Lodge 28 is no longer doing vacation rentals, so the condos available are not directly above the Ski Patrol lounge, which can get a little rowdy from time to time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

What a great vacation rental we stayed in. Close to everything in town. We didn't need to use our car once why we were in Telluride because we could walk to everything within a few minutes. Also the building must have just been remodeled beacuse the exterior looked brand new. From our unit we could see the mountains from the living room and we could hear the San Miguel river going by from the 2nd bedroom. Would be a great place to come for skiing as well because the lift was right outside our front door. Our unit was 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths so we had plenty of room. We rented from a private owner and they were very responsive to our needs as well before we arrived. I think our unit was 17.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reorealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2009

We stayed in Unit 19. The pricing of this property was high compared with others we looked at but the amenities did not reflect the additional cost. It was ski-in/ski-out, but other than that, I would not recommend it. The condo is oldish, tired looking and in need of an overhaul. Some fresh paint had recently been applied, but there was blue masking tape left all over the place. The condo was not properly advertised -- it said "two bedrooms plus loft" when in fact the upstairs "bedroom" (in reality a loft) was open to the main floor (and thus to the noise associated with early risers and late bed-goers) and the "loft" was wholly contained within the downstairs bedroom. There was no clock in the upstairs bedroom. The complex as a whole is in terrible shape although it is evident that some refurbishment is taking place. The hot tub/spa is old and dirty-looking so we did not use it (and this was one of the amenities we wanted). I wish we'd paid less and stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of Cimarron Lodge 19. There have been a lot of changes at Cimarron Lodge since your stay! The exterior of the building has been completely updated. The complex now has two brand new hot tubs that are located outside. As for condo 19, we are no longer renting that particular condo for vacation rentals. When booking, please ask for the condo rating. The higher the rating the nicer the interior of the condo will be..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Cimarron Lodge while visiting Telluride on a ski trip. We booked our trip through Expedia and according to their description of the room (one bedroom condo) we would have a slopeside view, full kitchen, and possibly a fireplace. Well when we arrived the room was not what we had expected. We had a kitchenette. No stove, and only a small refridgerator, an old microwave, but at least we had one. We had picked this condo because it promised a kitchen. (We try to save money cooking in) I did manage to find a hot plate and an electric skillet in the cupboard. We managed to get by all week with these items, however, it was extremely difficult. The heating in the room was poor as well. If we were watching tv in the sitting room we were warm, but as we went down the hall towards the bath or bedroom, it was frigid. I would not stay at this resort again. We have stayed in many condos while traveling out West and they have just been more like home. We did not have a slopeside view, matter of fact, we didn't really have a view at all. And the closest thing to a fireplace, was a radiator type heater that was portable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skier2Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara F, Manager at Cimarron Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
We are sorry to hear there was a mix up in your booking. It sounds like you were in condo 52, which is a one bedroom with a kitchenette. For this complex, that is the exception, not the rule. Other than #52 and two hotel-style rooms, each condo has a full kitchen and a few have gas fireplaces. We hope you will give us another try and so we can find a place that better suits your needs. One other positivie is that the complex has recently had a complete face lift and installed two new outdoor hot tubs. We think you will be pleasantly surprised by the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed at Cimarron Lodge the week of the Brews and Blues Festival in Telluride, Colorado. We rented a two bedroom condo which overlooked one of the ski trails and shared this lovely place with another couple from our hometown.

The Lodge is on the outskirts of town and has a gorgeous view of the mountains. The Goose bus comes right in front of the Lodge every 15 minutes giving you a ride into town and the park area where the Blues Festival took place. Such a nice convenience!

Our unit was perfect for two couples! The master bedroom and bath were upstairs and the downstairs had the spare bedroom, bath, kitchen, living room, and a large dining room table. We prepared our breakfasts every morning (saving money) and enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the evenings prior to going out for dinner.

Cimarron Lodge is the perfect place to stay while visiting Telluride. Clark's Grocery is nearby where you can mail letters, get groceries, fresh homeade coffee, newspapers, etc. We hope to return here again and rent from this same owner.

Thanks to the owners of this unit at Cimarron Lodge for sharing their "piece of heaven" with us for a week. We WILL be back!!!

Marietta, GA

  • Liked — Location and condo layout plan
  • Disliked — There was nothing that we disliked about this location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Marietta069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Just got back from Telluride for the Fall Foliage. Stayed in Cimarron Lodge and found it perfect. Could literally watch the fall colors from our private balcony overlooking the ski resort!

The condo itself was clean, roomy, and decorated perfectly to compliment the mountain setting. Just right for a mountain town such as Telluride.

The best part of all we never had to use our car for anything. Everything in Telluride was close enough that we could walk to it and even if we were a bit tired we could just catch the Galloping Goose shuttle right outside. We only took that once but it was convenient and free.

We wil definitely try this place again this winter. It is right at the base of the ski runs and has to be the perfect location for a ski trip.

  • Liked — Roomy, Comfortable, Location
  • Disliked — That we could not stay longer.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

We had a great trip to Telluride last March and stayed in an absolutely wonderful condo right at the base of lift 7. The condo we stayed in was Cimarron Lodge unit #17.

It was clean, comfortable and inviting and has to be one of the very closest condos to a lift anywhere in Telluride. The beds were incrediblyt comfortable. And the deck off the master bedroom looked right out over the runs! WOW!!!

It really was a great location because we could walk anywhere in town in 5 -10 minutes. We literally never pulled our car out of the garage the entire week.

Cimarron Lodge also had a ski shop with rentals right down stairs from Cimarron #17, a Fitness Center, and a coffee breakfast window with GREAT breakfast burritos. They also had a Telluride ticket office right in the Lodge as well.

We will definitely be back to Telluride and Cimarron Lodge #17 again. We had a great vacation!

  • Liked — LOCATION! True Blue Ski-in Ski-out
  • Disliked — We had a great trip! Hard to say anything bad.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank skyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.5 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cimarron Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron Lodge

Property: Cimarron Lodge
Address: 300 South Mahoney, Telluride, CO 81435 (Formerly ResortQuest Cimarron Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cimarron Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of lift 7, Cimarron Lodge offers one of the best locations for your Telluride vacation. This large complex includes underground parking, two common outdoor hot tubs, and several on-site businesses, such as ski rental, coffee window, and hair salon. Accommodations range from simple hotel rooms to a luxury four-bedroom condo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cimarron Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Cimarron Hotel Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing