We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Thrill ride with history.

On a whim, we decided to go on an off road adventure. It was our good fortune to find Dave who on... read more

Reviewed October 22, 2018
williamdR7875HL
Awesome Jeep Tour

Great ride, thoughtful history, awesome stories of the past & felt secure with Dave’s Jeep travel... read more

Reviewed August 4, 2018
callines
,
Tucson, Arizona
via mobile
Read all 33 reviews
  
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
31
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
31
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imogene pass half day trip great trip surplus stories military vehicle ouray blankets driver mines jeep feet adventure knowledge ride safety
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 33 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2017

My husband and I took the tour up Imogene Pass - it was amazing! Clay, our driver, shared some fascinating stories about the mining community on the mountain. The views were INCREDIBLE. And the ride was a ton of fun!! We had such a great time - I am so glad we chose to do this. It was an awesome way to celebrate my hubby's birthday. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Make sure you bring: sunscreen, a jacket, some water AND elevation sickness pills if you have a problem with that. There is a porta-potty at the top for bathroom breaks.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

We had a wonderful morning with Clay as our driver and story teller on Black Bear Falls. He is a experience driver who made us feel safe on the dangerous steps and for that matter the whole tour. He is very knowledgeable of the area . Would recommend this trip to anyone who loves the beauty of nature and adventure. We were picked up at our Hotel at 8 am as promised and dropped off at the end. We had the option to stay in the town of Telluride if we choose to for lunch

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank peggy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Clay took us on a grand.full day tour over two passes (Imogene and Ophir). He shared great stories of the local history, and drove us safely over tight mountain trails. His knowledge of the mountains and the mines was stellar. His six-wheeled Swiss troop carrier handled the rocky trails with smooth steadiness. We highly recommend a tour with Clay.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank W8807FWjohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016

We experienced a full day of the extreme roads and incredible scenery that take the adventurer into mining ghost towns and tundra of the San Juan Mountains. This was our first 4 X 4 experience enhanced by Dave's story telling about the history of mining operations and the performance capabilities of the refurbished Swiss military ambulance. There was no rock that vehicle couldn't negotiate! Dave's concern with personal safety did not conflict with providing more excitement than we'd experienced in years. We were picked up 2 minutes from Ridgway State Park and felt we got incredible value during our customized tour to Animas Fork.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016

After hiking 2 straight days our legs were ready for a rest, and this was a great option! They picked us up at our hotel and gave us a great tour. The driver was very talkative and shared a bunch of Telluride history, I would definitely recommend it to anyone!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews