We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular day out in the mountains”

Dave's Mountain Tours
Reviewed November 21, 2013

If you want to experience a bit of Colorado history, and see some spectacular vistas en route, you can't go past Dave's Mountain Tours in Telluride. Our excellent and very experienced tour guide, Clay, picked us up in the morning in an ex-Swiss army 4WD vehicle, and this somewhat ungainly looking contraption proved to be the most amazingly capable machine I've ever been off road in. Our tour took us up to the snowline, above the old Tomboy mining area ruins, which was a fascinating place to explore, especially after reading 'Tomboy Bride', an eye-opening book about a young woman who lived at the mine in 1900. Ample time was allowed for photography and a bit of walkabout, and Clay was happy to answer our many questions. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2013
3  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"imogene pass"
in 12 reviews
"full day tour"
in 2 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 2 reviews
"clay"
in 12 reviews
"surplus"
in 3 reviews
"stories"
in 5 reviews
"military"
in 4 reviews
"swiss"
in 4 reviews
"passes"
in 3 reviews
"wheeled"
in 3 reviews
"vehicle"
in 11 reviews
"ouray"
in 3 reviews
"driver"
in 6 reviews
"blankets"
in 5 reviews
"mines"
in 3 reviews
"jeep"
in 3 reviews
Filter

30 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

The views are great from the ground in Telluride, but they're even better at higher altitudes. If you've got a day in the San Juans and hiking/climbing to the top of a something isn't on your agenda, make sure a 4WD trip is. Clay is an excellent guide with a real sense of adventure, and having done this for 20+ years, he knows ALL of the back roads. We spent an entire day in the mountains and even with a few of the biggest-name passes closed (very early and unexpectedly) for the season, Clay was able to improvise an experience that was nothing short of spectacular. Not to mention fun - he's highly knowledgeable and a great guy to hang around with. We fully plan on touring with this great company again to tackle Black Bear when we return!

Hints to maximize the fun: if you're game, try to reserve a full day tour outside of the busy season, and pack a lunch so you don't have to stop!

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank RhondaFiurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Leaving the Arizona heat for the cool mountains of Colorado was great fun. Went on the 1/2 day Imogene pass tour with Dave (new owner). At over 13,000 feet, it was very cool (the tour and the weather). Interesting history was shared by Dave. We would recommend this highly. Have a couple of suggestions Dave. Fix the exhaust odor noted in back of the vehicle and maybe carry some water bottles to offer customers.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank mugzk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2015
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Mountain Tours also viewed

 

Been to Dave's Mountain Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing