We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rev - CLOSED

Rev
Price range: $12 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mountain Village Core
Transit: Hotel Madeline Telluride
Description: Located in the heart of Mountain Village, Rev is Southwest Colorado's only AAA 4 Diamond Dining experience. Begin at the trendy Rev bar and let the night unfold into the elegant dining room overlooking the Mountain Village ice rink. Our inspired farm to table seasonal menu and a seductive atmosphere, make Rev the "can't miss" on any visit to Telluride.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

While there isn't bad restaurants In Telluride Colorado. Rev truly took us by surprise. The ability to layer flavors with texture was such a nice surprise to the pallet. Chef Bud Thomas has truly moved in on this restaurant and revived it to something fantastic. He is humble and willing to talk to the Patrons. He is a fresh face in Telluride, and an exciting one at that! Should your travels take you to Telluride anytime soon, you must make sure you put Rev at the hotel Madeline on your to do list as far as having a wonderful meal. Should you want something more casual, chef Bud Thomas also cooks for Smak bar attached to Rev. Great for Après ski or lunch. Very family friendly, with an easy menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debfreezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    9
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Bud" in Telluride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

If your going to eat out in "Telluride" then take the 13 minute ride to Mountain Village. Do so at about dusk and experience serenity (turn off the cell phone) as you climb and then descend into the most beautiful view in North America.

There are a number of restaurants geared toward tourists in town and several of them are good. Having had the good fortune of eating at all of them, none are as good as "Rev." Ingredients - they picked it within hours, attention to detail - excellent, personal and sophisticated, laid back but with intensity as expected from the coasts. If you are looking for a great view, go elsewhere, but for good food - go here. Enjoy; raise your glasses. Do so for the Chef (and his staff) - his name is Bud - he "has your back" in presentation, quality and the details - not your typical "mountain town" experience. Try, no rather, it is a "must" the gaspaccio - you won't find better anywhere. At 10000 feet and 1100 miles from the coast, the fish is sumptuous, the lamb local and the crab cakes - chow down.
I say "cheers" to this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ihvurcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place right in Mountain Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Rev has great food, good drinks, and wonderful service. My lamb was good and my wife's fish was fantastic. For sure worth a stop while in Telluride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dman310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Soft Shell Crab and Cocktail? Yes please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have dined at Rev's sister restaurant, Smak, more than a few times during visits and every time I walk away thoroughly impressed and wanting to sample more of their food. This time I wanted to try Rev as I hadn't eaten there in over a year. It was time I checked it out again.

Located in Mountain Village, Rev is a short gondola ride from the Town of Telluride. Sometimes it gets lost in the shuffle of other Telluride restaurants, but it is definitely a high-quality experience that ranks alongside Telluride's top eateries. I stopped in for a sunset concert warm-up on a Wednesday evening and had the crab and martini special for $18. Some drinks cost that much alone in this town, so I was eager to grab a bite and a drink for that price.

The chef prepared an excellent soft shell crab that was just the right amount of crisp on the outside with perfect amount of tender on the inside. The crab was delectable and served with chorizo, sweet corn and a roasted tomato aioli that was drizzled about and simply delicious! The Pinna Caliente is a solid cocktail choice mixed with tequila and jalapeno infusion that was both fresh and spicy. It worked really well with this dish and complimented the flavors nicely.

In short, this was a great meal with fair prices and quality service. I will definitely eat here again and enjoyed the experience thoroughly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Soft Shell Crab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We re-visited REV after noting an early bird special offering their soft shell crab appetizer (drink and app for $18). To say that it was delicious is an understatement! We first went last week and tried it. We were so impressed that we went back again and it won't be our last trip. The service was also very friendly and helpful. Outstanding new place in Telluride!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rev also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing