We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Yummy Mexican in Telluride”
Review of La Cocina de Luz

La Cocina de Luz
Ranked #16 of 65 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Description: La Cocina de Luz is a counter service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with whole foods/organic style Mexican cuisine. We also provide margaritas, beer and wine, fresh juices, full espresso/coffee service and handmade ice cream. The ambience is casual, festive and family friendly. We have a large patio with gardens and fountains that we share with Caravan middle eastern foods. We accept visa and mastercard!
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Yummy Mexican in Telluride”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ate here for lunch one day and really enjoyed the food. The tacos are a little bit smaller than we thought they would be, but they make up for their size in flavor! You can tell the ingredients are good quality. Watch out for the salsa though...it's pretty spicy! The weather was beautiful that day, and we were able to sit on the outside patio which was nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscoveringParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    125
    37
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
“hmmm gut”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

best food in T-ride,I will go there as soon aS i RETURN FOR SOME powdah snow !!!wELL NEED i SAY MORE¿cATHERINE IS THERE and will be your waitress and she will ride up to the front door on a horse

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuncanSkiinstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fulfilling Breakfast but Not Worth the $”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

You won't leave this place hungry but your wallet will definitely be a bit lighter! Not sure we'd suggest $40+ for a breakfast for two to anyone, especially considering we sat at a picnic table without being waited on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank juli66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Large menu, good red chile sauce and friendly service.”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This Mexican food restaurant offers a lot of choices and friendly counter service. And the choice of side dishes is exceptional. But I am picky about my Mexican food: I thought the rellenos had too much batter and too much cheese while the green corn tamales were a little too sweet. on the positive side, the mixed vegetable side was better than you would get in almost any restaurant, Mexican or not.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hermosaDurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot in Telluride with outdoor seating.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

All the food is excellent. The staff are knowledgeable about gluten fee options. The carne asada tacos are great and the nachos are well worth the extra calories! And to top it off have a Margarita... Can't wait to visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Luz also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing