We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Mexican Fast food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cocina de Luz

La Cocina de Luz
Ranked #15 of 63 Restaurants in Telluride
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Cocina de Luz is a counter service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with whole foods/organic style Mexican cuisine. We also provide margaritas, beer and wine, fresh juices, full espresso/coffee service and handmade ice cream. The ambience is casual, festive and family friendly. We have a large patio with gardens and fountains that we share with Caravan middle eastern foods. We accept visa and mastercard!
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basic Mexican Fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

La Concina De Luz is basic mexicanish. On September 14, I decided to try the special because I had never been there before. I feel the specials often show the best a restaurant has to offer. I stood in line and ordered then sat and waited. They have a big bowl of chips set out with salsa and fixings to be enjoyed while you wait. The problem was, there were children, and adults alike using there hands to serve chips. Instead of the thongs that were on the side of the bowl. No sneeze guard and folks using their hands to serve themselves. I decided to pass and I am not a germ freak. I just do not want to eat after strangers. The food arrived nice and hot and well displayed. It was perfectly portioned and looked delightful. The taste however was pretty bland and basic. Something you would get at any fastfood mexican restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    117
    37
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

What a great find! Our family was looking for a reasonably priced, quick and casual dinner following a day at the Telluride Blues & Brews Festival, and our expectations were surpassed at La Cocina de Luz. The freshness and quality were evident from the outset, as we helped ourselves to unlimited chips and salsa. The blue and yellow corn tortilla chips had a texture and taste like they'd been homemade that day, as did the salsa - some of the best I've had in a long time. Ditto for the house-made guacamole. The chicken flauta appetizers were hot, crisp and savory, and my cheese enchiladas were outstanding. Most entrees offer a choice of two sides among several options, including whole-grain Spanish rice (nice to have a healthier choice than just plain white) and garlic-grilled vegetables. We also tried the homemade horchata, which was equally full of flavor and so obviously fresh.

Prices here, while not dirt-cheap, are reasonable for Telluride, and are kept low by ordering at the counter (rather than table service) and patrons being encouraged to bus their own tables. Nonetheless, service was fast (food is brought to your table) and the atmosphere is as cozy and pleasant as a full-service cafe. We would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

We came here for lunch. Order your meal at the counter & it is delivered to your table. Fabulous free chips & salsa bar. Shared the Queso Fundido which we couldn't finish, but it was quite yummy! Had the vegan plate & hubby had tacos. Food fresh & delicious! Service friendly. Very much enjoyed!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pattie1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food for what was still available”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I arrived at this restaurant later in the evening, around 8:30, and went to order the posole, only there was no more. Instead, my mom and I ordered the vegan plate ($12). Since this vegan plate was to also come with posole and since there was none to be had, I feel like we should have gotten a discount on the meals, but we did not.

Otherwise, the food itself was fantastic and the vegan plate a great combination of flavors for someone that does not enjoy Mexican one bit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
340 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Our best dinner stop in town...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

A couple of locals directed us here, that's always a good sign. Walk up to the counter to order, grab a table and some free chips and salsa. The fish tacos were excellent as were the 3 other menu items we ordered. The guacamole was fresh and tasty. Lisa behind the counter and John working the tables were very helpful with our picky children. Good people, good food, a great stop for Mexican.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Luz also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina de Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing