We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yumilicious food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hongas - CLOSED

Hongas
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Spruce Street
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
184 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Yumilicious food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Loved this restaurant! And for two longtime confirmed sushi-lovers (over 35 years of eating sushi around the world!), we really enjoyed our experience at Hongas sushi bar, and the little touches that made the food their own.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneYost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    48
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I ordered the bento box, which was a wonderful little sampler and great value. Comfortable atmosphere. Service started out super friendly, but dwindled as meal went on. A little pricey for the menu, but hey....it's Telluride!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great find in Telluride for vegans and veggie folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I are vegan. I did read the other reviews of this restaurant and cannot comment on the sushi. It is a large part of the menu but we do not eat fish. However, we had the house salad (an unusual dressing that was good), a starter of Beandedok ( three Korean mungbean pancakes - excellent), and an entree of blackened tofu with vegetables in a soy-honey glaze. Every part of this meal was wonderful. Fresh ingredients cooked just right. Not sure how they do the blackened tofu but it is the best I have ever had. Period. It was even written up in the New York Times! The service was perfect, and helped us out by suggesting we split the entree as it is a larger portion. She was right. We cannot say anything about the other entrees, but our meal was a top five.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasPBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best MOJITOS in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was our first time to this restaurant, the sushi was good the service excellent, the decor pretty nice... the server suggested the Mojitos, we order the first round and then we finished 4 more rounds it was so good!! we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RPioP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a rehearsal dinner in the basement bar. Nice lounge areas. The appetizers they served were very good. Best egg rolls. Crab stuffed spring roll. Steak lettuce wraps. Good drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank readytotravelanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hongas also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing