We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Steak, wine and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheridan New Chop House

Sheridan New Chop House
233 W Colorado Ave, Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sheridan New Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 76 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Oak Street
Transit: From Gondola Station: Walk straight up Oak Street through Elks park and we are straight ahead, right next to the clock tower. Galloping Goose Bus Station: We are 20 feet from the Courthouse Galloping Goose bus stop. Galloping Goose Bus Station: We are 20 feet from the Courthouse Galloping Goose bus stop.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Steak, wine and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had the porterhouse steak which was very tasty. Didn't care for the green peppercorn sauce, it didn't have much flavor. The steak came with a whole head of roasted garlic, sweet and yummy. Truffle fries and creme brûlée to die for. Service was kind of spotty. The front desk was very friendly while our waitress was very snooty as if she was doing us a favor. Love the ambience and deco. Will ask for another server next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    99
    33
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great bar scene, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved the bar; the bar tender (I believe his name is Foster) was great- the food however, just average (the romaine salad, which I expected to be sort of Caesar-is carried both anchovies AND capers- please! can someone say "TWO" much sodium!! (one or the other would have been preferred)- yet I would return for the great service and wine-by-the-glass choices served up by Foster.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A New Telluride Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The New Sheridan Chop House is pretty much the only game in town for serious meat eaters. Luckily, it doesn't disappoint. The menu offers the standard complement of properly-cooked steaks (plus a tasty dry-aged bison ribeye), in addition contemporary mountain preparations of fish, game, and other proteins. Appetizers run the gamut from salads and steakhouse favorites to more innovative dishes like a lox-tasting tea-smoked salmon with microgreens that perplexed on a recent visit. You want oysters? They've got 'em--although I wonder why anyone would want an oyster at 8,700 feet.

While I have never considered the cuisine at The Chop House to be cutting edge, I hear that the proprietor and chef recently traveled to New York to gather some ideas to bring back to Telluride. We sampled the new menu just a couple of days after it debuted, so I can forgive the trespass of an overcooked Danny Meyer-style tuna burger. Yet somehow, to eat foo-foo food at the New Sheridan is to miss the point. The best evenings there are boozy and beefy and, naturally, it doesn't come cheap. The room is sexier than most in town, the bar more adept, and the service a notch more responsive than many places around town. Telluride's Victorian opulence is most effectively celebrated with a leisurely dinner at The New Sheridan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pretty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Overall pretty good, albeit a little expensive for what you get. The filet mignon was not cooked evenly (ordered medium and it was well done in parts). Salads were good, wine bar is great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gasman5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
“Fantastic Overall Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant is absolutely wonderful and likely surpasses the best NYC steakhouses that I've eaten in. Low-key, but extremely attentive staff makes it a comfortable place for friends and families alike. Went with my wife on 5-18-13 for the first time and can go on-and-on-. Warmly greeted, extensive wine selection, soup, salad and steaks done to perfection. Desert was amazing and left with a feeling that I wished this place was closer to where I live back east.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheridan New Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Sheridan New Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing