We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner”
Review of Rustico Ristorante

Rustico Ristorante
Ranked #12 of 65 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
San Mateo, CA
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Italian cuisine is our favorite. In the San Francisco Bay Area there are plenty of excellent choices and we always compare any restaurant to those in SF. Rustico Ristorante was excellent. This is a huge restaurant! We got a table for two in the main dining area back by the fire place. It was a cool September night and the fire was lite. The atmosphere in the main dining area reminded us of many places in Italy....fireplace with copper pots hanging on the mantel, stone wall, open kitchen, pizza oven. On to the food and service.

1) Our waiter was friendly and efficient. My husband asked for a his preference on two different wines and he took time to explain why one over the other.
2) Lots of choices on the menu. Since we were on the road and hadn't had our pasta fix for 10 days, we both went with the Rustico pasta. We shared a good size house salad first ... fresh and wonderful dressing. The pasta was cooked perfectly al dente and the sausage was very flavorful. We did think $21.95 for the pasta was a bit overpriced...but we were on vacation and really enjoyed it.
3) What could use improvement is their bread.
4) We passed on dolci, but the waiter wanted us to try their gelato on the house....which they make there. Very nice of him. It was good, but I've had better.

We would return again if we are in Telluride.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MKtravelers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    98
    62
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good basic Italian food”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

People love going here for the outdoor experience. We, however, ate inside the night that we went and enjoyed it. The Rustico pasta was good, using high quality sausage. The Rustico pizza (yes, that's its name) was outstanding! Really thin crust with just the right amount of toppings.The leftovers were even good the next day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boston59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must Try Italian in Telluride”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rustico is the very first restaurant I ever tried in Telluride and in several visits over the years to the town, it is the one restaurant I always return to. You can visit for lunch and still get in a good half-day of bike riding or skiing, or you can visit for dinner and top off a day of the same.. it is casual and fun, but the food and wine are serious and the owners are the real deal - Italian to the core. I only wish that I had a reliable Italian Ristorante like this in my neihgborhood at home. I would be a regular and I suggest you do the same at Rustico. Outstanding.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceR259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, FL
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor dining experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If the weather cooperates, eat outdoors on their patio under the stars with a view of the mountains to the north. The service was excellent. We were there with a large group (10), and our waiter remembered everyone's orders without writing them down. He even remembered our convoluted instructions for dividing up the checks. The waitstaff was very professional. The food was classic Italian, but not where every dish is identically smothered in tomato sauce and cheese. The pastas, risottos, and veal entrees we ordered were each cooked to perfection, allowing the flavor of each specialty to shine. Great food, excellent wine, and perfect service. A wonderful summer evening!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Really good food, good atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a late lunch with our daughter and son-in-law during the Jazz Festival. The power had been out in town, but this place had managed to stay open because they had a wood-fired pizza oven. We ate outside shaded by umbrellas. The food and service were excellent; a wonderful respite!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustico Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Rustico Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing