We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic anniversary dinner”
Review of 221 South Oak

221 South Oak
Reserve with OpenTable
221 South Oak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 65 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pacific St
Description: 221 is set in a tastefully refurbished historic home nestled in the trees on South Oak Street, just steps from the Gondola. For years, 221 South Oak has been renowned for its intimate atmosphere, incredible food, extensive wine list, friendly service and uncompromising quality. Chef/Owner Eliza serves cuisine classified as Modern Bistro with an eclectic blend of flavors and styles. A mélange of seafood, game and beef, with accompaniments that range from Deep South to Calypso to Classical French to Californian Cuisine to Creole—we call it Eliza’s cooking.221 Offers Off-site Catering You're accustomed to great food at the restaurant, now experience it in your home. Whether it's a dinner party, quiet luncheon or drinks and nibbles, we're here for you. If you're lacking space for a large party, you may rent out 221. A great space for rehearsal dinners, family reunions, and holiday parties.
Breckenridge, Colorado, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Romantic anniversary dinner”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved the small , intimate setting the 221 provides. The food was good and the service excellent. They had a huge wine list. We loved the watermelon salad. I've had better food but theirs was acceptable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    90
    35
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Artisan Food in a Romantic Setting”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great place for foodies, lovers and close friends. The food is excellent (if sometimes over-ambitious), service friendly and ambiance romantic and intimate. Great place for a special meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RMLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

On Tuesday they got a great 2 for 1 entrée special. On Wednesday they have a great happy hour specials that last the entire night. Both meals were delicious, well prepared and interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We walked to this restaurant three times before we hit it when it was open. We really just wanted to have Sunday Brunch there but the Sunday that we were in town, they were closed for Sunday Brunch for some reason. The ambience is nice. The food was good but I don't know if it was good enough to demand the prices that were asked. I had the Ski in Ski Stout Marinated Bison New York Strip Haricots Vert, Mushrooms and Pecans with Sweet Potato Mash and Huckleberry Port Reduction for $37
Now don't get me wrong, I have eaten at some fine restaurants in my life and I don't mind spending good money for a fine meal on occasion, but if I'm spending that much money on a plate it should be perfect! Despite the artistic presentation, the huckleberry port reduction overpowered the whole dish. On a positive note, the beet salad with arugula and goat cheese was delicious and the Cherry Bread Pudding Pecan Streusel, Cinnamon Ice Cream and Candied Ginger (I think ours was blueberry) was very good as well.
Long story short, it was a nice experience but given that the food doesn't match up to the prices, I wouldn't eat there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go on Tuesday Night”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tuesday night is 2 for 1 entrees at 221. That is the only night I would consider eating here. $30 entrees... not worth it. $15 entrees ok if just for the comfortable ambiance and good service. The menu is an impressively written novel of buzz words and foodie lingo. Corn, Bacon, and Tomato Reduction (yes in all caps) means you cook tomato with bacon fat add some corn than send it through a blender. Then you add Pumpkin Seed Puree (which is green), why bother? Haricot Verts is french for green beans. The menu is full of such entries. What it all means is that after 3 or 4 bites you have a unrecognizable mass of muddled flavors. WAY too much going on in these plates. Cocktails where fine, but for $11 do I really need that much ice?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 221 South Oak also viewed

 

Been to 221 South Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing