We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun jeep trip for our daughter's wedding party”
Review of Telluride Outside

Telluride Outside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1984, Telluride Outside has been the premier guide service in Southwest Colorado. We offer six exciting adventures: fly fishing, snowmobile, 4-WD, whitewater rafting, stand up paddle board and photography tours.
Krum, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun jeep trip for our daughter's wedding party”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Telluride Outside is the best. We booked the Imogene Pass jeep trip for our daughter's wedding party and everyone on the trip loved it. The trip was a half day to Imogene and Tomboy Mine in the large jeeps with covered seating. The company offers blankets and rain ponchos to keep everyone dry. It rained almost the entire afternoon (as it always does this time of year in Colorado) but this didn't spoil the kids fun. The photos the kids took on the trip were incredible.
The company is easy to work with and prompt to respond to inquiries when you are ready to book your trip. The drivers are knowledgeable, fun and genuine.
Contact John Duncan if you want to hear more about Telluride Outside- you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolalaminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have traveled to Telluride many times, and twice we have used Telluride Outside for 4x4 tours. The staff have always been helpful, courteous, and very knowledgeable of the area. Our 4x4 tours have included the old mining town of Tomboy, Imogene Pass, Ophir Pass, and the very exciting Black Bear Pass. On both tours we have been fortunate to have Peter "Roma" Waldor as our driver. His knowledge and pure love of the area is infectious. He involved our children (10 & 7) before we even boarded the open air vehicle, and they continue to wave and call out to him when we see him around town. This is the company to use and Roma is your man!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Black Bear summer jeep tour.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Awesome jeep tour! Highly recommend. Here's why: Dave picked us up, and dropped us off at our condo. He drives a European Pinzgauer all terrain military utility vehicle that is furnished for commercial use. Padded seats, and if you are inclined, you can stand up for a better view. You can hold onto sturdy steel beams that frame the cover he uses for inclement weather. Dave is a longtime resident and knows the people and area well, so the running commentary was very informative and fun. Several stops along the way were timely and very scenic, giving us the oppurtunity for group photos.
So why Black Bear? Jeep trails apparently are rated on difficulty from class 1 to class 5. Black Bear has a class 5 segment that has unsurpassed views of the San Juans as you descend into Telluride from the east side of the canyon. Lots of wild flowers in bloom, and two waterfalls. Much of the tour is above timberline, so lots of unrestricted viewing. Not for the feint of heart. But if you are up for the adventure, I can't imagine a better trail. I have young kids (preteens), and they loved it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank turnleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Up the Mountain with Dave”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I toured Colorado for our honeymoon, and Telluride was our favourite stop. We had originally booked another mountain tour online, but the concierge at the hotel suggested we switch to Dave instead - and he was definitely correct (while on the mountain we ran into the other tour, and we had more fun, traveled to more peaks, and learned more!

As we took the tour in August, we assumed we should wear summer clothes but Dave actually called the hotel the night before and gave us some suggestions regarding our clothes (long sleeves, layers, etc) that were appreciated. The truck (a pinsgauer?) was great to travel in an let us have 360 degree views of our surroundings. We went up to Imogen Pass and, as we were the only two on tour, were then able to drive with Dave to a few other peaks.

Dave was very amusing and did a great job of balancing his driving duties and his story-telling. He took pictures of us at the top of the mountain, but also suggested a few other stops that would make for great honeymoon pictures. We left the hotel around 8:30am and didn't return until 2pm or so, so it was a great day!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MommaScams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Fast Ride”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband, parents and I took a 2 hour snowmobile tour on 2 sleds. It was GREAT! We had snowmobiled in Lake Tahoe in the past and about all we got out of it was clothing that smelled like premix. Dave's is not the smoke train type of operation. There is plenty of space and many times you don't see a soul.
Scott was our tour guide. He picked us up promptly, provided information on the area and was a great guide. My husband choose to drive faster but you can go at your own pace especially in a small group.
The website is www.telluridetours.com but company is Dave's Mountain Tours. Price was quite fair also. The 2 hour tour took 4 hours and we covered about 32 miles. There was a beautiful open meadow to do "tricks" etc. We could see mountains in Utah, Wilson Peak, where bears scratch on an aspen tree and where lynx frequent the area. Greatest experience on a snowmobile thus far.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VanNesBlvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telluride Outside also viewed

 

Been to Telluride Outside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing