We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bear Creek Lodge RULES” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Bear Creek Lodge
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   135 San Joaquin Road, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bear Creek Lodge RULES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

WOW,
What a place the BCL is. We stayed here from 9-28 to 10-1 to enjoy the cool fall weather and aspen leaves changing and we were not disappointed. The Lodge is gorgeous and has EVERYTHING you need and more. We had Unit 305A which is a one bedroom lockout unit and can be a two or three bedroom if the other locked units are put to use as they are all connected.
The unit had a nice kitchen with nice appliances which we put to use as we made breakfast there every moring as well as a couple of dinners. Four nice bar-stools at the open bar area to the kitchen with upgraded marble counters. Nice dining table as well. The living room was large and comfortable with a nice gas fireplace. There is a small balcony off the living room which is nice to enjoy some fresh rocky mountain air in the evenings. The bedroom is a bit small but very functional and has a nice bathroom right outside the door. We used their nice gas grills located near the pool to cook some steaks one night and they were very nice. They have a heated pool as well as a nice hot tub as well. The lobby area is very nice with a large screen TV to relax and watch sports if you like. The staff were all very nice and took care of all our needs as one day our Internet did not work and they sent up a tech ASAP to fix. All in all this is an excellent facility with all the comforts of home with a nice Colorado ambiance. The mountain village where the resort is located is awesome as well and the old town is only a 20 minute gondola ride away.
Telluride and the Bear Creek Resort are hard to beat ANYWHERE else in Colorado and we will definitely be back to enjoy it again perhaps for ski season.

Room Tip: We loved unit 305 A as it is on the lobby level- No need for stairs or elevator~
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 290DavidD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to Review Bear Creek Lodge! We are so happy you had a great stay at the Lodge and in Telluride/Mt. Village! The Telluride area is so beautiful and and relaxing.

We look forward to your next trip....hopefully this winter for some fun on the slopes!

Kieffer Parrino - Bear Creek Lodge GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
43
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colliers, West Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great view of the mountains. The bathroom was excellent, great soaking tub and fantastic shower! We kept the windows open as there was no air conditioning but the room quickly cooled off. The staff was very helpful and even allowed us to use the shower after our trip on Black Bear Road, after we had checked out. Couldn't ask for better!

The only drawback is the restaurants are in town (although the hotel provides a shuttle) and they closed fairly early so we could only grab a pizza, and they don't deliver. However, the front desk provided someone to get our pizza and bring it to us. Overall a great experience and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whisperingnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Bear Creek Lodge guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bear Creek Lodge. We are so happy you enjoyed the Lodge and the unit you were staying in!

We look forward to your next stay at Bear Creek Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Telluride and Mountain Village Are hard to get to but once you get there you're in heaven. Beautiful mountain views surrounds you. Summertime activities such as white water rafting hiking biking and golf are all available to you. Beautiful weather bright sunny skies clean-air and western motiff town make the place excellent. A population of cowboys hippies and regular people make for pleasant atmosphere.
Their entertainment brings you back a few decades. Summer festivals are always sold out.
Dining room is more limited in the summer than in the winter but still offers a variety of foods, and there are good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Bear Creek Lodge guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bear Creek Lodge.

The Telluride area is magnificent and magical. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay at Bear Creek Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telluridecolorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Travel with a large group (family reunion) can be challenging, and through a friend, I learned of Bear Creek Lodge, Telluride, Colorado's best kept secret and biggest bang for the buck! I didn't think we could afford Penthouse unit 410, but we were amazed at how reasonable this huge, four bedroom four bath duplex was priced. Ten of us occupied this absolutely stunning unit with room to spare! The western sunset views from a full length balcony were breathtaking. The amenities were everything you'd expect from a five star hotel, but why squeeze into a small hotel room when you can have a condo as big as your house! The staff was beyond accommodating and there was something for everyone--pool, gym, internet, a private shuttle. Our family will be back and I hope our same unit number 410 is available!

Room Tip: The building is only four floors, with the luxury units on the top floor. The unit our family stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Bear Creek Lodge guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bear Creek Lodge. We are so happy you had a great reunion! Our 4 bedrooms are so spacious!

We look to your next visit.

Bear Creek Lodge Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Fairfield, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family stayed at Bear Creek Lodge from August 5-10 in 2013. We stayed in unit 411, which was ideal for a large family with children--like ours! We found the unit to be spacious and extremely clean. We absolutely loved the robes provided by the lodge--as a couple other rental homes we rented for other family members during the same time frame did not offer robes. All the Lodge staff was friendly and eager to help answer any questions we had. One of the best perks of the lodge is the shuttle service to the gondola. Thank you, Trevor for your hospitality and prompt service! We will definitely be back to BCL.

Room Tip: Use the Bear Creek Lodge website to view each condo and see floor plans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Bear Creek Lodge Guest,

Thanks you for taking the time to review Bear Creek Lodge. We are so excited you had a great stay!

I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After attending a conference in Telluride, my husband and I have not stopped encouraging our friends and family to visit this charming town. We were fortunate to have chosen to stay at the Bear Creek Lodge (302). The condo, decorated in a Texas theme, was a great place to relax. The kitchen with Bosch appliances was a surprise and a delight. A friendly staff, a tree house view, a never ending supply of coffee and tea in a beautiful lobby confirmed the we had made the right choice. We were delighted to find that we were within walking distance of The Market in Mountain Village. A short path behind the lodge leads down to the Village and the gondola (for those over 65, coming back up requires you to be physically fit) There was a phone near the gondola to call the hotel shuttle and we never had to wait more than five minutes. The balconies are small but both my husband and I could sit out in the morning, enjoying the view of the mountains and the cool, brisk air. The only disadvantage was the layout of the lodge. The bedrooms are located at the front of the lodge and several evenings, we were awakened by conversation outside our room. However, this was a minor detail and could be averted by shutting the windows and using a fan which was provided. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone visiting Telluride.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melsnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Billi,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bear Creek Lodge. The 4 bedrooms at the Lodge are quite spacious at 2300 square feet. We are so happy you and your family had a great stay. I will be sure to let Trevor know of your kind comments.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family stayed at Bear Creek Lodge (BCL) for 4 nights at the end of July/beginning of August in 2013. We stayed in room 308A. Overall, we had a wonderful time both at this property and in Telluride. Here is our review of the unit, property and staff.

The unit was very clean, had a great layout and came well stocked. We loved how the kitchen runs the length of the family room and faces west for enjoying beautiful sunsets and afternoon sun. The kitchen included full sized, newer appliances and came with dish cleaning and coffee essentials (this is such a nice perk as I often forget those materials). The unit was nicely decorated and came with extra towels and blankets. Room rating = A.

The property was perfect for our small family traveling with our 3 year old daughter. Common areas were always clean and nicely decorated in a theme appropriate for a moutain town. The staff maintained a container with cucumber water at the entrance for residents - my daughter is still asking for cucumber water. The property hosted a happy hour on Thursday with appetizers and a band. The pool area has two hot tubs and a fire pit. The location for a summer trip was ideal. We walked along a short path behind the property that takes you to the main road and, subsequently, the free gondola. This was the perfect short distance for a toddler. When we did use the free shuttle, it arrived very quickly and was a nice convenience. Property rating =A.

Lastly, the staff - I think I saved the best for last. Working for a company that highly values the customer experience, I can be pretty critical on customer service. The staff at BCL exceed my expectations. My positive experience started with a call to the property 3 weeks prior to our arrival. I read online that not all the properties had balconies. I called BCL and the gentlemen (I later discovered his name was Mesha (I hope I spelled that correctly!)) told me all the properties with balconies were booked. He told me that they would keep an eye out and if one became available, he would switch us. Much to my surprise at check-in, he had remembered my call and was able to move us to a room with a balcony. What an awesome surprise that took no additional effort on my part. We really appreciated his efforts - my daughter spent a lot of time on that balcony! Throughout the rest of our stay, the staff was friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Mary Frances checked us in and helped me with restaurant options. Trevor was our shuttle driver on several occasions. He was personable and pleasant, and provided us with a great recommendation for hiking. He remembered our daughter's name which was a huge hit for her. It was clear that customer service is not just an amenity but a priority at BCL. Kudos to the staff for making our stay that much more enjoyable. Staff rating =A+.

Yes, we would absolutely recommend this property! We hope to return this winter for skiing.

Room Tip: If you are visiting this property in the summer, I would recommend requesting a room with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieffer P, General Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to review Bear Creek Lodge. We are so excited you had a great stay and thank you for your detailed review and positive comments.

We pride ourselves on the 3 areas you described and I have shared this review with all of the staff to show that their hard work is paying off.

We look forward to your next visit to Bear Creek Lodge.

PS - I love that cucumber water as well...so refreshing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
2.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bear Creek Lodge
Address: 135 San Joaquin Road, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear Creek Lodge in Mountain Village is a great option for accommodations in Telluride. With 31 comfortable condos ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms in size, Bear Creek Lodge is perfect for your stay with your family or as a large group. This property is conveniently located with easy ski access to the Lower Village Bypass ski run via a semi-private lift. This Telluride property also offers a free shuttle for guests, making it easy to get anywhere in Mountain Village. Bear Creek Lodge also includes amenities such as a fitness center, free wireless Internet, free parking, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, outdoor heated pool and sauna. Each condo offers a gas fireplace in the living room and a fully updated kitchen with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Bear Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Telluride
Bear Creek Lodge Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing