We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Telluride
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Asheville
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

After checking out of a hideous condo we found refuge in this amazing hotel! We would love to stay again and enjoy the great hot tub outside, and luxurious accomodations just a short few blocks from skiing and town! The front desk was very helpful and courteous, the chef (Eric) was so nice and made us some delicious food! and the bartender (Will) made our stay very special! We loved our time spent at this wonderful hotel and can't wait to return and relax and enjoy the great staff!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 1funtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    126
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
155
275
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

The Hotel Telluride fits perfectly with the amazing scenery of Telluride. The lodge-like decor had many upscale features. Our king-size room was large, comfortable and very clean. The view outside of our windows and small porch included ski trails on the snow-covered San Juan mountains. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to accomodate your every need. Our stay included complimentary hot breakfasts each morning, hot spiced cider every afternoon, cookies each evening and Starbucks coffee all day long. We would definitly stay here again!

  • Liked — grerat service
  • Disliked — we liked everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank strongfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2006

The Hotel Telluride is a beautiful proprety set in the majestic San Juan mountain range. As a frequent business traveler I stay at The Hotel Telluride on a regular basis and am always made to feel as if I'm entering my own home. From the friendly, attentive staff to the fluffiest omelettes, The Hotel Telluride is a wonderful expierience that should be enjoyed by all.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AF42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

We felt at home at this property from the moment we checked in. Not only is it luxurious, the staff is downright Colorado real and ready to help you get whatever you want done, done right. The friendly DNA of the people and Telluride as a whole translate into happy guests, perhaps being more sociable than they would back in the big city. For us, the gorgeous lobby became almost sort of a hub between goings on in town and our beautiful room. Don't be surprised if you make friends here, both with the staff and fellow guests. This is a welcome counterpoint to nose in the air Aspen.

  • Liked — Down to earth luxury in a stunning setting.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Can't go wrong!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bachorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2006

The previous Tripadvisor postings made us a little nervous about our getaway to Hotel Telluride coupled with the fact that the Hotel rooms are being offered for sale as deeded condominiums which owners may use up to 60 days anually. Our experience would lead us to believe the conversion to Condominiums will have little impact on the overall guest experience. Hotel Telluride is beautifully conceived and decorated though I would say the guest rooms (we had a King Deluxe) were a little sparse in their decor. Our room functioned nicely, the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the touch of Starbucks coffee and Aveda toiletries. The room was very quiet considering the room adjacent to us had a family with three children and we didn't hear any noise. Our only real complaint about the room was the small shared balcony with our neighbors which made it difficult to sit outside quietly soaking in the view. Our room on the third floor had a decent view overlooking the town though not spectacular. The staff was helpful and accommodating. Despite previous negative postings we read, the breakfast was quite good. The selections were varied and fresh. We did find the pastries to be dry and underwhelming. Though Hotel Telluride is located on the west end of Telluride we enjoyed the brief walk to the center of town. The hotel provides a shuttle though we never took advantage of it. Be aware that the Hotel charges a full night's deposit on your credit card at the time of your reservation. All the additional fees and taxes can have a significant impact on the price of your room. We grumbled a bit at the $15.00 per night for parking at the hotel. Still, our overall experience was a positive one and we would happily choose Hotel Telluride for our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ljjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2006

This is a pretty property with a lovely lobby and nicely appointed rooms. The lower floor rooms (first floor) unfortunately don't look out on much -- our view was of the high school soccer field. We could also hear the room above, especially plumbing noises. It's not a dynamite location sitting right there off the main road into town, about a 10 minute walk to the gondola and shops, etc. My wife and I didn;t mind the walk at all, but I can understand how others might and how it certainly would be different in the winter. The hotel does offer a free shuttle and the free Telluride bus stops just up the street. This is a small compact town and the street scene is lively and interesting. The walk is worthwhile, in my view.

No, the main problem with the Hotel Telluride is an identity crisis. The place is being converted into condos -- persumably they will still rent out rooms -- and you get the feeling that you're not really staying at a hotel. The staff -- what there is of it -- is friendly enough, but there isn't that high intensity level of service you'd expect at a resort-type property. We carried our bags in and placed them on a luggage cart. Hardly ever saw any bellhops or doormen for that matter. When we checked out no one asked if we needed help with bags.
Although the hotel does not have a full service restaurant, there is a bistro/bar area where breakfast is served and you can get drinks and snacks, but this is only open a few hours a day. There's no room service. The breakfast service, by the way, must have improved dramatically from some of the earlier posts on tripadvisor. It was a pretty good breakfast and service was fine.

Would we stay here again? Probably not, although the room was quite nice (except for the noise upstairs). If so, I'd definitely want an upper floor room. But Telluride has other options and we'd probably want to try one of them out. I still think most folks would be pretty comfortable at the Hotel Telluride -- if it's still in business as a hotel.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

Great style, nice rooms, very comfortable beds, ok mountain views, but overall very disappointing service for as many great writeups as this property has had in the past. No room service and no attention to detail at all. Very unorganized and poorly staffed breakfast service had us listening to other guests constantly complaining loudly to an unattentive staff. Total chaos and this was the scene day after day. Its well worth the trip in the morning to La Cocina in town for a much more rewarding breakfast experience.

We absolutely loved Telluride, the town, the restaurants and the people. We cant wait to return next year. But the level of service at this particular hotel was a disappointment not only with us but visibly with others as well. It simply does not live up to the ratings in Conde Nast or any other respected travel publications.

We will stay at another hotel next time and one within reasonable walking distance to the town and the gondola.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ventanas2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
1.9 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Property: The Hotel Telluride
Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Telluride is a boutique chalet with a European feel situated in the San Juan Mountains. Check out our rooms and suites, each with a breath-taking mountain view. Browse our all-inclusive vacation packages and ensure you'll have a worry-free vacation. The Hotel Telluride, located close to Telluride's signature shops, art galleries, restaurants and The Telluride Ski Resort, puts you in the center of this former silver mining camp in the heart of the Colorado Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing