We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been wonderful but.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Telluride

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Telluride
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would have been wonderful but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel would have gotten a higher rating if not for the rudeness on the part of the front desk manager. Everyone else there was extremely pleasant and helpful. We even received an apology from another employee who overheard the way we were spoken too. ( and it was Xmas to boot)
The location was on the end of town but ok since we like to walk. The lobby was very inviting and comfortable and the restaurant's offering of tapas were pretty good.
The only other thing that my we both noticed was how uncomfortable the bed and pillows were. It was our first time in Telluride and we would have stayed another night but were so put off by the way we were treated that we decided to leave and venture out along the Million Dollar Hwy, landing up in Durango, which was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    121
    24
    10
    11
See reviews for
146
268
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great mountain resort style hotel. Very friendly staff from reservations to checkout. We decided to book one of the available suites. We were so pleased with the the suite. Very comfortably furnished and roomy. Our stay was the first week of December, lucky to get 14 inches of snow. Enjoyed the walks down town and the gondola rides to Mountain Village. Our best pet friendly hotel experience. We will pick The Hotel Telluride for our next Telluride stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

A beautiful hotel, very differnt from the usual chains. Friendly staff and free shuttle service into town were a plus. We booked thinking this will be closer to the ski trails, but had to take the Gondola every time. So book on Mountain Village if you plan to ski everyday. This hotel is very pet freindly and so most rooms have too much pet hair. I did end up in a pet-free room the second night onwards due to my allergies!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbeshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Director of Sales at The Hotel Telluride, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and discovering what makes our property unique! We rarely get complaints after a pet's stay that there is dog hair, but thank you for bringing this to our attention. For those that are not advanced skiers, you can take the Gondola up to runs that are located at the 1/2 way stop. This is about a 5 minute Gondola ride to easier routes down Lift 4. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our boutique property in the historic town of Telluride! We hope to have you back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great hotel right off the main street in downtown Telluride. Rooms were decorated beautifully, amenities great and staff very friendly. The lobby is also a nice place to relax. Very convenient location, walk to shops, restaurants, park etc.

Room Tip: Request an exterior facing room (mountain side) if available, upstairs has vaulted ceilings for a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COMahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meeker, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A great place to stay. The staff service was excellent. They made reservations and provided excellent recommendations on everything from where to eat to where to walk the dog. We were there during the off season (first week of November) so most of the restaurants and stores were closed. The front desk had a list of what was open which was very helpful. Got a massage from Mary Frances that was fabulous.

This was a special occasion so we splurged and stayed in a suite. The rooms are warmer and more comfortable then they appear on line. The room could have been a little cleaner but It was in good shape overall.The hotel location is great since it is only a few blocks from town - we walked everywhere. However, since it is in town it is surrounded closely by condos and apartments so there are lots of lights and it was a little noisy. But not too bad and worth it to be close to town.

Parking is very limited and the $20 a night to park in the covered garage seems a little pricey especially on top of all the resort fees. And you have to pay to park in town which does not make me feel very welcome.

They welcome pets which is great but for a fee ($50-100). Heads up that the school field behind the hotel does not allow dogs but there is a trail right behind the hotel that is a good place to walk them and the river trail is not too far away. Dog bags are everywhere as this is a very dog friendly town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neka01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Director of Sales at The Hotel Telluride, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
So happy we were able to create a fantastic stay for you during your special occasion! We hope to have you back with us in ski season or summer so we can really impress you with all that Telluride has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Gracious desk clerks. Our room had a balcony on which we could measure our snow accumulation :)
Refrigerator , sink, dinnerware, flatware, microwave...dirty is picked up & replaced daily.
Aveda hair and skin are products.
Grocery less than a block away. Indoor car parking.
What more could you want?!
Humidifier? Got it!
Robe & slippers? Got it!
Warm wool blankets...soft cozy pillows...just a really lovely stay.

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally conscious facility. Towel saving and bed making.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doggiemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Thanks to a detour we drove past this hotel and decided to give it a try. Great ambiance, comfortable room, unbelievably friendly staff. We will be back. If there is any drawback it's the short walk to town, which turned out to be a great way to work off an excellent meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda A, Director of Sales at The Hotel Telluride, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Well if there is any upside to road work we'd say you've found it! Thank you for letting us create a memorable Telluride vacation for you. Now you have the secret short cut to finding the best Telluride has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.6 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.6 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Property: The Hotel Telluride
Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Telluride is a boutique chalet with a European feel situated in the San Juan Mountains. Check out our rooms and suites, each with a breath-taking mountain view. Browse our all-inclusive vacation packages and ensure you'll have a worry-free vacation. The Hotel Telluride, located close to Telluride's signature shops, art galleries, restaurants and The Telluride Ski Resort, puts you in the center of this former silver mining camp in the heart of the Colorado Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing