We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Telluride

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Telluride
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and my best friend stayed here for 4 nights in one of the large suites and loved it.
The suite was wonderfully furnished with very comfortable beds and had plenty of space.

The hotel itself is really wonderful and exactly as pictured in the photos. I would say the vibe is causal, classy, tasteful and low key (but not sloppy).

As we walked in the door the first night after a day of travel we were greeted by a talented guitar player sitting in the corner, hot apple cider, a very welcoming staff; and the Nook was serving $3 margaritas. The Nook is not fancy but very convenient and they have fun specials every night of the week. The lobby is warm and inviting with lots of chairs, couches, a fireplace of course and games to play.

All of the staff went out of their way to help us during our stay (we especially liked Sam) and the excellent service was consistent for the 4 nights we were there. The shuttle back and forth to the slopes and downtown is easy and efficient.

We made the reservation about a year in advance and Brooke in the sales office was very helpful.
Coming to Telluride has been on my list of things to do for about 10 years and I was not disappointed. We would most definitely come back to this town and stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    125
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
153
271
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US native
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Our second time here and we would likely return. Very comfortable room with high end bathroom and bedding. Mini condo with micowave toaster dishes in room. Yes, heat is a little noisy at night, but it can be turned down or off without issue. Warm lodge feel to the lobby. Exceptionally friendly staff. Hot tub so-so functioning.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SummerTripper16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride123, Director of Sales at The Hotel Telluride, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great response, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed our "mini condos".
It has been a very busy February with us and we realize with a full hotel, the noise level can some times be higher than usual. We appreciate the feed back and glad we were able to resolve the issue for you. Please come back and see us soon, summer is right around the corner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you are a light sleeper, beware that the heat comes from a wall mounted unit that loudly cycles on and off all night. The hotel staff politely acknowledged it is a problem, but the only solution was to turn off the heat at night. Fortunately, the bed comforter was quite warm. The hotel is dog friendly which is great unless you are near a dog which likes to bark at night.

Breakfast at The Nook was a disaster. They are completely disorganized and the result is pandemonium. People are pushing and fighting to get food which is often in short supply. They were out of fruit and 'pastries' by the time I got to the front. The food quality is fair, seems to come directly from Costco. If you order an omelet it seems to take forever. We also tried dinner one night which was served cold. When we told our waitress she became indignant and made us wait another 30 minutes for a hot replacement.

When you are finally ready to go skiing one again has to fight with other guests for the one shuttle to the lifts. We called for pick up at the end of our ski day and nobody showed up after a half hour so we took the free city bus. When we got back to the hotel the shuttle was sitting in the driveway. We next went to the jacuzzi which was jammed with people and the jets don't work - only hot water. On the day of departure we requested assistance with our luggage and skis but the desk people forgot to tell the bellman - another wait of 40 minutes.

On a positive note, all the hotel staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful. It is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are spacious and clean, but the ancillary services such as the shuttle, breakfast, and jacuzzi are horribly undersized to serve the number of patrons at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosPoblanos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

As a first time, solo visitor to Telluride, the Hotel Telluride was instrumental in providing me a terrific start to an awesome eight night stay. I would highly recommend the hotel to travelers who expect conistent, exceptional service that contributes to a pleasurable and relaxing resort experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just got back from Telluride and one of the best family ski vacations ever! Hotel Telluride was like something out of a dream! Upon arriving we were quick to notice that every inch of the lobby is decorated to welcome us. Hot apple cider is served all day along with freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! A huge fireplace is flanked with beautifully decorated seating areas. My 14 and 12 year old girls went straight for a chess set nicely situated by the fire. All weekend we took advantage of the luxurious transportation provided by the hotel. They arrived within minutes of the ski slopes and restaurants we ventured to. Extremely friendly hotel staff made sure our every need was taken care of in a timely and helpful manner. Our room was appointed with slippers and fluffy bathrobes which came in handy when getting in and out of the hot tub after a long day of skiing. Our only disappointment was the beds. They were too small and uncomfortable. That being said, even if they never change the beds I would stay at Hotel Telluride again seeing as the overall experience with this hotel was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytrippin416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We always stay here when we come to Telluride because of the great location and usually they have some sort of deal on the rates. Of course you always have to take their quote and add the compulsory 20% room tax! But the rooms are clean and good-sized and the breakfast buffet is excellent. (Except when one chef calls in sick!). My only recommendation is they should upgrade their mattresses. Their beds are fairly hard.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bike-n-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Telluride and we Had a great time and enjoyed the hotel! Really enjoyed the fact that the hotel and Telluride are pet friendly. We even took the dogs on the gondola. The hotel staff treated our four legged children like all of the other children and really went out of their way to make us feel at home. Can't wait to go back for the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.4 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#4 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Telluride

Property: The Hotel Telluride
Address: 199 North Cornet Street, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Telluride 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Telluride is a boutique chalet with a European feel situated in the San Juan Mountains. Check out our rooms and suites, each with a breath-taking mountain view. Browse our all-inclusive vacation packages and ensure you'll have a worry-free vacation. The Hotel Telluride, located close to Telluride's signature shops, art galleries, restaurants and The Telluride Ski Resort, puts you in the center of this former silver mining camp in the heart of the Colorado Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Telluride reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing