We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of Switzerland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Telluride Ski & Golf Club

Telluride Ski & Golf Club
565 Mountain Village Blvd., Telluride, CO 81435
970-728-6900
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Keeping your eye on the ball and off the towering peaks surrounding the Telluride Golf Club may be your toughest challenge when teeing off at this breathtaking course, perched 9,500 feet above sea level.This par 70, 6,574 yard, 18 hole mountain resort course is surrounded by the highest concentration of 14,000 foot mountains in the United States.While the breathtaking beauty may be a distraction, the altitude works to your advantage as Telluride's air creates less resistance against the golf ball during flight, translating to longer drives and breathtaking beauty.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Piece of Switzerland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Magnificent views which reminds one of Zermatt without the Matterhorn. Slopes were well groomed and the man-made snow more than compensated for the lack of natural snowfall. This ski valley is really made for the one-to-two week ski trip...given it does take some time to get there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripatetic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pinetop, AZ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

went to Telluride to ski last weekend - snow not that great but for a "groomer" like myself, it was fine - not too many folks there (maybe because of the less than optimal snow cover), plenty of open runs - will definitely ski there again - the little town of Telluride also has lots of places to eat, ranging from inexpensive to very expensive w/r/t pricing - great little getaway....even in summertime the town is downright beautiful!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful views atop the Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our group had a great time at Telluride. Early January is a great time to go as we arrived after the New Year's crowd had left and before the MLK weekend people arrived. There were noticeably more people skiing on the weekend but on weekdays we practically had the place to ourselves.

NOTE: Telluride has one of the highest base elevations in North America (and perhaps anywhere) so it's very important to constantly hydrate. You'll notice the altitude change as soon as you start walking up even a small flight of stairs. Be aware of the potential for altitude sickness but hydrating frequently will help.

There's a good mix of slope types at Telluride. One thing our group found helpful was that instead of the basic green/blue/black/double black slope signs, the resort actually breaks it down further into green/double green/blue/double blue/black/double black. This lets beginners know what they're in for and allows the intermediates to distinguish bump runs from regular runs.

The snow was a bit thin while we were there but it was pretty early in the season and there was plenty of terrain open. I would have like to have tried some of the bowls but they were pretty much all closed. We had unseasonably cold weather during our stay and as the uppermost lifts are above treeline it got very cold when the wind whipped along the top of the ridge.

I'd love to go back when there is more snow and I can ski more of the terrain.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cards-Preds-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
291 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Great Skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Love the skiing. No Colorado resort can match the views of the San Juans. Mountain Village is one of the nicest in the state.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Ski”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Amazing Skiing worth the price. Great Family vacation destination.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FlagFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Telluride Ski & Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Telluride Ski & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing