We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Telluride's "Must" for Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Butcher & Baker Cafe

The Butcher & Baker Cafe
Ranked #15 of 79 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Telluride's "Must" for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Sunday bunch a "Must"! This laid back cafe is favorite of local based on clientele and offers simple, well prepared and tasty food.

I discovered this cafe last March, after I stopped by the Ace hardware across the street. Today I discovered the Sunday brunch feature that includes a Sausage Breakfast Burrito ...my goodness, how tasty ...best that I have had. I was a little "suspect" when I ordered it and the server turned around a pulled a pre-made burrito wrapped in aluminum foil from a warmer behind the counter. I was quite surprised when I bit into the burrito! Bravo!

Definitely a "must" for every future trip to Telluride, which is pretty frequent of late.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    75
    38
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is definitely where the locals eat! Great food, pretty good coffee. The breakfast sandwich was wonderful. Definitely will go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gasman5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sandwiches and sodas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

A nice stop if you're running around town, between hikes, or are looking for brunch. The menu offers a little for every appetite and the seating outside is particularly nice in the summer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Rude Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Small place - seems to be frequented by locals. Food was not impressive, ordered a croissant which was burnt - asked if I could please have one that is not burnt, the woman behind the counter got snippy and informed me the croissant was not burnt. Nothing else looked great, so I took it. Way overpriced for quality and service, which was terrible. Came away feeling cheated. Per the other reviews, yes, this may be cheap by Telluride standards - but still feel we could have expected better service. Stay away from this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cologal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breakfast Burrito & Scones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We walked into BBC on a lark, knowing that we were hungry but not having done much research on Telluride restaurants. We immediately enjoyed the funky, cool, offbeat, slightly CA vibe. Lots of white, sunny, and simple. The menu grabs you next: Lots of salads in the see-through fridge and a style of ordering whereby you can choose one, two or three "scoops" of any of the salads. But they also have a specialty fried chicken, salmon, and other foods as well.

I called this review, however, Breakfast burrito and scones because both were standouts. The breakfast burrito was of average size but contained spicy sausage, corn salsa, and sweet potato. It was delicious. The scones were properly baked to be crispy on the sides and flavorful, not like the bricks you get in so many other places.

Really good restaurant and a sure bet in downtown Telluride. Not five stars because of slightly aloof service and several of the salads were good but not spectacular.

You won't go wrong here and get the BB!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnThomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher & Baker Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher & Baker Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing