We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Bakery Does Breakfast Right”

The Butcher & Baker Cafe
Ranked #10 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Bakery Does Breakfast Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place has a "deli" feel about it... very nice, but small, dining area when you walk in... cozy. Two employees typically work the front counter and they can get overwhelmed when the phone rings and there are lines of folks waiting to place their order and get refills of coffee.. be patient. The food is a bit on the pricey side for breakfast, but, again, you're in Telluride and should not be a shock. I had the breakfast burrito with sausage and it was very good and filling. My wife had the French Toast and it was amazing... it took about 10 minutes to make, but well worth the wait. When we come back to Telluride, I'll be back for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJG4978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    83
    38
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Quality food, so-so service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stepping up into the restaurant, I immediately liked the clean, airy colors and lines. Although the menus shown high up on the boards seemed to explain things well, I wanted to ensure I understood the process, so I asked the girl how the menu worked. Her answer was thorough, but it was not helped by the twinge of sarcastic impatience. Hmm. I might have ignored the tone had she not half-rolled her eyes.

At the counter, the fiancé ordered a turkey sandwich which arrived promptly and was delicious. The yummy (raspberry?) vinaigrette did not overwhelm the thick slices of turkey but totally complemented the brie, and the fresh arugula was abundant and crisp. The bread itself deserves praises! The lemonade was also very good - no one said so, but my guess is that it was fresh-squeezed.

The cloth napkins offered on the tables were festive and colorful. I can see this place getting real packed.

My only other gripe is that for 1 sandwich and 1 drink, I think we paid $3 too much, especially since the sandwich didn't come with housemade chips or something. Sure, it's affordable compared to the sit-down restaurants in Telluride, but for something like this, I think there's room for more bang for the buck... especially since we had been greeted a bit rudely.

Overall, the quality of the ingredients is evident. I just wish the first staff member had been as nice as her colleague who brought out our food because customers like me enjoy good service but personally take to heart the negative ones.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Butcher and the Baker is situated in the old Maggie's bakery spot on Main Street. They have freshly prepared items, and something different every day. Bursts of flavor in everything that they do. Also, please try their catering service. It's one of the best.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome Bread Pudding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is just cool! They have a very local and sustainable vibe about them. The baked goods, coffee and coco are perfect after a full day of skiing. It's conveniently located on Main street. Great place to read a book and grab something to eat and drink!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Esto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cream Rises to The Top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you could only eat at one place in Telluride, go to The Butcher/The Baker on Main St. They offer breakfast and lunch. The chai is outstandingly strong and gingerish. It is probably the best fresh food in the State (I live in Colorado and know!). It is just a bakery atmosphere but if you look around the room, it is kitchen creative with the blackboard and serving boards displaying the menus. Simple but on the mark in terms of how food should taste! Cream rises to the top and this bakery restaurant has reached that level.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher & Baker Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher & Baker Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing