We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The customer is always wrong?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort to your Saves list
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Midweek Special
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The customer is always wrong?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked our stay as part of a wedding party. My wife and I have previously stayed at the property as well. This trip, we brought along my brother and mother to the wedding, as well as our 22 month old little girl. We wanted extra room and extra beds for everyone, so we spent quite a bit of time online researching room options. We settled on reserving a room with 2 beds in one room, and one in the other. However, when we arrived into our room at the lodge we found only one bed in each room. I went to the front desk and spoke to Robert about it. He very politely told me I must have been wrong and must have made a mistake. He sent a rollaway bed to our room. My brother is 6'4'. Your rollaway beds aren't really usable for anyone over about 5'10".

The issue I have is that Robert made no effort to accommodate the customer with either a partial credit or switching rooms, and told the customer they were wrong. Particularly frustrating given we spent quite a bit of time trying to ensure getting the exact accommodations needed to comfortably sleep a party our size. As a result, we become motivated to leave bad reviews for the hotel, and tell everyone we know NOT to stay at Mountain Lodge...all because no effort at accommodation was made to the customer, albeit very politely.

Additional issues with the stay were a wedding party member having their entire car coated with what appeared to be the wood lacquer being sprayed outside on the walls of the lodge, or perhaps something else? Whatever it was, the car obviously wasn't parked in a spot that did the customer any favors. Also, the cleanliness of the kitchen looks very dicey when walking by the window on the way to the restrooms. Lazy, careless, lack of effort types of stuff.

Obviously, it is a beautiful property in a beautiful location. I'm sure the lodge usually gets a pass from its customers due to the property itself. Takes a lot to screw that up, and a lot of this is smaller detail stuff, but you can see how it can add up to the hotel suddenly being viewed in a very different, lesser, light. Hope you can turn it around.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    130
    48
    16
    5
See reviews for
276
250
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I got to Telluride on a Saturday night and stayed at the Mountain Lodge until Monday checkout. We loved the Jr. Suite, sound of the creek off our lovely deck and the quiet and peace here. The hammocks were so relaxing as we watched the sunset on Sunday night. Nice bar area, very welcoming. The staff was excellent, friendly and efficient. I did not want to leave and will come back and stay longer next time I return in the Fall for the amazing colors.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Older but Nice place. Very close to the Free Gondala (200 yard walk) and nice grocery market. Appears to be a ski in/out location. Great Bar. Staff was friendly and helpful. They welcome dogs. Two room suite was great for the family of four. Full Kitchen was great.

Room Tip: Get an exterior room to street access; street side is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

All the comforts of a first-rate hotel, all the charm of a mountain getaway. It was the perfect base from which to hike the many trails and also explore Telluride and Mountain Village. The gondola rides were fabulous and fun. The staff is the most kind and professional we've ever encountered. Our suite was quiet, since we were on the side facing the mountains and not the driveway. Especially loved the view from our peaceful balcony. The dining at the View Restaurant was casual and the food and wine excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the driveway are quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: Mountain Lodge brought our attention to the many ways we could employ environmentally-friendly practices, which we very much appreciated.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailDStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I won't return to this hotel. Here's the good, the bad, and the ugly.

We arrived as a party of four: my wife, 10 year old son, and 12 year old daughter, and this review requires a short backstory of the Telluride experience. Telluride is a dream mountain town in a beautiful valley, connected to a ski resort town called Mountain Village in the mountains up above by two free gondola systems paid for by city taxes. Most people stay in the hotels in Mountain Village and visit Telluride via the 15 minute gondola transit. You can drive between the towns, but it is more fun and a bit faster to use the gondolas.

The Good
The beauty of the property and the facilities is spectacular, one of the finest properties I've seen. Not only are the Telluride-area mountains world-class beauty, but the hotel lobby, pool area, and restaurant are the quintessential 'grand log cabin' design. The entry is so beautiful and exciting that when we arrived, I thought "We hit the jackpot, even at $260 a night for our two bedroom loft.' I just knew it would be perfect.

Robert at the hotel desk had that world-class hotel welcome and professionality that gives you confidence that everything is in control and that you're in good hands. He informed me that there is a required $20/night charge to valet your car and that it is required to do so, in an effort to reduce traffic for both Mountain Village and Telluride. You simply drive down the single driveway between all the hotel buildings (single rooms, 2 bedroom lofts, and full log cabins), unload to your room, and then return your car to the valet.

The suite is gorgeous. Ours was 1416, on the top story over the driveway. It has an entry way/kitchen with slate tile, pine doors, and high-end appliances like a Sub-Zero refrigerator and a GE triton dishwasher. Beyond that, the living area has a leather couch and a two-sided gas fireplace that goes into the master bedroom. The loft with the second bedroom is just as nice. And french doors open to a deck that for our suite has the most incredible mountain view I could hope for. the master bath/shower combo has a nice jacuzzi feature built in, and the decorations are a perfect touch.

Though the pool is small, it is connected to a nice in-ground hot tub, and another large above-ground hot tub can hold 8 or 10 more people. There are 3 hammocks on a little semi-private grass pad with a stunning mountain view and you can lay there and watch the gondolas silently glide just overhead.

The Bad

All of this beauty is negated by the one great flaw of this hotel: noise. In fact, there is an inherent experience flaw in the design of the property mixed with the lack of quality in the noise control build of our suite. The triple threat comes from thin pine doors (both the main suite door and the double doors connecting our suite to the next door suite), no soundproofing whatsoever in the joining wall, and thin windows that transmit sound as though they are open.

We first noticed the sound problem when our neighbors arrived for the night. Their voices came through the suite-joining doors unimpeded. We heard every syllable, even when they spoke at a normal speaking volume. And since people tend to hang out in the kitchen, they all chatted right by those joining doors. Our first neighbors partied until 1am. My kids, who normally could sleep through a tornado, didn't sleep until the party died down. Our second night's neighbors didn't party, merely chatted until 11pm, but the thin doors and walls transmitted it all right to us. It was so bad that even closing the master bedroom door didn't prevent it from coming in...that's three doors in the way of the sound. Our third and last night was the same thing, although by this time we learned to leave the TV on and use it to drown out some of the noise. We called the front desk on the first night to see what could be done about the party noise, but they only offered to call the room and enforce the 10pm curfew. It had no effect. But on the subsequent nights we didn't feel right about complaining about the noise, because the neighbors weren't being extra loud...they were simply talking in normal voices and enjoying their vacation. It wasn't their fault, it was the poor sound control in the build of the rooms.

As a smaller concern, one of our neighbors cooked a full bacon and eggs breakfast one morning. The smells came right through the room connection doors and into our suite. Boy it smelled delicious, but that's a bummer to smell when you aren't cooking up your own! :)

But beyond that, there are the thin windows. Since our window overlooks the driveway, and since all people must drive down to drop off there gear before leaving their car to the valet, the night is a repeated chorus of cars driving down the hill, doors opening, shutting, excited travelers laughing and talking as they cheerily unload their belongings, and then cars varooming back up the hill. Throughout the evening and early in the morning, a groundskeeper drives a loud, gas-powered cart up and down the hill repeatedly, often dragging an even louder trailer cart with his tools, and the sound is magnified by the buildings into the room.

Since you don't have your car and the gondolas are free, everything is a hike. We liked this, actually, as do most guests I think. This is what we come to do. I warn those who have disabilities, though, that the nature of this place will create extra pains for you, both in Mountain Village (even though the hotel offers a golf cart to get you up the hill if you call for it) and in Telluride, which is a series of street shops with small sidewalks that will make wheelchair navigation difficult and tall curbs that are tough to navigate with a cane or walking problems. Not to mention getting on and off two gondolas as you travel between the towns.

The Ugly

Due to the thin windows, we were obliged to hear a conversation between Robert and a new batch of guests unloading their gear upon arrival on the road beneath our suite. He had come down on a golf cart to tell them to move their car, that they could not permanently park on the driveway. When they asked about options for parking, he informed them of the mandatory $20 fee for valet. But when the man pushed back for other options, Robert informed them that they could park for free in Telluride and take the free gondola back up to the hotel with all their gear, or they could park in the parking garage a few hundred feet from the hotel and use the free shuttle to bring them back with their gear, "Although," he noted, "that's a separate deal altogether." We found out later that the garage is less than half the daily rate than the valet.

Is this Robert's fault? Absolutely not. It is a design flaw. The hotel has forced Robert into the position of having to police guest parking and be the bad guy. As a hotel company, why set yourself up for this failure? You don't want guests to park on the driveway, but you offer the space to do so and you don't mark it for Temporary Unloading Only.

Since you know your groundskeeper will have to run up and down the one driveway, why give him a gas-powered cart and a loud trailer? Why not put him in an electric cart like the Robert's and a quiet trailer?

Summary

Mountain Village and Telluride are world-class. The gondola connection is unique and fun. The views are off the charts, and in my opinion this is the best that Colorado has to offer. But despite the visual beauty of the Mountain Lodge Hotel, I will not return because the noise is such a huge problem and the flaws of the hotel's layout and experience design mean that no matter what, I am guaranteed to be kept up at night. For me, a good night's rest is the one key thing that a hotel must provide, at any price point.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel. It's beautiful but way too noisy. Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I lived in Telluride one summer about 35 years ago, working at the mill during the days and at a hotel in the evenings. Mountain village was not developed at that time - it is amazing what several million dollars will do - This is an impressive ski resort/golf course complex. The best feature is the free gondola that takes you to the top of the mountain, then down into Telluride - you need to do this at least twice - once at night for the lights, once at day to see the view. A lot better than driving into town.
My only complaint is being clipped $20/night for parking - if hotels are going to do this, you should know in advance rather than finding out when you check in. The Lodge and surroundings ar beautiful, an inviting pool area, food at the grill was good. Rooms are well appointed, though small - cramped or cozy, depending on your hormones. We fished the pond at the entrance to the resort - limited to lures/artificial bait - not a lot of action. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Mountain Lodge. I can't say enough about the entire experience....from the moment we arrived to this morning when we left, everything was perfect. Doug at the front desk was awesome, our King Suite was fabulous and Telluride was even more stunning than I remembered. it was so nice to just park your car for three days and ride the gondola everywhere. We put our kitchen to good use and ended up cooking a lot of our meals ourselves. We loved the lodge and will absolutely go back and stay again! Thank you for a great getaway!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesstessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
0.3 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
2.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
2.0 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#10 of 18 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort

Property: Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
Address: 457 Mountain Village Boulevard, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Telluride
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
#4 Luxury Hotel in Telluride
#4 Business Hotel in Telluride
#6 Family Hotel in Telluride
#8 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Telluride hotel options include spacious hotel suites and condo rentals. Mountain Lodge Telluride has never been better, with slope-side convenience, upscale amenities and gracious services, Mountain Lodge at Telluride completes the ultimate Telluride skiing experience. Located in the contemporary Mountain Village resort community, our resort is ideally located midway up Telluride Mountain. Surrounded by panoramic views of the majestic San Juan Mountains, our hotel features three log-and-stone buildings and a main lodge, whose tremendous lobby is warmed by an immense river-rock fireplace. Gleaming with rich leather and rustic Western elegance, the lobby also features the View Bar and Grill, perfect for quiet afternoon and evening gatherings while on your Telluride vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lodge At Telluride Hotel Telluride
Mountain Hotel Telluride
Telluride Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing