We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Location, location and views too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Location, location and views too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Telluride has a down town area with all the shops and fabulous restaurants and the ski village about 3 miles away as the crow flies or in this case as the gondola travels. The free gondola that connects the two main areas is assessable to both skiers and non-skiers and stops right out side the Camel's Garden. It would be impossible to have a more convenient location. Visitors can hop on the gondola or another ski lift that brings them right up to the top of the mountain. We rented the 3-bedroom condo #305 which directly overlooks the two lifts. Cathedral ceilings, updated kitchen and bathrooms, lot's of space on three levels. Even though it felt as if we were close enough to jump off our balcony onto the chairlift the condo was very quiet. All of Telluride including Camel's Garden is dog friendly.

There is access to ski rental store, a restaurant (casual BBQ) and a spa from the main lobby and a high end ski boot fitting shop right across the street. In addition the hotel is well known to two local vendors that helped make our stay at 9,500 feet more enjoyable - Ski Butlers (they bring the skis to you) and an oxygen concentrator that we rented and was waiting for us in our room. For those with altitude issues this could save your vacation.

We highly recommend a stay here and will be back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraC92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    44
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
116
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Camel Gardens could not be in a more spot on location, couple of steps from lift 8 and a few more to the gondola what could be more perfect on a ski holiday. Rooms are clean,huge with comfortable beds, breakfast continental but ample to choose from, cheese & wine at 5 o'clock, ski valet that takes your skis from the locker to outside in the morning and puts them back at night when you ski down from the slopes right to the door, ski hire shop on property, large cozy hot tub, garage below hotel and lovely staff. Only a few minutes from restaurants & shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alta-Monza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice hotel with great location, attentive staff and continental breakfast! No need to forage for breakfast before hitting the slopes. Did I mention the great location at the foot of the gondola, walk to restaurants, brewery/pub and shops!?!?
The only negative I can hardly bare to mention, is the lack of a refrigerator or coffee pot in room. Otherwise, this hotel was..."just right!"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obgrnp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed for 3 nights at the Camel's Garden. I had room 101, a queen room. The room was very homey with a gas fireplace, dvd player, small stereo and of course a television. There was plenty of storage space and the room was very comfortable. It also opened out onto a patio that looked like it might be used in the summer but was not used at all in the winter, so I didn't have to worry about anyone walking by and looking in etc.

The front desk staff were all very nice and the hotel has a large hot tub that looks out over San Juan Ave/town of Telluride. The hotel is ski in/ski out and is situated right next to the gondola station and also right at the base of Lift 8 (which only runs 9-11am). They offer ski storage (each room gets a locker) and will take your skis upon your return and give them back when you want to go back out. There is also a branch of Telluride Sports in the building for your rental needs, but it opens at 9am, so if you want to rent skis early in the morning so you can be right on the mountain when the lifts open you'll need to either rent elsewhere or see if you can pick up your skis after 4pm on the day prior.
The hotel also offers an included continental breakfast and an apres ski wine and cheese hour at 5pm.

I loved the location being right next to the gondola and also just a couple blocks from the main street with all the restaurants and shops. Very easy to get anywhere in town.

If I return to Telluride, I would definitely want to try and stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am an avid traveler and have stayed in countless resorts and hotels. Camel's rates at the top of my list of places to stay. I wish they had a hotel in every city that I have gone to will go to. The hotel is located right next to the Gondola that whisks you right up to Mountain Village (another beautiful little town). The customer service was world class. Check in was a snap and everyone was so knowledgeable, personable and friendly. I had never been to Telluride and they were more than willing to give me suggestions on where to go and what to see. Who had good deals on dinners and drinks and the places to go for the most breathtaking views. After we got down the mountain from skiing and walked the 20 feet to my hotel I was greated by complimetary wine, sausage and cheese!! The major shopping, dining and nightlife is located only two short blocks from the front door. My stay was amazing and I could not have been happier with my choice. It is close to EVERYTHING!!! Even if it was not in such a prime location I would stay again just for how well I was treated while I stayed there. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came to Telluride for a friend's wedding and stayed at the Camel's Garden and had an amazing stay! The front desk personnel provided us with great customer service, being always helpful and accommodating, recommending restaurants and places to take pictures. This place is right by the gondola in town, next to the ski runs and two block down from Main St. Couldn't get more central and convenient than this! The apres ski was an even better surprise with complimentary wine and cheese! I would definitely go there again and recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our family of 4 has been fortunate to stay at the Camel's Garden for a few years now. Their roof top hot tub is a favorite spot to relax after a day of raging pow around Telluride's amazing terrain. Proximity to all of the old towns character, best restaurants and bars is second only to the convenience of access to the gondola and lift 7 (which drops one at lift 9, one of America's best ski lifts). Best of all, the people who welcome their guests, Mike, Autumn and Matt extend a genuine warmth that can be lacking in many ski resorts across America.
Top notch and we'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Telluride hotels
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride, A Noble House Resort
1.8 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#5 of 18 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lumiere Telluride
Lumiere Telluride
#1 of 18 in Telluride
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#10 of 18 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 250 West San Juan Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Resort Hotel situated on the San Miguel River and adjacent to the gondola to the ski area. The Camels Garden is ski in ski out at the base of the Gondola and Lift 8. No hotel in Telluride can match the luxury and location of the Camels Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camel`s Garden Hotel And Condominiums
Camels Garden Hotel Condominiums
Camels Garden Telluride

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing