We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, old style elegance!”
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Not a place for young kids, definetly a place for couples, adults! I the heart of downtown, with a touch of old world elegance! The staff is phenomenal! Amazing deep, large bathtubs! Heated bathroom floors for snowy mornings! Highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank sarakkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

That we have heated bathroom floors for cold, snowy mornings, makes me wish that I were living at the hotel with all the snow coming from the kind storms!

I will pass on your comments about our Guest Care team.

Many thanks for taking the time to comment,
Best wishes,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

The New Sheridan Hotel was everything that one would hope for in a hotel. The building itself was old and historic, located right on the main street in Telluride, it was right in the very center of the town and activities. The decor of the hotel is a mix of modern and traditional. While the hotel’s design clearly pays homage to it’s historic past, the design of common areas is bright, traditional and not staid. The hotel feels classic as opposed to overdone. Our room was located on the third floor and the wide steps gave you a reminder of the altitude. Needless to say the room was also luxurious. A large bed with soft linens and tons of fluffy pillows. The room and the bathroom’s decor, like the rest of the hotel were classic, inspired by the history of the building, but modern and neat. Nothing felt overblown or overdone. There is a hot tub located on the roof of the building that is not to be missed, regardless of the weather. It is a good feeling to relax in the warm waters with snow all around you and the stars above. The historic bar downstairs is a really nice classic bar. Not very pretentious, bustling when we went, but not wild. I liked the mirrors and dark wood panels and fireplaces that are easy to nestle next to. In short, the New Sheridan Hotel is luxurious and modern, aesthetically pleasing while paying homage to the heritage of the building. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Your thoughts exactly encompass what our designer Nina Campbell set out to create with us.
We are honored by your compliments.

With many thanks,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Inside and out, the New Sheridan Hotel just screams authentic western saloon. From the design of the building to the grand staircase inside and the artwork throughout the hotel, you can just feel the history of the building. This provides the guest with a unique experience that really stands out from most of the other hotels in Telluride. To appreciate how special the hotel is and take in the full atmosphere of the hotel, a trip to the bar, decorated with pieces one would have found in the old west, is a must (in fact that really goes for anyone staying in Telluride even if they aren’t staying at the New Sheridan) as this is one of the few places where the surrounding actually does make the alcohol taste just a touch better. As for the hotel itself, after a trip to the bar, a trip to the roof and the hot tubs is well in order and such a trip will provide the guest with a great view of both the night sky and of the mountain. Turning to the rooms, I found the room both comfortable and clean with all of the necessary amenities. The drawbacks of this hotel are very limited but I will mention two. First, parking, like at most Telluride hotels, is difficult. The hotel does give you a parking pass to park on the local streets behind the hotel, which is an improvement over many hotels in Telluride, but you still may find yourself parking several blocks away and you best be able to parallel park on potentially snowy streets. Second, the wifi signal in the hotel does not travel very well to some of the rooms (but how much time do you really want to be spending on your computer in such a wonderful place anyway). All in all, this is definitely a place one MUST visit while in Telluride and makes for a perfect place to stay if you are looking for a distinctive and unique hotel experience that you’ll have special memories of for a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your memories of our hotel. It was kind of you to write with such detail and eye for the experience to be had.

With the team's gratitude for your care,
Ray Farnsworth, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Perfect hotel - best location on the main street in Telluride; fabulous spacious rooms; friendly and helpful staff; best dining room in town downstairs. Can not wait to return and do not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Prue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you fro noting our location in the heart of Telluride.
We look forward to welcoming you back!.

All care,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great place right on the main drag in the middle of town. Great service, clean and comfortable rooms. The staff was very friendly, making us feel very comfortable. One of the nicer restaurants in town, as well.

Room Tip: Mountain/Street side rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mosstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and your mention of our friendly staff. We do try.

Many thanks.
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We discovered New Sheridan last Feb. while visiting our daughter. We loved the location and it's subtle amenities. We returned this past summer and it was equally enjoyed. The breakfasts are great, especially the oatmeal. We look forward to our visit back Feb. 2014.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirbyTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Dear Kirby,

You know that we look forward to seeing you again this February. Your comment about our "subtle amenities" is certainly what we strive for . . subtlety.

Many thanks for your kind comments,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the New sheraton the week after Thanksgiving this year. We dont ski anymore, but found this stay one if not the best short vacations we have ever taken. Telluride is a great town, but the New Sheraton made it even better, the staff are great, helpful but not pushy. We ate a few meal at the Chop house, and one may have been the best meal I have ever had outside of the house, the service matched the food.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

And you know that we enjoyed having you stay with us. We are small - at 26 rooms - so we have a chance to get to know our guests.

With thanks for your kind comments about the best meal outside of home. I will pass that on to our Exec Chef, Erich.

Travel well,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#3 of 11 in Telluride
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountainside Inn
Mountainside Inn
#6 of 11 in Telluride
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range: $150 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing