We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Sheridan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Columbia(Telluride)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountainside Inn(Telluride)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Telluride Lodge(Telluride)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Etta Place One(Telluride)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
201
70
17
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
70
17
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschop houseold westthe main streetrooftop barhistoric barwhite noise machinehot tub on the roofin townmodern amenitiesinterior roombar next doorhistoric propertyceiling fanturn of the centurystreet noiseparking passhotel bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 298 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived in Telluride when it snowing. The snow only lasted 2 days which was great. It gave us the best of both worlds. The hotel was very nice, food was exceptional and the hospitality was the best. Our room over looked the main street and 80% of all activities is within walking distance.

Room Tip: A great place to stay and the food was excellent. We arrived when the snow was falling. It only last two days which gave us the best of both worlds. Our room was facing the main street which was wonderful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

So glad that you enjoyed the snow and the stay.

I will pass on your kind comments to the guest and kitchen teams.

Many thanks, Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the New Sheridan Hotel for 4 nights in September for a family wedding. This was our first time in Telluride and fell in love with the town. The hotel was in a perfect location - close to shops, restaurants and the gondola. The staff was very accommodating, the restaurant was great. We really felt like we were in a real western town at the Sheridan. Our room was very nice and the bathroom was exceptionally large. We certainly would come come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7Debbie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

We all appreciate the time you took to write your kind comments about your stay with us.

Many thanks, Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Helpful service at arrival - a second clerk came out to give us our parking permit while waiting to check in. A third helper got our luggage from the street to our room. We were there for the fall colors (highly recommended!!) and stayed in room 204 right above the bar for three nights with no noise problems. Loved the nice sitting area in our room and dimmable lights (good to know if they are too dim - you can turn them up!). Was, however, conscious of a window on third floor of neighbor bldg having a direct view into our room. Closing curtains meant no view to mtn fall colors... Would have liked more counter space by the sink, but overall we were very comfortable. Closet light burnt out second day and was promptly replaced. Great location. As for breakfast, the food was good, but too expensive and I didn't like the coffee much. Found it strange that we had to pay for coffee when buying their breakfast, but could get it free in the parlor. Maggie's across the street was a better option for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjordmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Yes, we do have free coffee in the American Room for guests and as you know all our guests have a 20% discount in our restaurant and parlor for breakfast and lunch.

Travel well,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the New Sheridan for one night recently in an interior room (one of the cheaper ones) on the third floor. During our two week honeymoon in Colorado and New Mexico, this was one of the best places we stayed. The renovations are beautiful and the room was immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very well done and on the larger size with great products. Knowing that the hotel can be a bit loud due to its prime location on the main drag in Telluride, the hotel provides you with ear plugs and a white noise machine... As well as glow sticks in case the power goes out. They truly think of everything! The one thing that would make things better is an explanation about parking before arriving.... It was snowing the day we arrived (I believe the first of the season) and it would have been nice to know we could park directly in front in the middle lane to unload and bring in our bags before obtaining a parking pass and then parking on the nearby streets in the more residential area.

The hot tub on the roof during the snow was the best hot tubs of our honeymoon. Great views, private and super hot in temperature... Perfect!

All in all, a fabulous stay. We wouldn't hesitate to visit Telluride in the future, just to stay at the New Sheridan and explore the town more from the perfect home base.

Room Tip: Safe money and stay in an interior room! They're quieter and you don't need a view. Take the gondola or hot tub on the roof for a view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLikeaLocalVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

We are so glad that your enjoyed your part of your honeymoon with us at our 26 room downtown Telluride hotel.

You know well that we enjoyed your company too!

Thanks for mentioning about the middle of the street unloading option. We take the suggestion to heart.

Be well,
Ray - your GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great old hotel renovated nicely. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were good size. You can't beat the location..right downtown near shops, restaurants, and the tram. There is no air conditioning, only heat, but humidifiers and some type of coolers are in the rooms if you need them. Be aware there is a bar on the first floor. Our room was street side, so we heard a lot of noise as the bar was closing and when people were smoking outside. I would stay here again but ask for a room on the third floor. The rooftop hot tub was awesome....great view, nice hot temperature, and plenty of tables to sit, talk, and have cocktails if you'd like!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Yes, the hot tub on the roof is a special place for a mountain vista.

We are the heart of our small downtown and we are the social hub of the town, therefore we always want our guests to know that there is noise outside from all of our old historic bar habitues and visitors.

Many thanks for staying, Ray -your GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews