We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Winter Getaway!”
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Winter Getaway!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It has been a while since I stayed, we stayed in February for a ski vacation. This place was unreal. What a fantastic hotel with such charm.The front desk was incredibly friendly- offering recommendations for places to dine, parking (you get a free pass for areas around the hotel), and area attractions (you have to try the hot springs!!). The hotel is located in a perfect spot, right in the center of downtown-- you are only a few blocks away from the ski lift. Oh and did I mention there are hot tubs on the roof??

We will definitely make another trip to Telluride & this will be the only hotel we consider for our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments about what it is like to stay with us in the winter.
We look forward to seeing you again this year.

Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    66
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
153
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, nice personnel, comfortable bed, and the restaurant was outstanding. We had an inside room but that assure us of a quiet nights sleep. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
A short walk to the gondola.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay at our small hotel here in Telluride.

Hike well and long!

Best thanks for your stay,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I've always wanted to stay here ! So finally this trip I booked what they called an interior room , no view but with windows ( is how the description read) , well I must say the view was the peaks of the mountains not sure what else I wanted to see but that was beautiful and the breeze perfect ! And located around the corner from the roof top deck and Jacuzzis ! The room was beyond tastefully decorated with heated floors in bathroom ! Not that we needed them but I'm thinking winter ! The beds were sink in to dream land and comfy ! The hotel over all was beautiful, breakfast was great, we ate sitting at the sidewalk tables and it just didn't get much better ! The staff and other guests were so friendly and cordial , the previous evening we had wine in the "parlor" and cheese and that was so fun and relaxing ! You couldn't ask for any better location , right out the door and walk to any where , shopping, hiking, eating , skiing and gondolas ... it was all perfect !! Would I stay here again ?? IN A HEARTBEAT !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your joy in staying with at our Telluride hotel on main street.

Yes, the cafe tables for breakfast on main street are a fine addition .

Many thanks,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetotravel1
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the New Sheridan for the Telluride Film Festival. This is my third time at the Hotel and it gets better each time. The Rooms are spacious, well appointed and meticulously maintained. The service levels are at a 5-Star level as you are greeted by the staff warmly and all requests are cheerfully fulfilled.
The Restaurant is fabulous and the Elk was the best dish I have had in years.
In short.
Stay there, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Wrong click, no pool but the hot tubs are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the Festival.

We love having you come back year after year.
We'll keep the Elk on the menu for next year, have no fear.

Best care, Ray - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Historic hotel with a lot of character. Rooms are surprisingly modern, unexpected for such an historic building. Two blocks from the gondola that will take you to Mountain Village. One drawback: since there is no air conditioning, you may have to have your windows open at night. If your room faces the street, that will mean street noise from all of the late night diners and partiers. They do provide you earplugs, in case you need them. Overall, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our Telluride hotel and our surprisingly modern rooms in an 1895 historic hotel.

Many thanks,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A stylish and Historical place to stay on my tour of the United States. good service and stylish rooms with a western touch. One of the oldest buildings in the area, and is located right on the main street. just a few steps to the ski shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind thoughts about our Telluride hotel.

We are so please that you saw us as "cool" - that is certainly one way that we see ourselves here - as the place to be "seen" and have fun in Telluride.

Best wishes,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for our anniversary. We were debating between staying here or staying in the ski area. We were both very satisfied with our choice to stay here, as it gave us the opportunity to explore the town more. We stayed in a third floor room and had absolutely no problems with noise levels, as I've seen other reviewers mention. The room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable after a day of hiking and driving. The bed is also super comfy. Breakfast in the morning was good, too. There is no parking lot, but that isn't an issue because of the parking pass they give you for your stay. Again, such a great place - we hope to return soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gah3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the experience of our small Telluride hotel.

With care for your travels,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 11 in Telluride
267 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
902 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Property: New Sheridan Hotel
Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing