We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A wonderful throwback, both comfortable and charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful throwback, both comfortable and charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

As you walk through the doors of the New Sheridan, you are somehow magically transported back to the 1800's. You have to search a bit past the well-stocked bar to find the little sign, up some stairs and to the right, that reads "Front Desk". I was greeted by the manager, who showed all of the old west charm that seems to permeate through Telluride. I had chosen a large 3rd floor room facing Colorado Ave (that locals call "Main Street"). Although I had been warned that the bars can be noisy at night, I wanted to be able to look out at main street & the mountains. Perhaps I was there at a quiet time, because I wasn't bothered at all by noise.

Although there is an elevator, I took a perverse pride in climbing the stairs after a day of skiing, and could easily imagine those same stairs being climbed in every western movie you've ever seen.

The room was huge, and the amenities were all delightful - especially the heated floor in the spacious and gracious bathroom. The bed was a bit high and I sort of had to take a running jump to get up to it, but oh my was it worthwhile! There are ski lockers in the basement, with a space for boots... and with heaters for the boots (which unfortunately didn't work during my brief stay).

Parking in Telluride is difficult, so the hotel provides passes to allow you to park on the nearby adjacent streets. The beautiful thing about Telluride is that once I parked the car, I never needed it again until it was time ( sadly ) to leave.

There is one thing to be aware of... the walls are a bit thin, and I could easily hear conversations from adjacent rooms. In a less charming hotel, in a less wonderful town, that would be unacceptable for a hotel costing this much. But somehow, in Telluride, it's easy to overlook.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking main street are larger, and more expensive, and have wonderful views of the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJG_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the passion with which you write. You certainly capture the flavor of a stay at the New Sheridan.

It is a pity no one rode up those stars with the horse - yest it has happened and happens. The "past " is still here at our Telluride hotel.

Thanks for your care,
Ray and Mike - GM and Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    61
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
137
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived in Telluride not thinking we would be able to stay at the New Sheridan, but not only was it available in October, the room was designed quite well and up-dated with excellent furnishings, a beautiful bathroom, and large screen TV in a semi suite set-up. Highly recommended. The restaurant was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and, yes, in October, we stay open until mid October and then re-open just before Thanksgiving.

Thanks for choosing us among all the varied options for Telluride accommodations.
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boblingen, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I was enticed by the historical building and staying in a place that looks like the "Old West," and we wanted to be in Telluride town rather than the vacation built-up Mountain Village. It just felt more real. And it was great! The lift was only a few blocks away, many restaurant and bar choices just down the street or around the block, and it was a nice, comfortable hotel. The noise level on the street at night was sometimes high (there were earplugs in the end table drawer), and the room needs some hooks added in the entry way (where are you supposed to hang up all your ski clothes?). The hot tubs on the roof were nice, and the bed was very comfortable. Certainly recommendable.

Room Tip: If you want it quiet, ask for one not on the street. If you aren't too sensitive, it's nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ydc_germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments about getting a sense of the "Old West" . If only Rowdy had riiden his horse into the bar while you were here. You can see him on our Facebook Page.

Your suggestion about hooks for more ski clothes, we will take to heart.

Thanks kindly,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western colorado
Level Contributor
233 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

The New Sheridan is charming. The historic decor is interesting, the beds are comfortable, the hotel is clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The view rooms are more expensive and can be subject to street noise, so if that's a concern, book an interior room. The hotel has a hot tub on the roof (great when it is snowing), is centrally located, and the Chop House Restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, but do not have mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentinasybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your stay. Lots of snow falling around that hot tub now!.

Also, we are so pleased that you enjoy Telluride and keep coming back.

All the best travels,
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have been going to the New Sheridan for the past 8 years and can't imagine staying anywhere else in town (or on the mountain). For my wife and me, it's the sense of home that draws us back every year. The staff are always cordial and helpful! The Chophouse is excellent, and the bar is historic! We would like to make a trip Telluride in the summer, and we know where we are staying!

Room Tip: Interior room away from the bar, 3rd floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil8450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your commitment of 8 years of staying with your "Telluride hotel family". We love having you return year after year. You are also a "family" to us.

All the best, Ray and Mike + plus the whole front desk, restaurants, and bars teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
358 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Close to the lift yet also close to restaurants and shops, newly renovated, very helpful service, reasonable prices and western charm...what more could anyone want in a ski hotel? Stayed in an "interior" room which had windows looking out over rooftops and a corner of the mountain and was far less expensive than a room on the street

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
How kind you are to comment so precisely about your good experience staying with us.

We are so pleased that Nina Campbell's design work in our newly renovated Telluride inn gave you pleasure, along with the helpful service, reasonable prices and western charm. That sums us up nicely.

You did not comment about the restaurant and bars experience - but that might be covered under western charm.

Many thanks,
Ray Farnsworth, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Barbara & I just stayed at the New Sheridan for the third time. The team at the New Sheridan lead by Ray Farnsworth are like our extended family. We love the quaintness and special personality of the New Sheridan. The facility has been restored to it's original state in a wonderful way. The hot tub set up may be the best we have ever experienced with a wonderful view of the mountains. But it is the friendliness and obvious wish to delight their guests which is apparent. Mike, Bo, Steve, the housekeeping crew and others took great care of us. In addition, the location is ideal for skiing, dinners and other activities. We would highly recommend it. We plan to return ever year after visiting over 40 major North American ski resorts in the past.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and your comments about our individual team members.

We are always heartened when our guests have as good a time in our small Telluride hotel and, more importantly, in the whole town as we do and I know that you made use of our mountain experience - wrapping up the day in the mountain view hot tubs.

Thanks from us all for your generous spirit.
Ray, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
1.9 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Property: New Sheridan Hotel
Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Telluride
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing