We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous historically authentic hotel with modern amenities in heart of Telluride”
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The New Sheridan is a beautiful, historically authentic hotel in the heart of one of America's most gorgeous towns, not to mention one of the continent's premier ski resorts. Our room was spacious and impeccably decorated with a blend of both period and modern pieces. However, don't be fooled by the historically authentic label: the room was appointed with modern amenities such as a heated tile bathroom floor, large flat screen television, fast wifi access, and updated bathroom sink and fixtures. Soft, luxurious robes almost demand a trip to the large hot tubs on a roof that has one of the most scenic mountain views in the West. The bed linens were pristine and made for the most comfortable bed suite this seasoned traveler has enjoyed in years. We also had the good fortune to host a large family brunch at the New Sheridan and found that the food and service at the on-site restaurant were excellent as well. The fare would please even the most discriminating foodie and the serving staff was knowledgable, elegant, and helpful...striking that careful balance between meeting our every need without intruding on an intimate family gathering. I would recommend the New Sheridan without reservation: it embodies all that we love about the casual elegance of Telluride.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10Paula12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Traveler to the heart of one of America's most gorgeous towns,

We agree with you about Telluride as town. That is why we have all been drawn to live here.

Your kind comments about our Telluride hotel and that you noticed all that we ourselves care for - they are both honors to us all. And thank you for choosing us for your celebration. You have sensed the pleasure that we had in doing this for you.

All our care, Ray
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 289 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the New Sheridan Hotel for 3 nights (Oct 9 thru 11, 2012) and just loved it. Perfect location, friendly and helpful staff and the room was very comfortable. The entire hotel is tastefully updated and decorated. We were only going to stay 2 nights but we loved Telluride and the hotel so much, we stayed an extra night! We cannot wait to go back and will definitely stay there again. I made one suggestion about having milk available on the coffee bar in the morning (not just cream) and the GM has already addressed that. That is great customer service!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysinVacationMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hello, thank you for your kind comments about staying with us in our small Telluride hotel and your pleasure in our town.

And the milk is taken care of . . .

Best,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

But then again, I had a miraculously quiet room. Which was huge. And loaded with fantastic linens. And a heated bathroom floor. Plus I don't care about a view, in a ski town, I am pretty much never in my room while the sun is up, so not much to see in any event. The staff isn't interested in providing service, but then again, it isn't really a full-service hotel. (OK, they could have at least gotten up from behind the desk and helped me through the door when my skis got stuck, rather than sitting there chuckling.....) Lack of full-service bells and whistles are more than made up for by the prime location, the restaurant, the bar, and the arrangement with the boot fitter for storage next to the gondola. I can't wait to go back, I'll take the New Sheridan over a five-star in Telluride any day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJMnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Greetings,

Of course we are pleased that room and the sense of quiet, along with heated bathroom floor, were to your liking. I am concerned that you felt that our service was not up to your needs - and ours, I may add.

We have had a team meeting to discuss your concerns.

Thank you for your helpful comments,

Best, Ray
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We drove into Telluride around 9pm after a super long day and had no reservation. We found the New Sheridan thru our AAA book and I called to see if they had a room--they did, the last one! The price was super reasonable for Telluride so we found the hotel on the main drag.

We walked in thru the bar area and we waited at the desk for a few moments. A gentleman (I believe the owner) asked if we needed assitance just as Cameron, the desk clerk, showed up. We were promptly checked in and found our teeny, tiny room to be in the middle of the building with windows that looked out about 1 foot to the side of the building. But...this room was gorgeous. The bed, the linens, the bathroom, the carpet, the chairs, the lamps, everything was perfect.

The hotel is right in the center of town (walking distance to everything), the hotel restaurant, tho pricey, is absolutely fantastic (see separate review), the rooftop hot tub was a treat, the hallways were beatiful--I loved this place.

Room Tip: Really, I think any room would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Yes, it was me who helped check you in. I am the GM.

Your experience is exactly what we and our designer want you to have in our historic Telluride hotel. That you found our small interior room to be "gorgeous" is what we and our designer, Nina Campbell, hope for.

Thanks and we look forward to having you back,
Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were two couples looking for a quiet couple of nights in Telluride (our first visit there). The New Sheridan is ideally situated, right in the main street and convenient to everything. It's a wonderful historic building with loads of charm.

The bathrooms could certainly do with a little more "counter space" - quite pokey, but otherwise very acceptable. The rooms are not air-conditioned, so be prepared to leave windows open if the weather is warm - although you'll then have to accept the noise challenges associated with main street activities. The rooms all come equipped with "white noise machines" - which we found quite effective at masking most noises.

The restaurant is excellent, so in general the place is really very nice. We did experience a very noisy night on the Friday, which we subsequently found out to be due to two large parties (a wedding and a birthday). We had a very unsettled night and were not impressed that the festivities were taking place in the suite next door. However, the management of the hotel were very apologetic and responsive, and they willingly refunded our accommodation charges. They also explained that the parties involved were unusually noisy in their experience, so I guess our timing just sucked. Having said that, it might be worth checking for similar large groups before booking. I marked Sleep Quality as Poor for that reason only - the other night we stayed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Street-front rooms can be noisy if the windows are open (i.e. warm weather).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic Telluride hotel and are so glad that you liked our hotel and its charm aslo that it is centrally located.

As you know, from your refunds, we are so sorry that the two parties were noisy that night and that they would up next to you!

We always want our guests to know that we are responsive to any challenge.

Many thanks and we do hope that you return when it is not "celebration" time in Telluride.

Best, Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderfull old hotel. The rooms are completely renovated with large comfortable beds, No air conditioning but celing fan and open windows provided a nice cool room. Many historic photos throughout the hotel. The food was excellent but a little pricey. The service was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel for a nice get away in a historic Colorado town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street are a little noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our restful beds and fresh mountain air. We look forward to welcoming you back to the historic New Sheridan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a last minute stay in Telluride and booked the New Sheridan Hotel. I think we stayed here years ago but what we remembered is nothing like how it is today. Completely remodeled and renovated- what a stunning room for such an old building. Front desk staff great. Hotel bar great. Food a bit pricey so you've been warned! Center of town. Parking pass given at registration. Jacuzzi on roof top. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on main street and may be noisy but the interior rooms don't get a cross breeze i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for booking last minute with us. We're happy to hear about your comments on our renovation, staff, and hotel bar. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#3 of 11 in Telluride
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
2.1 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountainside Inn
Mountainside Inn
#6 of 11 in Telluride
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range: $150 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing