We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Sheridan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mountainside Inn(Telluride)
$139
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $347/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Columbia(Telluride)
$299
$290
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$350
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$699
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cimarron Lodge(Telluride)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
202
71
17
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
71
17
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschop housethe main streetrooftop barold westhistoric barwhite noise machinehot tub on the roofin townmodern amenitiesinterior roombar next doorhistoric propertyceiling fanturn of the centurystreet noiseparking passhotel bar
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 300 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were two couples looking for a quiet couple of nights in Telluride (our first visit there). The New Sheridan is ideally situated, right in the main street and convenient to everything. It's a wonderful historic building with loads of charm.

The bathrooms could certainly do with a little more "counter space" - quite pokey, but otherwise very acceptable. The rooms are not air-conditioned, so be prepared to leave windows open if the weather is warm - although you'll then have to accept the noise challenges associated with main street activities. The rooms all come equipped with "white noise machines" - which we found quite effective at masking most noises.

The restaurant is excellent, so in general the place is really very nice. We did experience a very noisy night on the Friday, which we subsequently found out to be due to two large parties (a wedding and a birthday). We had a very unsettled night and were not impressed that the festivities were taking place in the suite next door. However, the management of the hotel were very apologetic and responsive, and they willingly refunded our accommodation charges. They also explained that the parties involved were unusually noisy in their experience, so I guess our timing just sucked. Having said that, it might be worth checking for similar large groups before booking. I marked Sleep Quality as Poor for that reason only - the other night we stayed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Street-front rooms can be noisy if the windows are open (i.e. warm weather).
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayGMTelluride, General Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our historic Telluride hotel and are so glad that you liked our hotel and its charm aslo that it is centrally located.

As you know, from your refunds, we are so sorry that the two parties were noisy that night and that they would up next to you!

We always want our guests to know that we are responsive to any challenge.

Many thanks and we do hope that you return when it is not "celebration" time in Telluride.

Best, Ray, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two nights in this wonderfull old hotel. The rooms are completely renovated with large comfortable beds, No air conditioning but celing fan and open windows provided a nice cool room. Many historic photos throughout the hotel. The food was excellent but a little pricey. The service was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel for a nice get away in a historic Colorado town.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking street are a little noisy at night.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our restful beds and fresh mountain air. We look forward to welcoming you back to the historic New Sheridan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We had a last minute stay in Telluride and booked the New Sheridan Hotel. I think we stayed here years ago but what we remembered is nothing like how it is today. Completely remodeled and renovated- what a stunning room for such an old building. Front desk staff great. Hotel bar great. Food a bit pricey so you've been warned! Center of town. Parking pass given at registration. Jacuzzi on roof top. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on main street and may be noisy but the interior rooms don't get a cross breeze in the summer and there isn't AC!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for booking last minute with us. We're happy to hear about your comments on our renovation, staff, and hotel bar. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I highly recommend staying at the New Sheridan Hotel (if you can afford it). My husband and I stayed here for a couples celebration thing, and it was such a delightful pick. The decor was just perfect - historic photos and modern paintings. Customer service was great - we had a tricky scheduling situation and the manager helped us through it every step of the way. Parking was easy, even though it was street parking, which kind of freaked us out, but turned out it was a breeze. The hotel is right in the middle of town, so it was so easy to just walk everywhere. The room was so comfortable and clean, with very nice touches - variety of pillows, great view, heated tiled bathroom floor, bathrobes, nice toiletries selection, q-tips, white noise maker, ear plugs, variety of local magazines to find local restaurants! I also loved the environmentally-friendly elements to the hotel - stairs are in a central location, you can choose to have your linens and towels washed with less frequency, recycling bins in room. Not having air conditioning didn't affect our stay at all - the room was always at the perfect temperature. I also liked not having a/c to reduce our dependency on an energy-guzzling appliance. You can tell that there was a lot of thought put into the hotel. Loved it and would definitely return for future celebrations.

The reason why we're giving it rating of 4/5 is that there are shared doors with other rooms in case you wanted to have a multi-room suite. I think this is a fantastic option to have, but for us, it also meant that there was some noise from the room next door that we could hear, which affected our stay just a tiny bit.

Despite that minor thing, I would definitely return to the New Sheridan.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the front onto the main road has a wonderful view, but it can get somewhat noisy at night. It didn't affect us at all, as we are both heavy sleepers, but light sleepers should be aware of that. The New Sheridan does supply you with a white noise machine and ear plugs just in case, though.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TK J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and look forward to sharing them with the team. I was glad to hear of your positive experience in regards to our location, beautiful guest rooms, and customer service. Allow me to apologize for the noise that came through the adjoining door from the other room. Please contact us directly when you are planning to return to Telluride. It would be our pleasure to assist you in the selection of a room without an adjoining room. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I do not need to add any superlatives to those that other guests have entered about this hotel. It remains a centrally-located place to stay in Telluride at any time of the year, and it is full of character and class. I have spent week-long work stays here twice in the summer months. I would not hesitate to return here with my wife as my place of choice to stay in town. There is an issue of noise from the hotel bar when one has a room on the east side of second floor. Unlike another reviewer, I could not sleep with my windows open after 10 pm in the evening, when the bar operators seemed to think it necessary to turn up the music. The white noise machine was otherwise perfectly helpful in drowning out the sounds. I have yet to try the restaurant for dinner (big thumbs up according to my friends), but can highly recommend a relaxing breakfast in the lobby bar area. I found the prices for that to be quite reasonable, on a Telluride scale, and the company is always friendly.

Room Tip: I would guess that rooms on the west end and further back are quieter. Likewise, third floor probably quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank run4lifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New S, Manager at New Sheridan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your helpful feedback and for choosing to stay with us when traveling for work. We hope you can return with your wife and have time to enjoy dinner together at the Chop House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews