We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in the best location on town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Sheridan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Sheridan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in the best location on town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Old hotel completely redone. Rooms are small but nicely furnished in period furniture. Rooms only have one queen or king bed. Some rooms have interior windows and are dark. Parking is a challenge but you get a permit to park on residential streets. Hotel is in the center of downtown and could not be in a better location so once your car is parked, you can leave it. Staff is very helpful. Hotel is usually booked way in advance so you need reservations.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jriii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    64
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
142
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The check in process was as friendly and complete as could be. Parking is mildly challenging in Telluride, but the pre-arrival instructions were accurate as to how to deal with it. Having checked in we were given a local sticker to park on a nearby street one block away. We were there during a slow period so lucked out with a top floor room which makes for quiet. Warning... as mentioned by the hotel itself some of the rooms can hear the bar area frivolity so if that bothers you they offer ear plugs. We didn't hear any untoward noise. The hot tub on the roof was a great place to watch the stars appear. Another warning... best to check out the tub area in the daylight as there is an unlighted one foot level change right beside the two hot tubs that can be a trip hazard. At dinner we went to the dining room to take advantage of their $21 steak and glass of wine offer. Turns out that was only available in the bar area, which opon review they did say and I missed. The dining room waiter was most helpful by volunteering to nail down a table in the bar area for us while we waited, then came back and escorted us over. Superb service! Being an upscale ski town that's remote expect the food prices to be higher than, say, Durango.

Room Tip: The top floor would be the most quiet and on the same floor as the roof top hot tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We did not stay here during our trip, however we did dine here one evening. The food was incredibly delicious...one of the best meals of my life! Telluride is magical and the food at the New Sheridan is out of this world! I highly recommend this establishment and intend to return as often as I can.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telluirde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The NS is centrally located right in the middle of West Colorado avenue and the hotel is one of the focus points of the street.

The building is beautiful and renovated well and maintained to an even higher degree. Rooms are large and comfortable. All good.

If you have a room on W Colorado Ave you will get views of the ski slopes but the road is full of people early and late, and you wil get the afternoon sun - lots of it. If you like the hustle it's great.


Request a room on the opposite side of the hotel looking up Tomboy Rd it's a lot quieter and I prefer the views.Telluride is built on top of itself like a lowrise but dense Manhattan. Your neighbors are close and the town is bustling - this can't be avoided with the hotels position.

The Chop house is excellent. The staff are always super polite. There is no AC or laundry facility. I normally don't stay at hotels in
Telluride as we stay weeks at a
time.

There are two better hotels in town now The Cosmopolitan and Hotel Telluride but the New Sheridan is the Grand Dame of Town.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel is very cute, clean and updated, but missing a key ingredient- air conditioning! The weather in the mountains should allow for keeping windows open at night with no AC needed, however the noisy street and bar downstairs makes it impossible to do so. We were given a room that faced the court house (#214) and heard the bar patrons at the hot dog stand below our window all night. We tried to keep our windows closed one night, but it got too hot and the ceiling fan was positioned well off the foot of our bed, not directly above, and provided little relief. Beware- the eco friendly toilets are very low flow and we had a few issues with getting them to flush with minimal debris. The staff was friendly and the price was right ($159/night) so I think we'd return in cooler weather when having the windows open was not needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brown_dog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is attractive & charmingly redone. Great location. No air conditioning. We were given a bad room (308) with a view of pipes/ brick. When I conplained that there was no air circulation, I was told to pay for a higher priced room. The Sheridan had a lovely bar, however, with friendly bartenders & good drinks, great location. We had 2 meals in the restaurant that were very good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunflower087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the New Sheridan for ten nights at the end of December 2010 and into early January 2011.

We had a good sized room to the rear of the hotel with a lovely view up the box canyon. The room was stylish and had a very large comfortable bed.

Sttaff were very friendly and courteous. The Chop House restaurant was very good, but not cheap. The bar next door was dead.

The location is great for skiers, with both the gondola to Mountain Village and the town chair very close.

We had a fantastic stay at the New Sheridan, which will be our hotel of choice when we come back to Telluride.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Telluride
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camel's Garden Hotel & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 10 in Telluride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#2 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
1.9 mi away
Madeline Hotel and Residences
Madeline Hotel and Residences
#3 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Sheridan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Sheridan Hotel

Property: New Sheridan Hotel
Address: 231 West Colorado Avenue, Telluride, CO 81435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Telluride
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Telluride
#4 Family Hotel in Telluride
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Sheridan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian, historic elegance in the heart of Telluride. The first Telluride hotel opened in 1891 as the "go-to place" for miners who struck it rich, completely restored and renovated in 2008, there are 26 historic rooms with all modern amenities, large suites overlooking main street. Period style furnishings, bedding, luxury baths and bathrobes. With the bustling, gourmet Chop House Restaurant, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner with the Parlor coffee house and the oldest bar in Telluride - still with its original fittings from 1895. 4 Diamond AAA Award. #1 North American Ski Hotel for Service as voted by Travel & Leisure 2011 and #5 Best Ski Hotel - again by Travel & Leisure 2011. Fitness room, hot tubs on the roof, Yoga studio next door, spa down the way, and discounts for adventures, while guests have a 4 block walk to the trails or the gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Sheridan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Sheridan Telluride
Hotel New Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing