We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary perfection on Valentines Day”

Cosmopolitan Telluride
Reserve with OpenTable
Cosmopolitan Telluride is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Juan Avenue and Aspen Street
Transit: The bus and the gondola are available for free and stops in front of the Cosmopolitan.
Description: Once a grand saloon in the thriving mining camp of Telluride, The Cosmopolitan is now home to the fresh, innovative creations of Chad Scothorn, who has received national attention and praise for his original, fresh approach to food preparation. Serving dinner nightly, this elegantly simple 80 seat restaurant is located in the newly remodeled luxurious Hotel Columbia at the base of the Gondola. Known locally as "the Cosmo", the custom cherry wood bar is the perfect place to unwind.
tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Culinary perfection on Valentines Day”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I ate here for Valentines Day. We have eaten here before and knew we wanted to celebrate here. Again, another outstanding meal. The salmon was the best I have ever eaten and I am not much of a fish eater. My husband loved the fish stew. We had a spicy tuna roll as an appetizer and it was so delicious. They gave a single red rose to the ladies. Very nice touch. We have eaten here several times and will continue to come back when we visit Telluride.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muffinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    88
    23
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Beef Filet and braised lamb shank, warm atmosphere”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We both had an dinner here. The beet salad was served warm and enough for two to split or have alone if a person is very hungry. The entrees had very nice portions. The beef fillet was ordered medium rare and came cooked correctly. It was served Lyoneeaise potatoes, oyster mushrooms, cipollini onions, brussels sprouts, herb butter & red wine jus. The lamb shank I had cooked as server suggested medium rare and it was served with butternut squash risotto, caramelized local apple, red wine mushroom jus & arugula. All the sides with both entrees were excellent. Service was very good. I strongly suggest you make a reservation as this restaurant is very busy on weekends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank minichix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top notch service”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went with son out to dinner. Waitress recommended a Shiraz- can remember name. But tasted like smarties, with a little spice then wine flavor. Still drank entire glass (more on that in a bit).
Ordered lobster corn dogs- meh. More corn dog than lobster, small serving. Would not order again. Also ordered sushi (hamachi volcano) appetizer- very good, but small and pricey (... Not a big negative being in Telluride and far from an airport and ocean!). Very good quality and extremely tasty.
Bread with olive oil was top notch, though had to ask 2 people to receive. Then it wouldn't stop coming !!! Absolutely great bread and fresh tasty olive oil. Yum
Entrees were both very good. My son got lamb shank- no marrow spoon :(, but very good. I ordered duck- very nicely prepared. Pinot by the glass was good, not great. Took a while it get out to us on a not so busy night. Lamb was under the heating lamp for a while, but my 19 yo son did not notice and polished it off without a second thought.
Ultimately Shiraz above was taken off bill- very very nice given that I drank entire glass. Overall very good dinner. Waitress was great. Hostess/manager very friendly with locals, didn't give us tourists the time of day/head bob/ passing glance though.
Would definitely return- but would pass on lobster corn dog. Great waitress and bus boys- kept bread and water coming!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Lively atmosphere and very good food - the steak was excellent. Service was professional and accommodating. Would definitely return

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LOKCentralNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The calamari and shrimp appetizer is amazing! The food, service and atmosphere are wonderful. Can't beat the perfect location right off the Gondola. What a wonderful meal each and every time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MYGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmopolitan Telluride also viewed

 

Been to Cosmopolitan Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing