We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Telluride”

Cosmopolitan Telluride
Reserve with OpenTable
Cosmopolitan Telluride is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Telluride
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $70
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Juan Avenue and Aspen Street
Transit: The bus and the gondola are available for free and stops in front of the Cosmopolitan.
Description: Once a grand saloon in the thriving mining camp of Telluride, The Cosmopolitan is now home to the fresh, innovative creations of Chad Scothorn, who has received national attention and praise for his original, fresh approach to food preparation. Serving dinner nightly, this elegantly simple 80 seat restaurant is located in the newly remodeled luxurious Hotel Columbia at the base of the Gondola. Known locally as "the Cosmo", the custom cherry wood bar is the perfect place to unwind.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Telluride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family andf I had a lovely meal at Cosmo a few days ago. The chef is very well trained and the intimate ambiance of this restaurant make for a memorable dining experience. The sushi was an excellent starter. I folowed that with the duck which was cooked perfectly with delicious conmplimentary flavours. My children were well catered for and the staff were very obliging. The wine list at Cosmo was also excellent with local labels, Californian and international drops.
Overall, the food, service and setting make for an excellent night out in Telluride.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    87
    23
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a nice time, the food was good and wait staff excellent. The location right off the gondola down the mountain was great:)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“reliably wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visit Telluride 2- 4 times each year (and have been doing so for 15 years). Cosmo's is always our top choice for dinner . . . consistently exceptional food, service and ambience. The owner chef is "hands-on," the food is locally sourced when possible, and the preparation is outstanding. Whether we grab dinner at the bar, or make a reservation and dine with friends/family, we have never been disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected Flavor by the Lift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

You can walk right over to this restaurant at the base of the Telluride Gondola but I think you will need a reservation for dinner. I had the deconstructed cobb salad that was beefed up with surprised ingredients like nuts and other flavors. Really, really good. Also, best salmon entree in town! Food presentation gets an A++.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
393 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Truly Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We visited Cosmopolitan at the invitation of local friends. It was a wonderful evening!

Cosmopolitan is off main street in Telluride and, at first, we were a bit concerned about not being amidst the buzz of Telluride's main drag. Cosmopolitan is located in the Hotel Columbia across from the gondola - so it's amazingly convenient if coming over from Mountain Village.

We loved the menu with great diversity. The small bar was a nice place to start the evening.

The warm beet salad was out of this world and a popular choice at our table. The pork tenderloin and sea bass (from North Atlantic) were outstanding. We decided to split a blueberry pie for dessert, which was a great choice.

We gambled on a Colorado wine from Sutcliffe, and were not disappointed.

Highly recommend. For sure best dining experience we've had in Telluride.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TumbleweedandCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosmopolitan Telluride also viewed

 

Been to Cosmopolitan Telluride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing